US GenWeb

Family Sketches

Surnames Beginning with "M"

This page was last updated 26 Mar 2016

These family sketches are from Landmarks of Albany County, New York, edited by Amasa J. Parker of Albany, N. Y., Syracuse, N. Y.; D. Mason & Co. Publishers, 1897.

MacAllaster, William, was born in Albany, N. Y., on May 31, 1865, and is a son of Charles E. and Harriet (Roberts) MacAllaster. William was educated in the public schools at Albany, after which he served his apprenticeship in the drug business, in the store of Joseph Nellegar. In 1884 he passed the State Board of Pharmacy, and later entered, and was graduated from the Albany College of Pharmacy, and still later took a course in the Albany Medical College. In 1885 he established his present business as druggist and apothecary in which he has been successful. Mr. MacAllaster is a member of Wadsworth Lodge No. 417, F. & A. M., of American Lodge No. 32, I. O. O. F., and of the Unconditional Republican Club, all of Albany, N. Y.

Macdonald, Willis Goss, M.D., son of Sylvester and Louise (Goss) Macdonald, was born at Cobleskill, N. Y., April 11, 1863, and descends from Benjamin Macdonald, who came from Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1759. He first located near Coeymans, where he was the first Scotchman in the town, and where he built the first boat landing; he soon moved to Schoharie county and died there. He was in the Revolutionary war, was captured by the Indians and English under Brant and was taken to Canada. His son Robert, born in Schoharie county, in 1792, was a large land owner and married a Miss Shaffer, whose father was killed in the war of the Revolution. Sylvester, son of Robert, was born in 1824 and lives with his wife in his native county. Dr. Macdonald was graduated from the Cobleskill Free Academy in 1878, attended the Albany State Normal School and Cornell University, and taught school at Berne and Central Bridge, N. Y., for two years. He read medicine in Albany with Dr. Albert Van Derveer. After graduating from the Albany Medical College in 1887, he was for eighteen months house surgeon to the Albany City Hospital and then went abroad, matriculating in 1890 at the University of Berlin, where he took special courses in surgery, surgical pathology and bacteriology. During that year he served as volunteer assistant to August Martin and Ernest Von Bergmann; he also spent some time in the hospitals of London. On his return to Albany he made surgery a specialty and is noted as one of the foremost surgeons in Eastern New York; he has been surgeon to the Albany City Hospital since 1893 and adjunct professor of surgery in the Albany Medical College since 1894. He is a member of the Albany Medical Society, the New York State Medical Society, the American Medical Association, the American Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, the Fort Orange Club, and a member of the board of governors of the Albany Club.

MacDonald, Pirie, son of George and Margaret MacDonald, was born in Chicago, Ill., January 17, 1867; in 1882 he entered the studio of Forshew in Hudson, N. Y.; in 1889 he came to Albany and opened his present studio at the corner of Maiden Lane and Broadway. He is unquestionably one of the leading technicians of America, and as a voucher for this opinion we may mention the fact that twice (in 1884 and 1886) he was awarded the Grand Prize for portraiture by the Photographers' Association of America; he holds seven medals from the same society and two medals from the National Photographic Society of Germany, and one that was awarded at the International Photographic Exhibition in Amsterdam, Holland, in 1886, as well as the Gold Medal for the best portrait by photography in America. Mr. MacDonald is a member of Temple Lodge No. 14, F. & A. M. , and of the Albany and Albany Camera Clubs. In 1891 he married Emilie, daughter B. Van Deusen of Hudson, N. Y., and they have one daughter, Jessie.

MacFarlane, Andrew, M. D., son of Andrew and Sophia (Troy) MacFarlane, was born in Glasgow, Scotland, January 1, 1863. His father, a merchant came to America, and settled in Albany about 1847, but returned to Scotland in 1861 and remained ten years, when he again came to Albany and died here in 1882. Dr. MacFarlane was graduated from the Albany High School in 1880 and then spent one year in the University of Glasgow in Scotland; returning to Albany he was graduated from Union College in 1884, as one of the honor men of his class. He read medicine with Dr. George E. Gorham of Albany, was graduated as M. D. from the Albany Medical College in 1887 and on competitive examination was appointed to the staff of the New Jersey State Hospital for the Insane where he remained one year. He was then for two years physician in a private institution for the insane in Boston; meantime he had done much work in the hospitals of New York city and after leaving Boston he went abroad for about eighteen months and studied in Paris, Prague and Vienna, returning to Albany in 1892. Since then he has followed the general practice of his profession and was appointed instructor in the Albany Medical College, later became a lecturer and clinical professor of physical diagnosis and miscroscopy. He is physician to the dispensary of St. Peter's Hospital, an attending physician to the Albany Orphan Asylum and Albany Hospital for Incurables, lecturer on medical jurisprudence of insanity at the Albany Law School and bacteriologist to the Albany Board of Health since 1894. He is a member and ex-secretary of the Albany County Medical Society and a delegate to the New York State Medical Society. He has often been called as expert on insanity in noted murder trials and is regarded as an able authority on this disease.

MacFarlane, William D., son of Robert, was born in Brooklyn, N. Y., June 8, 1853. Robert Macfarlane, born in Rutherglen, Scotland, came to America in 1835 and died in Brooklyn, December 20, 1883. He was originally a dyer, but later was senior editor of the Scientific American for over seventeen years. In 1864 he came to Albany and bought of Mrs. John McDuffy, the old Albany Dye Works, which he continued until 1874, when he returned to Brooklyn. He was prominent in Albany as a Scotchman, was president of the Burns Club and St. Andrews Society, and a member of the I. O. O. F. and Albany Institute. William D. Macfarlane was graduated from the Albany Boys' Academy in 1872, afterwards learned the business of dyer with his father, and in 1874. with his brother, Robert F., succeeded to the proprietorship of the old Albany Dye Works at No. 24 Norton street. This was the first dye house in Albany, being established by Peter Martin in 1823. Robert F. Macfarlane withdrew in 1891 and since then William has continued the business alone. He has about twenty-three branches, of which all but three are located outside the city. He is a member of St. Andrews Society, the Burns Club, and was for seventeen years a member of the Albany Burgesses Corps, is now and has been a director of the Albany Musical Association since its reorganization in 1891, also a member of the Unconditional Club. He is married and has a family of three children, two sons and one daughter.

MacHarg, Martin, M. D., son of Horatio and Agnes (Veeder) MacHarg, was born in New Scotland, Albany county, N. Y., August 15, 1862. He is of Scotch descent, his ancestors having come from Scotland some time previous to the Revolution. Dr. MacHarg attended the district schools, and after removing to Albany he attended the Institute of Amos Cass and later the State Normal School. In 1883 he attended the Medical College and graduated in 1885, receiving the degree of M. D. He practiced one year in Dormansville, Albany county, and since then he has practiced in Albany city. Dr. MacHarg is a member of Masters Lodge No. 5, F. & A. M., the Albany County Medical Society, the Albany Camera Club, and the Unconditional Republican Club. In 1889 he married Minnetta, daughter of Benjamin Crouse of Altamont, Albany county. They have one son, Alan.

Mackey, Charles H., was born in Rensselaerville, N. Y., October 3, 1863, and is a son of Willett B., who was a son of Alexander Mackey, a native of Rensselaerville, and he a son of one Alexander Mackey who came to Rensselaerville previous to Revolutionary times. He was in the war as drummer at age of twelve. Willett B., the father of Charles Mackey, was a farmer by occupation and a Democract in politics, and held the office of highway commissioner. His wife was Hannah E. Reinhart of Schoharie county, N. Y., a daughter of John J. Reinhart, an early settler of Rensselaerville. To Mr. Mackey and wife were born two sons and one daughter who grew to man and womanhood. Charles H. Mackey was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools. He is a farmer and owns 190 acres, 100 acres where he resides. November 14, 1888, he married Alice M. Cook, daughter of Eugene Cook. In politics Mr. Mackey is a Democrat and has been collector two years. The family attend the Baptist church, of which the father was a lifelong member.

Mackey, Samuel, son of William J. and Eliza (Park) Mackey, was born in the North of Ireland, December 14, 1846, and came to this country with his parents, settling in Albany, where he attended the public schools, also the old Lawson School on Clinton avenue. In 1861 he became a clerk in the grocery store owned by Samuel Pruyn and run by J. M. F. Lightbody, and later as a tally boy in the lumber district; he was subsequently employed in the Winne & Northrup planing mill until September, 1864, when he left and settled in Troy, N. Y., engaging as a clerk for Smith & Campbell in the grocery business. April 3, 1865, he enlisted in Troy in Co. H, 192d Regiment N. Y. V. ; he was mustered out as sergeant at Cumberland, Md., October 2, 1865, and returniug home, was engaged as a clerk for Smith & Campbell of Troy until the spring of 1871, when he engaged in the retail grocery business in Troy, buying the store of Israel Bickford; he sold out his grocery business in 1873 and be- came a member of the wholesale fruit and commission firm of Bosworth, Mackey & Co., of New York city, and in 1874 re-engaged in the grocery business in Troy, except one year when he traveled for J. T. Wilson & Co., wholesale grocers of New York city. In October, 1877, he became a traveling salesman for P. V. Fort, Son & Co., wholesale dealers in fancy groceries and fruits of Albany, and September 1, 1885, was admitted to partnership, the firm name becoming P. V. Fort, Sons & Co., which on September 1, 1889, was changed to C. N. Fort & Co. August 24, 1895, Mr. Mackey withdrew and formed a copartnership with Mr. Lewis G. Palmer in the wholesale grocery business, under the firm name of Mackey & Palmer. He is a 32 degree Mason, being a member of the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite bodies of Albany, Apollo Lodge No. 13, Apollo Chapter No. 48, Bloss Council No. 14 of Troy, and Temple Commandery No. 2 and Cypress Temple of Albany; he is also a member of Lew Benedict Post No. 121, G. A. R. September 20, 1871, he married Jennie A. Cary of Troy, and they have one daughter, Elizabeth A.

Magill, Robert, was born in the town of New Scotland, October 29, 1829. John Magill, his grandfather, was of Scotch parentage. He was a farmer for a time and lived near Sackett's Harbor. He came to the town of New Scotland, where by contract he blasted out and made the famous road known as the "Indian Ladder Road"; he was a soldier in the war of 1812. He reared two sons, Robert and James, and died in the town of Bethlehem. Robert, the father of the subject, was born near Sackett's Harbor in 1790; his early life was devoted to farming; after leaving Western New York he came with his father to New Scotland and became an assistant in the making of the "Indian Ladder Road." From that time on he followed farming and blasting. His wife was Hannah M. Williams, and their children were William, Mary, James, Margaret, Eve, Ann, Rebecca, Julia, and Robert. He died in 1876, and his wife in 1840. Robert Magill spent his early life on his father's farm and was educated in the common schools. When twenty-six years old he engaged in carpentry, which trade he followed for about thirteen years. He then went to the town of Guilderland, where he was in the employ of Joel B. Mott for a few years, and rented a saw-mill which he operated with other work until 1872, when he purchased his present farm of 100 acres. He devoted his attention to farming and fruit growing, having fifty-four varieties of apples and nineteen varieties of pears, and many other varieties of fruit. All of his fine large orchards he has grown from the seed, doing all his own grafting. His residence is a brick house, which was erected in 1766, a portion of the brick being imported from Holland; there had been no change in the original work on this house for a period of 107 years, until Mr. Magill came in possession of it, when he re-roofed it, plastered, etc. The original material in it is in a perfect state of preservation. He served his town for one year as collector, but firmly declined the proffered nomination for supervisor, which was offered him at different times. In 1862 he married Catharine, daughter of William J. Relyea of Guilderland. Their children are Chester, died when sixteen years of age; Oscar, Robert, Jr., Emma, William, Fenton, Charles, Alice, Carrie, Walter, Edna, and Cordelia.

Main, James R., was born in Guilderland, where he now lives, September 15, 1845. He is a son of Dewitt C. Main, born in Guilderland, July 23. 1818, one of live sons and four daughters born to John B., who was born August, 1790, in Stonington, Conn.; his father was Reuben P., who was a farmer by occupation. John B., the grandfather, lived for a time in Petersburgh, Rensselaer county, and in 1804 removed with his father to Plainfield, Otsego county, where they settled and worked at teaming between that place and Albany; he later settled in the town of Guilderland where he became prosperous; he farmed on a large scale; he was an exceedingly liberal man and gave largely to those who needed his assistance; his house was always open to travelers, and he and his wife were grand good people and noted widely for their hospitality; he finally died a poor man through his generosity to others, signing papers for others, the payment of which eventually fell upon him; he always concerned himself deeply in public matters and was often chosen as delegate to county and assembly conventions; his wife was Elizabeth Lloyd; he died when eighty-three, she three weeks later at the age of seventy-nine. Dewitt C, the father of James, was a blacksmith by trade, though devoted most of his life to farming and lived in the town of Guilderland; he was a good neighbor, an upright and honest citizen; his first wife was Marie Riggles, born in the town of Guilderland, and daughter of Giles Riggles; their children were Charles W., James R., Shelmiar D., and Mary E.; they were both members of the M. E. church; his second wife was Katurah Warner by whom one child was born, Ida. James R., the subject of this sketch, worked on the farm of his father and attended the common district school winters until fourteen years of age; from that time until twenty-five he worked at home or by the month for others. He lather purchased the farm of fifty-two acres on which he was born and where he now resides. Having an active desire to acquire knowledge he let few opportunities pass; he early identified himself with the Democratic party and took keen interest in public matters; when twenty-six he was elected tax collector for the town of Guilderland. and was later elected justice, and was justice of sessions of Albany county during the years 1877 and 1878; in 1890 was elected school commissioner in the third district of Albany county and was re-elected in 1893 and is now filling that office. In 1880 he became a law clerk and student. He registered under J. H. Clute, and was admitted to the bar in 1887; since that time, in addition to his official duties and the superintending of his farm, he carries on an active law practice. Mr. Main is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Wadsworth Lodge, Albany. ln January, 1872, he married Miss Alvira E. Reinhart, who was born in the town of Berne, a daughter of Alexander Reinhart, by whom he has had two children. Mrs. Yuba Carhart and Dewitt C. Mr. Main has been one of the trustees of Prospect Hill Cemetery and its secretary and treasurer for many years, and to whose untiring efforts and influence many reforms and improvements have been brought about, and the cemetery attained to its high standing. He is also a member of losca Tribe No. 341 Improved Order of Men, and its treasurer. Is also a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and an officer therein.

Maloney, J. D., was born at Jackson, Mich., May 23, 1848. His father, James Maloney, by trade a stone mason, was a musician of some note. He was killed in a battle during the Civil war. Mr. Maloney was himself a drummer boy, having enlisted when not fifteen years of age, in Co. K, 8th Michigan Infantry, and saw two years of service. He was present when his father was killed on the "Clara Belle" near Vicksburg, a dramatic scene which impressed its horrors indelibly upon his youthful imagination. After the war he learned the trade of harness-making at Jackson, Mich., where he was employed for about six years. In 1872 he came to West Troy, and for a time worked in the Arsenal at saddle-making. In 1873 he opened a harness and repairing shop at 413 River street, Troy, and after operating for a few years he returned to the Arsenal. In 1880 he opened a saloon, his present occupation, on Broadway. Mr. Maloney has been for not less than twenty-four years a member of the "Gleason Hooks" of West Troy, and in fact was a charter member of that gallant and popular company. He was their captain for twelve years and is now president. He is one of the central figures of the Grand Army Post, and was for years commander of Post Kane.

Mann, Benjamin A., born in Albany June 7, 1854, entered in the employ of Mann, Waldman & Co. in 1868. The firm then consisted of Aaron Mann, Isaac Waldman and Joseph Mann, who founded the business in 1851. In 1884 Benjamin A. Mann was admitted to the firm. The business originally comprised both dry goods and millinery; about 1857 the latter department was discontinued, and in 1860 the manufacture of cloaks was commenced, and the business was placed upon broader lines, a wholesale branch being added and the retail and wholesale business was continued to January, 1896, with unvarying success. In the spring of 1896 the stock was completely sold and was marked by the retirement from active business of the three original members of the firm, Aaron Mann, Isaac Waldman and Joseph Mann. The retail business of the firm was given up and the wholesale only is to be carried on by Benjamin A. Mann, under the old style and firm name of Mann, Waldman & Co. The business will make a specialty of hosiery and underwear of all kinds, domestic and foreign; Mr.Mann's connection with mills for the many past years giving him exceedingly favorable opportunities to make satisfactory arrangements. Mr. Mann is a director of the Alpha Knitting Co., Schenectady, N. Y., and is secretary of the Hudson River Aniline Color Works of Greenbush, Mass. Mann, Waldman & Co. will occupy the old quarters of the wholesale department, namely the third and fourth lofts over 54, 56 and 58 South Pearl street, which are connected by a passenger elevator with their sample room, 75 Hudson avenue.

Mansfield, W. K., editor and proprietor of the Cohoes Daily News, was born in 1856, in Waterford, where he still resides. He was educated in the public schools of Cohoes and at Amherst College Amherst, Mass. From 1877 until 1884 he was in business in Saratoga county. He purchased the Daily News from James H. Masten, in October, 1884, and has since conducted it. He served for six years as justice of the peace in the town of Halfmoon, Saratoga county, and is now serving the third term as justice of the peace of the town of Waterford. He is a member and past master of Cohoes Lodge No. 116, F. & A. M.. and is also a member and past high priest of Cohoes Chapter No. 168, R. A. M., and is a member of the Riverside Club of Lansingburgh. The Daily News is the oldest daily paper publislied in the city, having been established in 1873 by Edward Monk, the original size of the sheet being 13 by 30 inches. The increasing demand upon its columns necessitated enlargements in 1875, 1876, 1879, and again in 1883, when the present form, 24 by 36, was adopted. In June, 1874, Samuel Sault entered the firm, which was known as Monk & Sault. In December, 1873, the office was removed from the corner of Ontario and Remsen streets to enlarged quarters in the Campbell & Clute block on Mohawk street. In July, 1879, Mr. Sault's interest was transferred to James H. Masten, the veteran editor of the city, for many years editor of the Cataract. In April, 1881, the firm of Monk & Masten was dissolved, Mr. Monk retiring. Mr. Masten continued as editor and proprietor until October, 1884, when he disposed of the paper to Mansfield & Harrington. In October, 1885, the firm of Mansfield & Harrington was dissolved and the News passed into the hands of the present editor and proprietor, W. K. Mansfield. In November, 1885, the News office was removed to the present location in North's block. The News is published daily at noon, Sundays and holidays excepted. It presents all the local and vicinity news and full telegraphic reports from all parts of the world. It is in every sense a family paper and does not depend upon the sensational or scandalous for its circulation. It also furnishes its readers with the very best miscellaneous matter and illustrated serial stories of home reading. The News enjoys the distinction of being the only noon paper published in the country, or so far as is known, in the world. The News took a prominent part in the labor ditiiculties of 1886 and 1887 and contended for the constitutional freedom which was denied by the advanced labor agitator of that time. The News and its editor went under a boycott for several years, as a result of the stand taken at that time on behalf of individual liberty.

Marshall & Wendell Piano Forte Manufacturing Company (Ltd.), The, was founded in 1853 by John V. Marshall, a practical pianomaker, in James street Albany. In 1856 he was succeeded by the firm of Marshall, James & Traver, of which he was the principal member. This firm was dissolved and he formed a co-partnership with Harvey Wendell in 1868, under the style of Marshall & Wendell, and this continued successfully until 1882, when the present Marshall & Wendell Piano Forte Manufacturing Company (Ltd) was organized and incorporated with a paid up capital of $100,000, the officers being Henry Russell, president; Harvey Wendell, treasurer and manager; and John Loughran, secretary. Mr. Russell subsequently resigned and Jacob H. Ten Eyck was elected president and still holds the position. In 1892 Thomas S. Wiles was chosen vice-president; Edward N. McKinney, treasurer and manager; and Mr. Wendell, secretary. In 1896 the latter was succeeded by James L. Carpenter. In 1872 the present building, Nos. 911 and 923 Broadway, was erected and occupied. It has a frontage of 145 feet and a depth of 175 feet. At this time the business was materially increased and the new plant afforded an enlarged capacity that has ever since been successfully utilised. The firm manufactures pianos in all kinds of fancy woods, warranting them for five years, and maintains a large trade throughout the United States and Canada. They make strictly high grade instruments, finer than were ever made in the history of the company, and among their agents are many of the largest and most prominent piano houses in the country. The members are all well known business men, Mr. Wiles being a director in the Merchants' National Bank and Mr. McKinney a director of the New York State National Bank.

Marshall, Mrs. P., is the widow of the late Philip E. Marshall, whose death occurred in 1891, at the age of sixty-one years. Mr. Marshall was one of the earliest business men of Cohoes, taking up a residence there in 1859. He established a dry goods business there in partnership with Rodney Wilcox. Later he went into the lumber trade, which is still owned and operated by his widow. Mr. Marshall was born at Victory Mills, Saratoga county, in 1830, and spent four years in California before making his home here, where he became a leading citizen, honored by all who knew him. He was survived by his widow and three sons: Harry A. (deceased), Charles E., practicing medicine at Lead, South Dakota, and Frederick W., at home.

Martin, Peter W., was born in New Scotland in June, 1834. John, the great-grandfather, was born in Coxsackie; he was left an orphan when quite young; he was a mason by trade and was a soldier in the English array during the Revolutionary war; he settled in the town of New Scotland, before the war, there he worked at his trade and died in New Salem in about 1816; his wife was Maria Fralick, by whom he had thirteen children, of whom four were boys. Peter, the grandfather, was born in this town in December, 1781; he was a farmer, and a soldier in the war of 1812; his wife was Christiana Allen, daughter of William and Jennie (Drummons) Allen, both born in Scotland; they had seven children: Margaret, Isabella, Mary, Jennie, William, Avery, and John; he died in June, 1852. and his wife died in 1839. William, the father, was born in New Scotland, October 18, 1806, and came on the farm he now owns with his parents when he was six years of age; when he was thirty years of age he purchased half of his father's farm of ninety-four acres, and in 1851 purchased the other half; since then he has devoted himself to farming; he erected all the buildings and made many other improvements; in October, 1829 he married Mary, daughter of William Moak and granddaughter of Robert Taylor, a native of Ireland, and their children were Mary, Jane, Peter W., William M., Robert, Harriet A., Rachael, and Alden, who died when twenty-two years of age; his wife died April 19, 1880. Peter W. remained on the farm with his father until he was twenty-four years of age, when he engaged in farming for himself; in 1855 he moved to Guilderland and bought a farm, where he resided until 1883; he then sold the farm and moved to Guilderland Center and embarked in the general mercantile business with J. H. Oggsbury. They continued for several years until the store was destroyed by fire and his partner went to Meriden, Conn. In 1893 he opened the store where he is now located. He was elected inspector and is now filling the office of town clerk. In October, 1858, he married Sarah Ann Perry, daughter of Casper Perry, of New Scotland, by whom three children have been born: Elveretta, Emma J., who died when ten years of age, and Levi W.

Martin, Robert, was born in the town of New Scotland in 1838. John, his great-grandfather, was born in Coxsackie, and was left an orphan when quite young. He was a mason by trade, and was a soldier in the English army during the Revolutionary war. He settled in New Scotland before the war, where he worked at his trade, and later died in New Salem about 1816. His wife was Maria Fralick by whom he had thirteen children. Peter, the grandfather, was born in this town in December, 1781. He was a farmer and became a soldier in the war of 1812. His wife was Christiana Allen, daughter of William and Jennie (Dremmons) Allen, both of Scotland and pioneers in New Scotland. They had seven children: Margaret, Isabella, Mary, Jennie, William, Avery and John. He died in June 1852 and his wife in 1839. William, the father, was born in New Scotland, October 18, 1806, and came on the farm he now owns with his parents when he was six years of age. When he was thirty years of age he purchased a half of his father's farm of ninety-four acres, and in 1851 purchased the other half and has since devoted his time to general farming. He erected all of the buildings and made other improvements on the place. In October, 1829, he married Mary Moak, daughter of William Moak and granddaughter of Robert Taylor, a native of Ireland. Their children were Mary, Jane, Peter W., William M., Robert, Harriet A., Rachael, and Alden, who died when twenty-two years of age. His wife died April 19, 1880. Robert has always resided on the homestead; for the past twenty-five years he had charge of the farm, his father residing with him. In December, 1869, he married Amelia Wood, daughter of Arnold Wood. They have two children: Arvilla H., wife of Clarence Harkey of Guilderland, and Frank W.

Masten, James H., born in Owego, Tioga county, N. Y., May 13, 1828. After receiving a common school education he learned the printer's trade with Andrew H. Calhoun. In 1851 he obtained a situation in the office of the Albany Evening Journal, then under the management of Thurlow Weed and George Dawson. He was also for a time employed by Joel Munsell. Later he bought the Cohoes Cataract, then owned by the firm of Silliman & Miller, and conducted it successfully for twenty-five years. Mr. Masten edited the Cohoes Daily News for five years, after leaving the Cataract. In 1887 he was appointed paymaster of the Victor Knitting Mills Company, where he is at present. Mr. Masten was postmaster of Cohoes from 1865 to 1886 and has held many local appointive offices. He is a deacon of the First Baptist church of Cohoes. In 1854 he married Almeda, daughter of Rev. William Arthur, of Newtonville, Albany county. They have one son, Arthur H., a lawyer, residing in New York city.

Masterson, Gen. John Philip, is the eldest son of Philip and Mary (Dolan) Masterson, natives of Longford, Ireland, who resided in Albany over fifty years, dying, the father on April 29, 1877, and the mother September 30, 1877. He was born in Albany, May 6, 1849, was educated in the public and private schools and in 1864 entered the establishment of Taylor & Waterman carpet dealers. In 1867 he became librarian of the Young Men's Association, which post he most creditably filled for five years, when he was made chief managing clerk in Bradstreet's Mercantile Agency, then under Samuel Moffat. In the spring of 1874 he was elected a member and secretary of the Democratic General Committee and occupied that position until June, 1896. In 1875 he was appointed clerk in the adjutant general's office under Gen. Frederick Townsend and held that position four years, receiving while there the title of "General," by which he has since been popularly known. In 1879 he was appointed by the Board of Supervisors clerk of the committee on coroners and physicians, and later as clerk to all the committees of the board, and in 1884 became confidential and chief clerk to the state engineer, a position he held until November 28, 1892. In 1893 and again in 1894 he was appointed police commissioner, but resigned in the latter year to accept, in September, at the hands of President Cleveland, the appointment of surveyor of customs of the port of Albany, to succeed Hon. John M. Bailey, which office he still holds. Since leaving the Young Men's Association in 1874, he has been an active, influential leader in the Democratic party. He is a life member of the Catholic Union, vice-president of the Democratic Phalanx, a great lover and collector of books, and resides in the homestead in which he was born at No. 5 Chestnut street.

Mather, Andrew E. and A. Dan, are of the ninth generation in America from Rev. Richard Mather, who was born in Lowton, England, in 1596, came to Boston, Mass., August 17, 1635, and died in Dorchester, Mass., April 22, 1669; he married first, Catherine Holt, and second, Sarah Story (widow of Rev. John Cotton) and was the father of Increase and the grandfather of Cotton Mather, both noted in New England history. The line under consideration is (1) Richard, son of Thomas and grandson of John, of Lowton, England; (2) Timothy, 1628-1684; (3) Richard, 1653-1688; (4) Timothy, 1681-1755; (5) Timothy, 1711-1800; (6) Jehoida, 1740-1811, all of Lyme, Conn.; (7) Dan, 1774-1856, of Burlington, N. V.; and (8) Andrew A., father of Andrew E. and A. Dan. Andrew Adrian Mather (8), son of Dan and Susannah (Onderhouk), was born in Burlington, Otsego county, October 17, 1812, and still resides where his father, a tanner, settled in 1811. He has been a staunch adherent to the temperance party since 1841 and in 1853 was elected by it to the Legislature. He was elected sheriff of Otsego county in 1860 and was appointed deputy provost marshal in 1864. He married first, September 7, 1834, Teresa Davis Cummings, who died January 37, 1860, leaving six children: Adrian O., born May 23, 1835, married Sarah Whitford May 31, 1863, and died July 18, 1883; Andrew E., born July 3, 1837; Addison Dan, born November 12, 1838; Elias C., born April 8, 1840, mustered into Co. K, 131st N. Y Vols.; August, 1862, appointed lieutenant and adjutant 20th U. S. Colored Inf.; September, 1864, married Mary Whitford, January 37, 1867; Kate Maria, born May 36, 1843; and Fayette, born January 11, 1845, died January 15, 1849. Mr. Mather married second, January 6, 1862, Addie J. Birdsall and had two children; Clara Louise and Jennie A. In August, 1862, Andrew E. Mather was mustered as first lieutenant of Co. K, 121st N. Y. Vols., was promoted captain January, 1863, major May 3, 1863 for gallantry at second Fredericksburg, where he was wounded in the shoulder at Salem Heights, was appointed lieutenant-colonel January, 1864, and transsferred to the 20th U. S. Colored Inf. January 30, 1865, was appointed acting inspector general of artillery and Forts Morgan and Gaines at Mobile Bay, and May 30 was appointed commissioner to parole officers and men under Gen. E. Kirby Smith and others at New Orleans, where, on April 19, he had been field officer of the day when news of Lincolns assassination had been received. In 1868 he joined his brothers, Adrian O. and A. Dan, who had established themselves in the wholesale grocery business in Albany in 1865 under the firm name of Mather Brothers. Adrian O. died July 18, 1883, and since then A. E. and A. D. have constituted the firm, which has been located at Nos. 463-65 Broadway since 1886. Andrew E. was commissary of subsistence on the staff of Gen. Frederick Townsend and adjutant-general on Colonel Lords staff, 3d Brigade. He has been one of the governors of the Albany City Hospital since 1873 and president of the board one year, is one of the managers of the Home for Aged Men, and a trustee of the Home Savings Bank. Both he and Adrian O. were charter members of the Fort Orange Club. A. Dan Mather is a member of the Albany Club. Both are charter members of the order of the Founders and Patriots of America.

Maxwell, James A., was born in Coeymans and began his business life on the river as a cabin boy. He worked his way up until in 1881 he was made captain of the steamer Lottie, which position he now holds. He married Julia Bratt of Delmar, and they have one son, Harry, and two daughters, Mary and Ada.

Mayell, James H., son of Henry and Elizabeth (Northrop) Mayell, was born February 5, 1856, in Albany, where his father settled about 1834. His mother died in 1893. Henry Mayell, a native of New York city, engaged in business in Albany as a dealer in rubber goods March 1, 1853, on the corner of State street and Broadway, where it has ever since continued. He gradually developed a large wholesale trade in connection with his retail establishment, and in 1880 admitted his son, James H., as a partner under the firm name of Henry Mayell & Son. Upon the father's death in August, 1890, the son succeeded to the business. Henry Mayell was vice president of the Albany City Savings Institution. James H. was educated in public school No. 8 and since the age of nine years has been connected with the store founded by his father. For two years he was police commissioner under Mayor Manning. He married Miss Jennie B. Brooksby, in September, 1894.

Mayer, John N., son of Nicholas and Gertrude (Erts) Mayer, natives of Germany, and the parents of five sons and one daughter, was born in Albany, October 18, 1860, received his education in the public schools and Albany Business College and read law in the offices of Colvin & Guthrie and Ward & Cameron. In 1891 he entered the county clerk's office under A. C. Requa and when the latter's term expired, he again became a clerk for the last named firm. January 16, 1895, he was appointed inspector of customs under John P. Masterson. He is a member of the C. B. L. and the German Young Men's Catholic Union. October 29, 1895, he married Mary R., daughter of Pius Rheiner of Albany.

McCombe, James, was born March 20, 1834, in the town of Ayr, Scotland, where he began learning the trade of dyer, which he finished in Glasgow. He came to America in August, 1854, settling first in New York city, where he remained eleven years. He spent two years in Troy and came to Albany August 1, 1867; here he established his present dye business at No. 163 South Pearl street, which since 1891 has been located at No. 99 on the same street. He is the second oldest dyer in the city.

McCormic, Robert Henry, represents the sixth generation of his family in America, in each of which the eldest son bore the name of Robert. His ancestor, Robert McCormic, born of Scotch-Irish parentage in Londonderry, Ireland, was one of the first settlers of Londonderry, N. H.; a branch moved thence and settled the town of Londonderry, Vt. Mr. McCormic's great-grandfather, Robert, served in the Revolution. His father, Robert, who married Rhoda Stevens, was born in Windham, Vt., but spent most of his life in Greene county, N. Y., where, at Coxsackie, Robert H. was born, October 25, 1839, being the only son, his sister being Mrs. Harriet M. Stark of Paris, Texas. She has been a teacher and missionary among the Choctaw Indians for forty-five years. Robert H. McCormic was graduated from Burr Seminary at Manchester, Vt., came to Albany in 1858 and in 1860 joined Co. B, 10th Regt. September 1, 1861, he enlisted in Co. F, 44th N. Y. Vols., Ellsworth Zouaves, rose to the post of captain and was mustered out October 14, 1864. He was with the Army of the Potomac, participated in nearly all its battles from first Bull Run, was wounded twice and still carries in his right hip a bullet received at Rappahannock Station. From 1865 to 1887 he held an important position in the Albany post-office, and since then has been engaged in life insurance business, being now connected with the Mutual Life of New York. He became a member of Lew Benedict Post No. 5, G. A. R., in 1887 and is now a member of L. O. Morris Post No. 121, and is past commander of both organizations. He has held nearly every office in the State department of the G. A. R., being assistant adjutant-general in 1894, and is also past noble grand of Clinton Lodge No. 7, I. O. O. F. January 1, 1866, he married Caroline, daughter of Isaac Van Ness of Stuyvesant, N. Y., who died in 1875, leaving two children: Robert H., Jr., and Grace E., graduates of the Albany High School and State Normal College respectively. In 1894 he married Louise, daughter of Ephraim House of Albany and for over twenty years a teacher in the public schools.

McCredie, James, son of Thomas and Margaret (Smith) McCredie, was born in Albany, N. Y., February 27, 1861. Thomas McCredie was born in Glasgow. Scotland, on St. Andrew's day, November 30, 1808. When Thomas McCredie was very young his parents died and his foster parents apprenticed him to a master carpenter for three years and six months. But his mind and attention turned toward malting, inasmuch as his father had been a wine and malt liquor dealer. He had always been a great student and, having read much of America he determined to visit it, and on October 30, 1838, he reached the city of Albany. He soon made the acquaintance of Peter Ballantine, the famous maltster and brewer, a fellow countryman of Mr. McCredie, and he commenced work in the malt house of Howard & Ryckman. The three following years of his life were spent in the Andrew Kirk malt house and brewery, he having decided upon malting as his life work. For two years he was superintendent of the Andrew Kirk plant. For six years after this he was in the employ of Robert Dunlop. another Scotchman, as superintendent of his houses at Troy, N. Y. He then went to Philadelphia as superintendent of a malt house owned by the Messrs. Gaul and remained there one season, after which he returned to Albany and entered the employ of Mr. Dunlop again. In 1848 he married Miss Ellen Dunlop, who lived only two years and who left an only daughter who survived but a short time. About this date Thomas McCredie entered or formed a partnership with Mr. Robert Dunlop, which partnership proved an unusually happy and agreeable one for both. In 1851 Robert Dunlop's death occurred, and at the settlement of the latter's estate Mr. McCredie acquired possession of the Dunlop malt house on Clinton avenue. From this date a character, which for careful and undivided attention to business and a studious effort to equal, if not excel the best in the line of work which he had undertaken, showed itself and not without its beneficial results. Soon after he obtained the entire control of the malt house of John McKnight, corner of Orange and Hawk streets. Thirty years before his death he was accorded the first place among the maltsters of the United States, and he sustained his reputation as a maltster until his death March 24, 1892. He took a great interest in all matters pertaining to the welfare of Albany. He was a member of the board of governors of the Albany Hospital and served as a director of the Mechanics' and Farmers' Bank, and a trustee of the Mechanics' and Farmers' Savings Bank. He was a member of the Albany City Curling Club and St. Andrew's Society. Four times he visited the land of his birth, but he never lost interest in the land of his adoption. He was ever kind-hearted and deeply religious, and was beloved of all who knew him. At the time of his death he was a member of the board of trustees of the First Reformed church. In 1854 he married Miss Margaret Smith, of Albany, by whom he had five children, two daughters and three sons. In a word, for a person of such prominence and wealth, Thomas McCredie was a most unostentatious man, never seeking preferment except in his own business or pursuit, but giving his undivided and liberal support to whatever of outside matters that fell to his charge; his best attention to whatever he was willing to undertake with a most singular fidelity. James McCredie, his son, for whom this article is intended, was educated in private schools, the Albany Academy and was graduated from the Riverview Military Academy at Poughkeepsie, after which he learned the brewing business in Smith & Brother's brewery in New York city. He then returned to Albany, and up to the time of his father's death was engaged in the management of his father's business. After the death of his father James succeeded to the control of the business and has successfully conducted it ever since. He is a young man inheriting or possessing in a large degree all those qualities which made his father so interesting and prominent a character in whatever line he undertook. James McCredie is of a singularly happy and sunny temperament or nature, a close observer, is quick, resolute, active and decided in his mental attributes, giving his best efforts and time to those positions which he has been selected to fill, in all of which he has proved himself eminently qualified, as is evidenced or proved by his continuing to fill the positions to which he as been elected, year after year without a single intermission. It is James McCredie's nature to do all or everything that falls to his lot to do, whether in a public capacity or in private life, with the most scrupulous care; nothing is ever neglected; no regard is paid to the labor, attention or time required so that the undertaking may result beneficially. Every young man does not possess this character, this capacity for work, the care taken in its doing, the determination to finish all work undertaken, and if in a public capacity with an entire view to the public interest. June 16, 1890, Mayor James H. Manning appointed Mr. McCredie a member of the Board of Fire Commissioners to succeed James D. Coleman. On January 18, 1897, Mayor John Boyd Thacher reappointed Mr. McCredie fire commissioner, which term will expire June 1, 1900. He has been chairman of the supply committee, which is the principal committee, and has been a member of the hose, telegraph and real estate committees of the Board of Fire Commissioners. January 11, 1895, he was unanimously elected secretary of the board, which position he has held ever since. In 1892 he was elected governor of the Albany Hospital in place of his father, who resigned owing to ill health, and shortly after he was elected secretary of the board, and in February, 1896, was elected president of the board of governors. Mr. McCredie has been a member of St. Andrew's Society for fifteen years, and in November, 1892. he was elected one of the managers, filling the vacancy caused by the death of his father. He is also a member of the Caledonian Club, a Scottish organization, president of the Albany City Curling Club, and a member of the Fort Orange Club. December 6, 1889, he was elected a director and secretary of the Albany Railway and still holds the position. September, 1892, he was .elected a trustee of the Mechanics' and Farmers' Savings Bank.

McDermott, John, superintendent of the Champlain Canal north from Albany fifteen miles, is a man who has spent his whole life on canal works, and who helped build the first water works at Montreal, Canada. The death of his father caused him to early seek his own maintenance, and he began work for contractors on the canal; he worked his way up to overseer and foreman in various localities and has been inspector of locks, also inspector of Champlain Canal repair work. For some time he was on a Pennsylvania railroad, and during the war had the contract for the reservoir at Washington, D. C.; in 1865 he was sergeant of Capital Police, and afterward captain. Mr. McDermott was born at Kingston, Ont., in 1829, leaving his native city at the age of thirteen years. His education was acquired at Rochester, where he went in 1850 to reside with a brother. In 1854 he came to Cohoes and began contracting in the dredging business. He also has the agency of the Phoenix Insurance Co., and real estate. Officially he has served as alderman for two years, and as assessor for one year.

McDermott, Martin, one of the popular and successful druggists of the city of Cohoes, has been engaged in that business since 1880, when he began as a clerk for C. S. Clute. He was born at Halfmoon, Saratoga county, in 1859, and is a son of Roger McDermott, then a farmer, but now a resident of Cohoes. Mr. McDermott opened the Model Phamacy at 103 Remsen street, Cohoes, and the establishment is indeed a model in every respect He is a member of the Business Men's Association of the city of Cohoes.

McDonough, Clarence J., is a grandson of Michael and Mary McDonough, natives of Ireland, and the only son of Michael McDonough, Jr., who was born in Chatham, N. Y., and who came to Albany about 1855, where he died May 4, 1895. Michael McDonough established himself in the wholesale liquor business in the spring of 1860, at 611 and 613 Broadway, and successfully continued there until his death, when he was succeeded by his son Clarence J. He was a heavy importer and built up a large wholesale trade. He married Julia T. Blake, who, with one of their three children survives him. Clarence J. McDonough was born December 28, 1873, and was graduated from the Albany Academy in 1894.

McDonough, Joseph, so widely known throughout the country by antiquarians and lovers of valuable books as "ye old booke man" of Albany, was born in 1834 in Kilkenny, Ireland. His rare taste for books was inherited from his father, James McDonough, a man of vigorous intellectual powers, who after extensive travels abroad, became a school teacher and finally drifted into the second-hand book trade. About 1845 he opened a book stand in Liverpool, England, and continued there until his death in 1860. The maiden name of the mother of Joseph McDonough was Mary Hawthorne, a descendant of one of Cromwell's soldiers who had become proprietor of some land in the vicinity of Kilkenny, where young McDonough was early instructed in the elementary branches of knowledge by his father. He first entered his father's bookstore and when about nineteen started out with a book stall for himself in Liverpool. His financial success was assured from the first and in a few years he accumulated a large stock of books. When Henry G. Bohn, the eminent old bookseller and publisher of London visited Liverpool in 1858 he complimented Mr. McDonough by saying that he had the best store of the kind in England. In 1870 he came to America and soon settled in Albany, where he began business with a small book stall on State street. He moved several times from small stores to larger ones, and was very successful. In 1886 he started a branch in New York city and issued catalogues of old books regularly. In 1890 he returned to Albany and established himself in his present elegant quarters at Nos. 53 and 55 State street. Much of Mr. McDonough's stock of books is secured by his attendance at auction sales of private libraries in New York, Boston and Philadelphia, and the regular book trade sales in those cities. He deals extensively in general literature, making a specialty of books relating to America, and has a large trade with the numerous public libraries and historical societies in the West and South. One of the grand secrets of his success as an accomplished bookseller is his wide knowledge of bibliography, a science which he carefully studied in England as early as 1860. Perhaps there is no man in Albany better acquainted with this subject than he. With the date of publication, the best editions and real value of the vast collections of literary treasures from the earliest periods down to the present time, he is perfectly familiar.

McDowell, George H., of the firm of G. H. McDowell & Co., who built in 1891 the Cascade Mills on Van Schaick's Island, is one of the most prominent manufacturers in Cohoes, where he came with his mother when only three years old, his father, David McDoNvell, having died when he was an infant. He is of Scotch-Irish descent and was born at Lansingburgh in 1853. He began business with nothing but his indomitable courage and presevering efforts with which he surmounted every difficulty until he has become one of the most esteemed men of his city. Mr. McDowell first began as a clerk in the National Bank in 1870, then as bookkeeper until 1881, when he went into the Egberts Woolen Mills as superintendent. In 1882, with Rodney Wilcox, he bought the business and continued the manufacture of underwear, etc., until 1884, when Mr, Wilcox sold out to Mr. George Neil, who was again succeeded by H. S. Greene in 1889. He was married in 1878 to Elizabeth, daughter of John Clute. They have five children. He is treasurer of the board of trustees of the First Presbyterian church and a trustee of the Cohoes Savings Institution.

McElveney, Daniel, was born of Scotch-Irish ancestry in the province of Ulster, north of Ireland, in 1839, came to Quebec, Canada, with his parents in June, 1841, and when thirteen was apprenticed to the confectionery trade in that city. After serving three years of his seven years as apprentice, he came in August, 1855, to Albany, where he entered the confectionery establishment of Benjamin M. Briare, the famous caterer. In 1858 he entered the employ of S. De Lagrange, confectioner and fancy cake baker, with whom he remained fifteen years. In the spring of 1874 he purchased the old John Martin bakery on the corner of South Pearl and Herkimer streets and six years later bought the property No. 97 South Pearl street, where he has since conducted a fancy bakery, confectionery and catering establishment with marked success. A few years later, having associated with him his two sons, he purchased the property No. 105 North Pearl street and opened a branch store. Mr. McElveney has been for forty-four years connected with the various branches of the catering business and throughout his active career has been uniformly successful.

McEwan, Walter, born in Glasgow, Scotland, came to America with his parents, John and Agnes (Lander) McEwan, in 1849 and settled in Albany. He attended the public schools and in 1860 entered the employment of the Hudson River Railroad office at East Albany. ln 1870 he became a member of the wholesale coffee and spice firm of Baily, Ford & McEwan. March 15, 1872, he purchased his partners' interests and in 1876 moved to his present location, corner Maiden Lane and James street. He has been treasurer of the St. Andrews Society since 1884, and is a trustee of the Home Savings Bank. In 1873 he married Abby Stuart, daughter of Stuart McKissick of Albany, and their children are Walter Stuart, Agnes Lander, Jessie Ellis, George William and Charles Bailey.

McGarrahan, John F., M. D., began his successful practice in his native city, Cohoes. He was born there in 1873 and is the son of Michael McGarrahan, superintendent of a wool store in Troy, and was educated at Egberts High School, and at eighteen years of age he began the study of medicine with Dr. J. H. Mitchell of Cohoes, with whom he was associated for three years. He entered Albany Medical College in 1891, graduating with high honors in 1894, receiving the Boyd prize in obstetrics. He began practicing his profession July 7, 1894, opening an office at 73 Vliet street, where he still continues his practice. He is acting physician for the Knights of Columbus, of which he is a member, also for the C. M. B. A., and associate member of the Medical Society of Troy and Vicinity. On September 23, 1895, he was married to Mary A. Cooley, daughter of John and Kate Cooley, long residents of Cohoes. He has one son, John.

McGrath, Michael, was born in Ireland in 1835. His father was Thomas McGrath, by trade a blacksmith. Michael learned the same trade in the old country, and when a young man emigrated to America. He settled in Green Island, where for the past fifty years he has been a prosperous man in the grocery business and at his trade, and has been a familiar figure. He has served his town as trustee and was treasurer of the Board of Education, and has for many years been a pillar of St. Patrick's church, and a lifelong Democrat.

McHench, David B., born September 21, 1826, in Albany, is the only son of William McHench, born in Hudson, N. Y., in 1789, died in Albany in 1873. William and his brother ran a grist mill for some years at Kenwood, afterward was connected with the Mechanics' & Farmers' Bank for forty-two years. He married Margaret Boyd of Schenectady, daughter of David Boyd, the first president of the Mohawk Bank and was president until his death in 1834. Four children are now living. David B. McHench, attended the Albany Academy, and when nineteen became a clerk in a wholesale dry goods house in his native city. Ten years later he entered the office of a stove foundry and remained about nine years, and for fourteen years afterward was bookkeeper for a charcoal blast furnace at Richmond, Mass. In 1877 he returned to Albany and shortly afterward established his present business, paper box manufacturing. He is one of the oldest and best known paper box manufacturers in the city. In 1857 he married Sarah E., daughter of the late Charles Dillon of Albany, the first manufacturer of fire brick in the State, and they have had two daughters, Laura (Mrs. Franklin H. Jones, also of Albany) and Margaret Boyd, deceased.

McHinch, Robert, a prominent and successful farmer and fruit grower of the town of New Scotland, was born near Belfast, Ireland, September 23, 1847. Alexander, the grandfather, was a native of Scotland and spent his lifetime there as a farmer. His brother James came to America and settled in the town of New Scotland, on the farm now owned by Robert McHinch. James, the father, was born in Scotland, in August. 1804, and died in August, 1889. He was a successful farmer and left considerable property, which he accumulated near Belfast, Ireland, where he had gone when a young man and engaged in the manufacture of gas, in connection with which he owned a farm, which he sublet to tenants. His wife was Mary Lowry, of Ireland, and their children were Anthony, Robert, Agnes, Jane, and Andrew. His wife died in 1867, and after some years his sons Anthony and Andrew died. He lived alone then until 1884, when he converted his property into cash and came to America, where he spent his remaining days with his son Robert and his daughter Agnes. He died August 6, 1889. Robert remained with his father and attended school until nineteen years of age, when he came to the United States direct to his granduncle, Andrew McHinch, for whom he worked at farm work for one year, and then worked for other parties for several years, when he went to Illinois and Iowa and remained for one year, and by the request of his uncle returned to New Scotland and worked hard, and when he had been here ten years he had saved $2,000 in cash. In 1876 he purchased his uncle's farm, the price being $6,000, for which he has paid, and upon which he has since lived doing general farming, but paying special attention to the fruit culture. He has since added land and made other improvements, and is now the possessor of a fine farm and good buildings. In March, 1876, he married Sarah Jane, born in Bath-on-the-Hudson, and daughter of Jacob P. and Mary Elizabeth (Snyder) Elmendorf, by whom one child has been born, Jennie May. Mrs. McHinch is a member of the Reformed church. Mr. McHinch was elected and le-elected excise commissioner for three terms, and is now filling the office of assessor.

Mclntyre, Archibald, son of James and Ann (Campbell) Mclntyre, was born in Johnstown, N.Y., June 6, 1837. He received his education in the public schools and Johnstown Academy, and on April 27, 1845, he removed to Albany, N. Y., where he obtained a clerkship in the grocery store of S. T. Thorn. In 1846 Mr. Thorn sold out to Richard Bortle, and in 1852 Mr. Mclntyre went into partnership with Mr. Bortle. This partnership continued until 1862, when Mr. Mclntyre sold his interest to Mr. Bortle. Mr. Mclntyre then went into the wholesale provision business on Exchange street, handling flour, butter, cheese, etc. Subsequently he moved to State street and in 1871 to his present location on Hudson avenue. In 1885 he sold out and resumed again in 1889. Mr. Mclntyre is a member of Temple Lodge and Capital City Chapter; he is also a director of the Commerce Insurance Company, ln 1854 he married Jane Anne Bearcroft, and they have seven children, two sons and five daughters.

McKinney, James & Son. James McKinney, son of James and Jane Frances (Netterville) McKinney, was born in Duanesburg, Schenectady county, August 29, 1835. His father, a farmer who came to America about 1810, was born of Scotch-Irish stock in the North of Ireland and was the son of Rev. James McKinney, a Scotch Covenanter minister. James McKinney, the subject of this sketch, was educated in the public schools and at the Canajoharie Academy, and in the latter village became a clerk in his grandfather's store. When eighteen he began learning the iron business at Palatine Bridge, N. Y., and in 1846 came to Albany to follow his trade, which he subsequently followed in New York city for a time. Returning to Albany in 1857, he formed in that year a copartnership with Abram Mann, and under the firm name of McKinney & Mann established the first architectural iron business in the capital city in a building on Lumber street, now Livingston avenue, near where the railroad bridge now stands. In 1863 the firm removed to De Witt street, to buildings specially erected for them. In 1867 Mr. McKinney became sole proprietor, and in 1873 erected and occupied the present plant at Nos. 925-933 Broadway. In 1883 his son Edward N. was admitted as partner, under the firm name of James McKinney & Son, which still continues. This is the most extensive architectural iron works in Eastern New York outside of New York city, and furnished a large part of the iron work for the Albany post-office building, the State Capitol building, the D. & H. C. Co.'s office building, the new Albany Safe Deposit and Storage Company building, the Dudley Observatory, and numerous other structures in Albany and elsewhere. Besides executing contracts for heavy structural work in buildings, such as columns, girders, trusses, etc., this firm makes a specialty of all kinds of the finest ornamental work in the line of stairs, elevator enclosures, wrought iron gates, railings, etc. They do a large business in New York city and vicinity, having put this class of work in many of the largest structures there. On account of their reputation for fine work they are asked to compete with the foremost concerns in the country in this line. Mr. McKinney is a vice-president of the Albany Exchange Savings Bank, a director in the Standard Emery Wheel Company and the Marshall & Wendell Piano-forte Manufacturing Company, Limited, and has been a member of the Fourth Presbyterian church for forty years, an elder for twenty-two years and connected with its Sunday school for twenty-five years. He is a Republican, and was alderman of the Seventh ward one term. In 1850 he married Julia A. Poole of Albany, and of their six children three are living. Edward N. McKinney, their only son, was born in Albany May 17, 1857. Since leaving school in 1874 he has been associated in business with his father, becoming a member of tlje firm in 1883. He is a director in the New York State National Bank, vice-president and treasurer of the Standard Emery Wheel Company, secretary and treasurer of the Albany Terminal Warehouse Company, manager and treasurer of the Marshall & Wendell Piano-forte Manufacturing Company, Limited, a director in the Albany Chamber of Commerce, and a trustee of the Albany Savings Bank and Second Presbyterian church. He was a member of the Albany Building Commission, which erected a number of school houses, engine houses and other public buildings in Albany. In 1888 he married Marion Louise Roessle of Washington, D. C, and they have three children.

McKinney, Rockwell, the well known Twenty-fourth street (West Troy) grocer, is a native of Columbia county, where he was born in 1859. He was the son of a farmer, the well known John McKinney. During the year of his birth the family removed to Valatie, N. Y., where he was reared and educated. At Valatie the elder McKinney was engaged in manufacturing cotton goods, and he died there in 1880. When about thirteen years of age Rockwell began clerking in a grocery at Valatie, and when his employer, in 1868, removed to Syracuse he accompanied him. In 1874 he abandoned mercantile life for a time and became a brakeman, running between Syracuse and Albany on the New York Central. In 1880 he was made a freight conductor, and in 1885 further promoted to the position of passenger conductor between New York and Buffalo. Unfortunately becoming implicated in the great strike of 1890 caused his retirement from railroad life. He then opened a grocery and has already a large trade, carrying a select stock of family supplies.

McKown, William, was born in the town of Guilderland, July 13, 1842. John Mc- Kown, his second great-grandfather, was a native of Scotland and founder of the McKown name in America about 1767. John McKown, his grandfather, was born in the McKownville Hotel in 1778, and in this hotel he grew to manhood and lived until seventy years of age. James, the father of Mr. McKown, was also born in the McKownville Hotel in the year 1814. He assisted his father in the hotel until the latter rented it, and then moved to the farm, which came into his possession at the death of his father, where he lived and died. He was an active and successful farmer and for years was a breeder of cattle. His wife was Sarah Ann White, born in the town of Guilderland, a daughter of Jesse and Sarah White, formerly of Vermont. They had one child, William. Mr. McKown died in February, 1878, and his wife died in 1879. William McKown spent his early life on his father's farm, attending the common schools and the Boys Academy in Albany When he was eighteen years of age he entered the grocery store of Samuel C. Bradt in Albany, as clerk, the store standing where the capitol now stands. After two years as clerk he became a partner in the business, remaining there seven years longer, when, on account of his father's failing health, he closed out his business and returned home to take charge of his father's affairs. His father died the next year and he remained on the farm for fifteen years, when, in 1887, he retired to McKownville, erecting a fine residence, where he has since resided. He now owns several farms which he looks after. He was for some time president of the Guilderland Mutual Insurance Association. In 1863 he was married to Levina McMillen, who was born in the town of New Scotland, a daughter of Alexander and Margaret McMillen. Their children are James, Margaret, Ella, Jessie, Alexander, Anna, and Eva. The three oldest died when nineteen, eighteen, and seventeen years of age, respectively. His wife died in 1890. His second wife was Mrs. Rachel (Jacobson) Buchanan, who was born in the town of New Scotland, a daughter of Jacob Jacobson. She died September 29, 1890.

McLaren, James, son of John and Margaret (Bell) McLaren, was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, February 6, 1833. He received his education in the private schools of Edinburgh and in 1854 came to America, settling in Albany. He worked on the Northern Railroad as machinist for about three years and in 1863 started in the business of manufacturing machinist, having joined in the partnership of Pynchon & McLaren, which was succeeded in 1864 by Anthony & McLaren. In 1876 Mr. McLaren came into the sole possession of the business and has conducted it very successfully at No. 47 Liberty street since then. In 1874 Mr. McLaren made an extensive trip across the ocean. He is very active in the St. Andrew's Society and is a member of its board of managers.

McMillen, James S., was born in Schoharie county in August, 1843. Alexander, the grandfather, was a native of Scotland, born about 1775, who came to America and settled in the town of New Scotland, where he died at the age of eighty years. He was a farmer and achieved some note as a politician in his town. He reared seven sons and four daughters. Aaron, the father, was born in Albany in 1815 and died in December, 1872. He was a wheelwright by trade, which he followed for some thirty years. He moved to Grosvenor's Corners, in the town of Carlyle, Schoharie county, where he owned and conducted a shop and was fairly successful. His wife was Margaret Ann Culens, and their children were James S., Nelson B., Helen M., and William J. The wife survives her husband and lives in Albany with her daughter. James S. received a limited education and began to care for himself at the age of fifteen, following different occupations in Guilderland and Bethlehem. In 1869 he purchased his present farm of seventy-five acres and is actively engaged in mixed husbandry. He was town auditor and is now serving his tenth year as assessor. In 1871 he was married to Hester L. Snyder, born in New Scotland and daughter of Jacob Snyder, by whom one child has been born, Franklin J., who resides at home with his father. His wife was Charlotte Hallenback. They have three children: Anson, Olive and Allen.

McNab, Dr. Duncan, son of Duncan and Sarah (Osborne) McNab, was born June 6, 1870, in Troy, N. Y., where he was educated in the High School. He was graduated from the Albany Medical College with the degree of M. D. in 1892, and then took an eight months' course in the New York Polyclinic Hospital and Medical College. In 1893 he began his practice in Green Lsland, Albany county, where he has since resided. He is a member of the Troy and Vicinity Medical Society, King Solomon's Primitive Lodge No. 91, F. & A. M., and Watervliet Lodge, Knights of Pythias. April 20, 1896, Dr. McNab married Millie, daughter of John B. Groat, of Green Island.

McNamara, John W., son of Hugh and Ellen McNamara, who came to America from Ireland in 1832, was born in Watervliet, Albany county, January 9, 1839, and moved with the family to Albany in 1844. He was educated in the private schools of Michael O'Sullivan and the late Thomas Newman and at the State Normal College, from which he was graduated in 1858. In 1855 he was selected as an assistant in the compilation of the State census. He taught school for three years and in 1861 became a law student in the office of Courtney & Cassidy. He finished his legal studies with L. D. Holstein. On the death of Mr. Holstein in 1864 the business was continued by Cheever & McNamara until 1868, when the latter formed a copartnership with S. Y. Hawley, which continued until Mr. Hawley's death in 1887. In 1869 Mr. McNamara was elected police justice, vice Hon. S. H. Parsons resigned, and in 1870 was re-elected for a full term of four years. In 1864 he was chosen secretary of the Albany Railway Company to succeed Mr. Holstein, deceased, and held that position until 1880, when he was elected treasurer and general manager, which offices he still fills. In January, 1881, he became a charter member of the Committee of Thirteen. He is first vice-president of the Law and Order League; was long a member of Mountaineer Co., No 5, of the volunteer Fire Department; was an incorporator of the Albany Stove Company; was one of the incorporators and a trustee of the Catholic Union of St. Vincent's Orphan Asylum and a member of the advisory board of managers of St. Peter's Hospital. In 1863 he married Martha J., daughter of Rev. Frederic Ramsey, of Lawyerville, N. Y.

McNeil, Thomas J., was born in Ireland, of Scotch ancestry, in 1860. He is the son of John McNeil, a linen manufacturer, who came to America with his family in 1866, and located in the city of Albany, N. Y. In 1872 they moved to Cohoes, N. Y. McNeil, the elder, was employed by the Harmony Company as an overseer and cloth expert; he remained with that company for twelve years, when he resigned. After that time, and until his death in September, 1894, he was employed by the Tivoli Knitting Mill Company. Thomas J. enlisted in the 7th Separate Company, State Militia, in 1880, being that time twenty years of age. His record in that company is as follows; Private, May 15, 1880; sergeant, April 18, 1883; first sergeant, June 18, 1884; second lieutenant, June 20, 1884; first lieutenant, March 15, 1889; resigned (honorable discharge), December 30, 1890; re-enlisted, January 12, 1891; corporal, February 16, 1891; sergeant, November 9, 1891; first sergeant, May 2, 1892. At the present time he is first sergeant of the company and also drill, master. His rating as drillmaster and tactician is of the highest. He received the appointment as armorer of the above named company in 1883, which position he now so capably and acceptably tills. He was married January 21, 1885, to Elizabeth Fisher Hume, a daughter of George Hume of Cohoes, N. Y.

Mead, Charles W., son of Delois L., was born in Clymer, N. Y., December 3, 1843, and pursued his education under private tutors and in the academies of Chautauqua county, graduating in 1863. He completed his collegiate studies at Painesville, Ohio, and for seven years was principal of academies and union schools in his native county. In the fall of 1870 he came to Albany and entered the Albany Law School, from which he was graduated and admitted to the bar in 1871. He immediately began the practice of his profession and in 1877 formed a copartnership with Samuel S. Hatt, which still continues, the present firm being Mead, Hatt & Palmer. He is a staunch Republican and in 1882 was appointed a U. S. circuit court commissioner, which position he has since held. He takes an active interest in the welfare of the city, was at one time a member of the legislative branch of its government, and has given considerable attention and takes high rank in the social and fraternal organizations of Albany. He is a member of Grand Lodge, F. & A. M., is prominently identified with the fraternal co-operative associations, and was the representative of one of the leading orders of the State in the matter of State legislation and one of the framers of the present law governing the same. In 1874 he married M. Manila Burnap, one of the leading contraltos of Albany, and they have one daughter, Edith M.

Mears, Edward Norris Kirk, A. B., M. D., was born in Cambridge, Mass., July 1, 1870, and is a son of the Rev. D. O. Mears, D. D., the pastor of the Fourth Presbyterian church of Albany, N. Y. Dr. Mears attended the public schools at Worcester, Mass., and was graduated from the Worcester Academy in 1888. He then attended Williams College and was graduated in 1892. While at Williams College he studied medicine under Dr. L. D. Woodbridge, and after leaving there he spent one year at Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons. New York city, under the preceptorship of Dr. Robert F. Weir. He then came to Albany and studied with Drs. J. M. Bigelow and A. Vander Veer, and in 1895 was graduated from the Albany Medical College and received the degree of M. D. He is a member of the Alpha Delta Phi fraternity and the Albany County Medical Society. He is also clinical assistant in the Albany Medical College and assistant in the genito-urinary department of the Albany Hospital. June 1, 1893, he married Elizabeth Cooper of Bennington, Vt.

Meegan, Thomas A., son of Thomas A., Sr., a large lumber merchant and prominent citizen, and a grandson of Thomas Meegan (see sketch of Edward J. Meegan), was born in Albany February 3, 1862, and was graduated from the Christian Brothers' Academy with honors in 1879. He read law with his uncle, Edward J., was admitted to the bar at Binghamton, N. Y., May 3, 1883, and since then has practiced with his preceptor. April 11, 1893, he was elected justice of the Albany City Court, by a majority of 3,900, for three years, but the new constitution reduced this term to two years and eight months. In November, 1895, he was re-elected for a full term of six years from January 1, 1896. He is judge advocate on the staff of the Jackson Corps, a four year trustee of the order of Elks, and a member of the Royal Arcanum, C. B. L., Catholic Union, and A. O. H. He is an active Democrat, has frequently been a delegate and chairman of assembly, conventions and as a lawyer and judge takes high rank among the leaders of the Albany bar.

Menand, Louis, has been a commanding figure in horticultural circles for a number of years. He has been named "The Grand Old Man" of the gardener's craft in this county. He is now in his eighty-ninth year. He came to America in 1837 and enjoys a retrospective view of American horticulture, extending over a period of sixty years. Mr. Menand continued to reside among his beloved flowers at Albany. He is mentally alert and active as ever. His personal recollections as originally published in the American Florist, from which we quote, are overflowing with a personality which is both charming and unique. Mr. Phelps says well of Mr. Menand's autobiography that contains "the natural philosophy of one who was always a lover of liberty, and a student alike of books and nature." His life has shed fragrance and beauty that will endure as long as flowers grow and gardens bloom.

Merrill, Cyrus Strong, M. D., son of Edward Henry and Sarah Wilson (Strong) Merrill, was born in Bridport, Vt., September 21, 1847, received his preparatory education under private tutelage and at Newton Academy, spent one year at Middlebury College, and was graduated with honor from Amherst College in 1867. In 1871 he was graduated from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of New York city and soon afterward became resident surgeon to the Brooklyn Eye and Ear Hospital, where he remained a little over a year. In 1872 he went to Europe and spent two years in Paris, London, Zurich, Vienna and Heidelberg, preparing himself for his specialty, that of oculist and aurist. Returning in 1874 he settled in Albany, where he has since resided and successfully practiced his profession, and where he was at once appointed ophthalmic and aural surgeon to St. Peter's Hospital. Later he occupied a similar position in the Child's Hospital and subsequently took charge of the eye and ear department of the Troy Hospital. In 1876 he was chosen professor of diseases of the eye and ear in the Albany Medical College and the medical department of Union College, and ophthalmic and aural surgeon to the Albany Hospital, which positions he has since held. He has frequently contributed valuable papers to current medical literature, and has a wide reputation in his profession. In 1875 he married Mary E., only child of Hon. Stephen Griffin, 2d, a prominent lumber dealer in Warrensburg, N Y.

Merriman Willis E., son of Harmon N. and Emeline (Chambers) Merriman, was born in Carbondale, Pa., May 4, 1843. His father was a lawyer, a graduate of the Albany Law School, and captain of Co. H, 177th Regt. N. Y. Vols., that went from Albany, N. Y. He was severely wounded at the first attack on Port Hudson, May 27 1863, and died at sea while being brought home. On the maternal side, Mr. Merriman is descended from the Lees who lived in Connecticut and who came to America shortly after the arrival of the Puritans. Mr. Merriman's parents removed to Albany, N. Y., in 1847, and he was educated at the Albany Academy and Anthony's Classical institute. After completing his education, he obtained a clerkship in the office of Surgeon-General S. O. Van Der Poel, M. D., April 19, 1861. He remained there until the close of the war, and on January 1, 1866, was appointed confidential clerk to State Comptroller Hillhouse, which position he held ten years. In 1876 he was appointed warrant clerk, the principal financial office, and served in that capacity until the creation of the office of second deputy, to which position he was appointed in January, 1895, by Comptroller Roberts. Mr. Merriman has been employed in the State comptroller's office thirty-one years, and in point of term of service, he is one of the oldest employees of the State. Since 1884 he has been a member of the General Board of Examiners of the State Civil Service. He served thirteen years as a member of Co. A, 10th Bat., N. G. N. Y., was a charter member of the Old Guard, Albany Zouave Cadets, and has held the offices of secretary and vice-president of same. He is also a member of the Royal Arcanum and the Albany Club. January 21, 1875, he married Helen M. Clark, daughter of Francis Clark of Albany. They have two sons: Willis E., Jr , and Porter Lee.

Merritt, Mrs. Magdalene Isadore La Grange, poet, was born in the town of Guilderland, September 17, 1864, at Elmwood Farm, the homestead of the La Grange family, originally De La Grange. She is the seventh daughter of Myndret La Grange and Julia A. La Grange, his wife, second cousins, both descendants of Count Johannes de la Grange, a French Huguenot, who emigrated from La Rochelle, France, 1656, a son of whom settled upon the tract of land, and founded the homestead, which has since descended from father to son, and where the subject of this sketch was born. At the early age of eight years she was already writing verses, which were correct in rhyme. Brought up in a home of wealth and refinement, and surrounded with all that makes life desirable, spending much of her life out of doors in a coun- try unsurpassed for its beauty, it is but natural that her work should partake largely of the religious, and always of nature. She spent three years studying art under the tuition of Prof. William P. Morgan at the Albany Female Academy, where she was educated. When but sixteen the editor of a daily paper, after hearing her repeat some of her verses, requested permission to publish them, which was given; since then she has been a contributor to various papers, some of her first poems having been published in the Brotherhood of Engineers' Journal, whose editor says of her poems: "They are of the highest merit and worthy to be placed among the finest songs of the day." She has received kindly encouragement from distinguished sources, and says the sweetest and most cherished is from Mrs. Frank Leslie, who was the first stranger to recognize her with words of praise. She is a fine prose writer and is an occasional contributor to the Christian Work and various other papers, with short stories and sketches. In 1893 she published a book of her earlier poems, "Songs of the Helderberg," of which over 300 copies were sold in Albany county in two months. She is one of the poets whose biography appears in "A Woman of the Century." January 31, 1894, she married Aaron Merritt, of Port Jervis, N. Y. Mr. Merritt is a locomotive engineer on the West Shore Railroad, a gentleman of the highest integrity, who stands high in the esteem of his employers. Their home is at Oak Knoll, a fifty-acre farm belonging to the author, situated beautifully on the banks of the Norman's Kill. Here the author lives quietly and happily, herself superintending much of the work of the farm and the care of her five thoroughbred Jerseys. Entertaining many distinguished people, and with the care of her family, her life is busy and useful.

Michel, Fred G., M.D.S., son of Dr. Frederick W. and Saloma (Bergman) Michel, was born in Boonville, N. Y., July 16, 1851, and was educated in the public schools of Utica, where the family settled about 1855. He first learned the trade of manufacturing jeweler with Jeremiah Gumph of Utica. March 8, 1871, he came to Albany and entered the employ of H. G. Gumph, manufacturer of fine tools, with whom he remained until 1883. He then began the study of dentistry with Dr. S. W. Whitney, and in 1889 associated himself with Dr. H. L. Whitbeck. In 1893 he received the degree of M. D. S., from the State Board of Examiners and in April, 1893, began the practice of dentistry alone. He is a member of Wadsworth Lodge No. 417, F. & A. M., a charter member of William Macy Lodge No. 93, I. O. O. F., and was a charter member and is past chancellor of Flower Lodge No. 336, K. P., and was a charter member and is now commander of Albany Tent No. 363, K. O. T. M. In 1873 he married Charity, daughter of Alanson Hitchman, of Howe's Cave, N. Y., and they have had two children: Emily and George C, both deceased. Dr. Michel is treasurer and trustee of All Souls Universalist church.

Mickel, Charles, born in Darmstadt, Germany, August 26, 1847, is a son of Emanuel Mickel, a native of Darmstadt, Germany, who came to America in 1849. The father was long engaged in business as a decorative artist in New York city, being a member of the firm of Delamano, then the largest house of the kind in the country. He died in Albany in 1891. Charles Mickel was educated in New York city, came to Albany with the family in 1860 and remained with his father until 1876, when he established himself in the business of decorating, frescoing, painting, etc., and as a dealer in decorative specialties and paper-hanging. He has been located at Nos. 594-596 Broadway, corner of Columbia street, since 1887. In 1874 he married Louisa Faroldt of Albany and they have three children; Ezra, Mary and Ella.

Milbank, William Edward, M. D., was born at Coeymans, Albany county, March 8, 1841. He received an academical and classical education at the Albany Academy; pursued the study of medicine under the supervision of Dr. William Gilman of Parkersburg, West Virginia, and Dr. Albert Van Derveer of Albany, N. Y., and was graduated from the Albany Medical College in December, 1872. He began practice at Albany immediately after graduation, being associated one year with Dr. David Springsteed. He has remained a resident of Albany, and is engaged in the duties of active professional life. Dr. Milbank is unmarried. He became a member of the Albany County Homeopathic Medical Society in April, 1873. He was elected a delegate to the State Homeopathic Medical Society in 1874, '75, '76, '77 and '78; and to the secretaryship of the County Society in 1875 and again in 1876. He has held the position of chief of the surgical staff of the Homeopathic Hospital and City Dispensary four years; from 1876 to 1880 and in 1885, was reappointed to the same position. He became a member of the Homeopathic Medical Society of the State of New York in 1879; a member of the Homeopathic Medical Society of Northern New York in 1883; and of the American Institute of Homeopathy in 1887. He was appointed by Governor Hill, in 1885, to the office of commissioner of the State Board of Health and was reappointed three successive terms, holding the office until January, 1895. While a member of the State Board of Health, Dr. Milbank indited and prepared a number of very valuable papers which are published in its annual report. The doctor presented and read at the annual meeting of the State Homeopathic Medical Society, held in February, 1895, a very elaborately prepared paper entitled: "Albany's Water Question."

Millar, W. L., an enterprising young man of Cohoes, is practically a lifelong resident of that city, though born near Glasgow, Scotland, in 1861. He came with his father, Alexander Millar, a blacksmith, to America in 1866. He first entered Riverside Mills as a cutter, where he remained for seven years, and was afterward employed in other mills. In 1889, with his father-in-law, George P. Steenburg, he opened up a coal yard on Central avenue; in 1890 Mr. Steenburg died, and he has since operated the business alone.

Miller, Henry, Jr., is a son of an old and representative citizen, and was born at the family residence in Colonie, May 11, 1871. His father, Henry Miller, was of German birth, and was one of the early settlers here. He has become a very large land owner and is also interested in the sale of various types of agricultural machinery. Mr. Miller, Jr., now conducts the dairy business, delivering the milk from about fifty cows, chiefly in the village of Green Island.

Miller, John H., son of John and Mary (Kelley) Miller, was born on a farm in New Baltimore, Greene county, October 8, 1860, and received his education in his native town. He engaged in various occupations till about 1886, when he came to Albany and established a livery and boarding stable en North Pearl street. In 1890 he purchased his present livery and boarding stable on Hudson avenue of John Sanborn. In 1893 he married Hattie, daughter of John Saulsman, of Albany, who died in March, 1894, leaving one son, Philip J.

Miller, S. Edward, Jr., was born in Albany, N. Y., in 1855. His father for many years was a prominent merchant on Broadway. His mother's maiden name was Sarah Frances Silsby. On the paternal side, Mr. Miller is descended from Elizabeth Staats (great-grandmother) who was born just below Albany in the old Staats homestead, the oldest inhabited house in America, bearing date of erection of 1630. Mr. Miller received his education in the public and high schools and was bookkeeper for Corning & Co. until 1882, when he opened a men's furnishing store at No. 36 Maiden Lane. His business rapidly increased so that in 1891 he took premises at No. 34 Maiden Lane; now he occupies Nos. 34 and 36. He began this business in a small way and owing to his pleasant manner and fair dealings, was not long in having it very well established. He now has a plant outside used solely for the manufacture of shirts giving employment to a large number of hands. Mr. Miller has a large double store and does the largest strictly furnishing goods business in the State, outside of New York and Buffalo. He has a very large custom shirt trade extending to all parts of the United States, and the Hanan shoe agency which is developing into a large business. He is a member of the Albany Club, Old Guard, Albany Zouave Cadets and the Empire and Capital City Curling Clubs. Mr. Miller is also a life member, ex-vice-president and director of the Young Men's Association and a member of the Y. M. C. A. In 1880 he married Sarah Louise Nash, daughter of John H. Nash and sister of Willis G. Nash, cashier of the New York State Bank. They have two children: Louise Adele and Edgar Nash.

Mills, Charles H., son of Borden H. and Harriet N. (Hood) Mills, was born in Knowlesville, Orleans county, N. Y., June 31, 1851, and moved with his parents to Albany in 1857. Borden H. Mills was a member of the wholesale flour firm of Mills & McMartin, on Broadway, and died here in 1873. He was a prominent Republican leader and alderman of the Tenth ward. Charles H. Mills attended the Albany High School, was graduated from Union College in 1872, and read law with John M. Carroll, of Johnstown, N. Y., and was graduated from the Albany Law School and admitted to the bar in 1873. He practiced in Johnstown until 1875, and since then in Albany, being since 1889 senior member of the law firm of Mills & Bridge (Charles F. Bridge). He is a Republican, was president of the Albany Board of Excise in 1895. This board raised the license from sixty dollars to $300, and thereby increased the city's income from licenses from $47,000 to $114,000. He was president of the Y. M. C. A. two terms, 1883-84, when funds were raised for the present building, and during this period was interested in liquidating the old debt and in creating a large surplus for the association, which he has served as a director since 1882, being now the oldest member of the board. He is the editor and author of several law books, a member of the Temple Lodge No. 14, F. & A. M., and Capital City Chapter. No. 242, R. A. M., and a member of the Sons of the Revolution, through his great- grandfather, George Mills, who served under Arnold, was captured at Quebec and after six months a prisoner was exchanged, was one of the guard at the execution of Major Andre, and was with Sullivan through the New Jersey campaign and for two years United States pensioner.

Milne, William James, Ph. D., LL.D., was born in the village of Forres in the north of Scotland. His father, Charles Milne, was a Scotchman by birth and a miller by occupation. His mother was Jean Black, distantly related to John Black, the distinguished Scottish journalist. William J. Milne spent the first nine years of his life studying in the parochial school of the Presbyterian church at his birth place. In the autumn of 1852 Charles Milne with his family came to America, and after a time settled in the village of Holley, Orleans county. Here William J. Milne attended the academy; he also spent four years as a clerk in a village store and taught school two terms to enable him to prepare for college at the Brockport Collegiate Institute. In 1863 he entered the University of Rochester and was graduated in 1868. During his course at college he taught some in the Rochester Collegiate Institute and by his teaching earned more than enough to meet his expenses at college. During his college course the Brockport Collegiate Institute became a normal school and Dr. Milne was elected professor of ancient languages. He occupied that position until 1871, when he organized the State Normal and Training School at Geneseo, N. Y., and became its principal. There he remained eighteen years and made the school one of the best of its kind in the country. In the autumn of 1889 Dr. Milne succeeded the late Dr. Waterbury as president of the State Normal School at Albany, N. Y., and in the following spring this institution was chartered as a college to train none but teachers. Dr. Milne has brought the college into the front rank of the educational institutions of the State. He is the author of a series of mathematical text books and in addition has contributed many articles to magazines and educational publications. He has also delivered many lectures on the educational methods of the day. He received the degree of Ph. D. from the University of Rochester and that of LL.D. from the Indiana Asbury University. He is an elder in the First Presbyterian church of Albany. In 1871 he married Eliza Jeanet Gates, sister of President Gates of Amherst College, and they have two children, a son and a daughter.

Milwain, James, was born in Bethlehem, Albany county, May 8, 1817, and was reared on a farm. When sixteen he came to Albany and secured a position as clerk in the store of Robinson & Douty, dealers in drugs and paints on the site of the present Milwain building. In 1838 he entered into business for himself, opening a retail hat store at No. 2 South Pearl street, and later on State street, near Pearl street. In business he was a man of the strictest integrity, well liked by all who knew him for his sterling qualities. After a quarter of a century as a successful retail dealer, he formed a copartnership with Henry Richmond as a wholesale dealer in hats and caps at No. 391 Broadway and still later at No. 416 Broadway. W. H. Boyce of the present firm entered into the partnership in 1870 and the firm became Richmond, Milwain & Co. On the retirement of Mr. Richmond the firm name was changed to Boyce & Milwain, which still continues, the junior member being James Milwain, Jr., Mr. Milwain, Sr., retiring about 1887. When a young man Mr. Milwain took an active interest in politics and affiliated with the Republican party. He was supervisor of the old Tenth ward two terms, which was the only political oflice he ever held. He was also a director in the Commerce Insurance Co., owned considerable real estate and built the Milwain building on State street, where the business of the firm has been conducted since January, 1892. He died March 10, 1892, and was survived by a wife and two daughters (Mrs. William H. Boyce and Mrs. William A. Smith) and one son, James Milwain. Jr. The latter was born in Albany, educated in the Albany Academy and later became a partner with his father, to whose interest in the business he succeeded; also is a director in the Commerce Insurance Company.

Moak, James Nelson, was born on the farm he now owns in 1843. Col. Joseph Moak, his grandfather, was a native of New Scotland, and was born probably about the year 1783; he was a farmer by vocation, and a soldier in the war of 1813; he owned the farm now owned by James N.; his wife was Arianna Taylor, daughter of Robert Taylor, a native of Ireland; their children were Robert, Jane, Frances, Rachel, Eve Ann, Catharine, Harriet and John T.; he died March 28, 1848, aged about sixty-five, and his wife died in 1830. Robert Moak, the father, spent his entire life on the farm, to which he added forty acres; his wife was Mary McMillen, daughter of Alex McMillen; their children were John M., Joseph A., William Henry (who died at eighteen), Harriet and James N.; he was one of the organizers of the Mt. Pleasant Cemetery, and one of the first trustees; he died in 1891, and his wife in 1865. James N. Moak has spent his life thus far on the homestead farm, excepting two years spent in Albany in the shoe business. He attended the common schools and the Knox and Gallupville Academies. In 1868 he went to Albany, returning two years later to the farm, which he took charge of and worked on shares with his father, who deeded him the farm to take effect in the latter's death. Mr. Moak has developed a fine stone quarry of excellent building stone. In 1865 he was married to Miss Mary J. Gallup, born in Gallupville, N. Y., by whom he has had two children; Charles G. and Kittie L. Charles G. is married and in the employ of the National Express Company, of Jersey City, and has one child, Clara.

Moak, John T., was born in the town of New Scotland, on the Moak homestead, April 37, 1827. He is a son of Col. Joseph Moak, a native of New Scotland and a farmer by occupation. His wife was Arianna Taylor, daughter of Robert Taylor, and their children were Robert, Joseph, Jane, Frances, Eve Ann, Catherine, Harriet, Rachael and John T. The father, Col. Joseph Moak, died March 38, 1848, the wife dying previously in 1830. John T. spent his early life on the homestead, receiving a common school education. When he was twenty-one years of age he began working at the cabinet trade, which he followed one year; then he worked for a time at farming and returned to the cabinet shop again. In 1851 he purchased his present farm, consisting of ninety acres, where he is at present residing. To this he has added another farm of seventy acres and made many improvements in the property. In 1850 he married Margaret Sager, who was born in New Scotland, a daughter of Conrad and Margaret (Bradt) Sager. Their children were Arianna, wife of Jeremiah Winne, Melville S. (deceased), Ida L., wife of Edgar B. Ruso. The paternal grandfather of John T. Moak was Jacob Moak, who came from Switzerland with his two brothers, Francis and Henry, about 1730.

Moffat, George B., is a native of West Troy and the son of an oldresident of the town of Colonie, William Moffat, who has always followed agricultural pursuits. Mr. Moffat was educated here and was first employed by the Thompson Manufacturing Company, manufacturers of steam heating apparatus. He traveled three years for them through the mining districts and elsewhere. In 1889 the Fairview Home for Friendless Children was founded in West Troy, and Mr. Moffat has been superintendent since the opening of the institution. He was born in 1865, and has always resided here.

Montignani, John F., only son of John O., a native of Edinburgh, Scotland, was born in Glens Falls, N. Y., June 24, 1855. His father came to America and settled in Albany about 1845, and after residing for a few years in Glens Falls, returned to this city, where he died January 8, 1894; he was superintendent of various factories, was a manufacturer and dealer in pianos and was a prominent Mason, holding membership in Temple Lodge No. 15, F. & A. M.; he was also active in Scotch societies, was one of the founders of both the curling clubs of Albany, was prominent in musical circles, was a founder and the first secretary of the Albany Burns Club and married Elizabeth Ferguson, of Kortright, Delaware county, N. Y., who died June 1, 1889. John F. Montignani was graduated from the Albany High School in 1875 and then entered Cornell University, but owing to ill health was forced to abandon a college course. He read law in the office of Edward Wade of Albany and later with Paddock, Draper & Chester, a leading firm composed of William S. Paddock, then Recorder, Andrew S. Draper, afterward state superintendent of public instruction, and Alden Chester, now a justice of the Supreme Court. He was admitted to the bar in 1881 and at once formed a copartnership with Hon. Robert G. Scherer, which continued until 1888. In 1890 he formed his present partnership with George H. Mallory and William S. Elmendorf, the firm name being Montignani, Mallory & Elmendorf. While in the Albany High School he held all the offices of the Philodoxia Society and was one of the founders and a charter member of the Philologian Society. In 1876 he was one of the principal organizers of the High School Alumni Association, which now has nearly 3,000 members, and served as its president for four years from 1883. He assisted in founding the Friendly Few Society of High School graduates in 1877 and has been its secretary ever since. In 1893 he aided in reviving the Albany Burns Club, of which he has since been the secretary. He is a member and for some time was secretary of St. Andrews Society, is a member of the Albany Caledonian Society, at college became a member of the Delta Upsilon Fraternity, and in 1895 was one of the organizers of the Albany Workingmen's Educational Club. A Republican, he has been prominent in politics, was a candidate for recorder in 1895, managed the Wilson mayoralty campaign, and in 1896 established the McKinley League in Albany county and city. In 1894 he was engaged in New York as counsel for the "Anti-Machine Republicans," representing them before the State Committee. He has a general law practice in all the courts and is attorney for the Mechanics' and Farmers' Bank. He was counsel in the celebrated McPherson case, in which the constitutionality of the collateral (now the transfer) tax law was attacked. In 1885 he was married in Edinburgh, Scotland, to Clementina Petrie-Montignani, daughter of Henry G. Montignani, and they have two children living: Elizabeth F. and Jennie M.

Montmarquet, J. D., M. D., was born in Jersey City, April 23, 1860. He received his primary education in the public schools of New York and New Jersey, after which he went to Canada to prosecute his classical studies, where he graduated in 1883; returning to Jersey City, he began the study of medicine in 1886 at Columbia College, N. Y., graduating in 1889. In the fall of that year he came to Cohoes and commenced the practice of his profession. He has held the office of coroner's physician. He is a member of the New York State Medical Association, the Albany County Medical Society and the Troy and Vicinity Medical Association. He is en- joying a lucrative practice. January 18, 1891, he was married to Wilhelmina Zecher of Jersey City; he has three children, Marcelline, Theresa and Joseph.

Moore, Albert T., was bom in Rensselaerville, N. Y., December 1, 1827, son of Apollos and Deborah (Stone) Moore. His father, Apollos Moore, was born in Pittsfield, Mass., 1765; he was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, enlisting at the age of sixteen, and served three years. He came to Rensselaerville about 1785, built a substantial house two miles east of the village, which became his home for life. He was a prominent man in the town, holding most of the town offices and was appointed judge of Albany county, which office he held for many years. He was by occupation a farmer and miller. He died in 1841. Deborah Stone, his wife, was born in Windham, Greene county, 1788, and died in Rensselaerville, 1857. Their children were George Stone, Albert Tuttle, and Jerome B. Albert T., the subject of this sketch, was reared on the farm, educated in the common schools, and has always been a farmer by occupation. In politics he is a Demorcrat. For five years he held the office of supervisor of the town. For the last ten years he has lived a retired life in the village of Rensselaerville. In 1855 he married Ann B. Knowles, who was also born in Rensselaerville.

Moore Brothers, Veterinarians. Henry C. Moore was born in Ripley, England, August 13, 1838, and came to America with his parents, Henry and Emma Moore, in 1853, settling in Cortland, N. Y. Henry Moore was a well known veterinary surgeon, being a student of Statham, the celebrated veterinarian of Derby, England. He practiced successfully in Cortland and later in Poughkeepsie, N. Y., and about 1873 came to Albany, where he continued his profession until he retired in 1886. Henry C. Moore was educated at the Cortland Academy and studied veterinary surgery with his father. Edward Moore was born in Cortland county, August 17, 1855, was graduated from the Poughkeepsie Academy, and in 1877 was graduated from the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons of London, England. The two brothers were associated more or less with their father until his retirement in 1886, when they succeeded him and established their present veterinary hospital in Hudson which is without doubt the largest and most complete of its kind in America. Here all domestic animals are treated in the departments of pharmacy, surgery, dentistry, etc. The firm also has permanent charge of the leading stock farms and private herds throughout the country and is the best known in the United States, having a national reputation. Henry C. Moore is a member of Apollo Lodge No. 13, F. & A. M., of Troy, Temple Coramandery No. 2. K. T., Cyprus Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and the Acacia Club of Albany. Edward Moore was for seven years a member of Co. A, 10th Battalion, and is a member of the Old Guard Zouave Cadets. While in England he was cattle plague inspector for the English government in 1877, having charge of the London district. He has done much for State and local boards of health, has long been the veterinarian in charge of the Albany Fire Department, and since about 1880 has been the veterinary editor of the Country Gentlemen.

Moore, Charles H., M. D., was born in Albany December 7, 1857, and on his father's side is of Quaker descent. His great-grandfather, James Moore, was born in Albany county in 1750; his grandfather was Joseph Moore, also a native of this county. His father. Dr. Levi Moore, was born in the village of Quaker Street in Albany county, January, 1837, graduated from the Albany Medical College in 1851 and practiced medicine in Albany until his death, June 30, 1880. He married Georgenia, daughter of Adam Todd, the builder of Geological Hall and a prominent Albanian of Scotch descent. Dr. Levi Moore was one of the best known physicians of his day, and was president of the Albany County and a member of the New York State Medical Societies. Dr. Charles H. Moore was educated in the public schools and High School at Albany, read medicine with his father, and later with Drs. William H. and Theodore P. Bailey, and graduated from the Albany Medical College in 1887. He began practice in Albany and since June, 1889, has been associated with Dr. C. S. Merrill. In 1888 he took a post-graduate course in the New York Polyclinic, and was also connected with the Manhattan Eye and Ear Hospital, where he spent much of his time. Since then he has made a specialty of diseases of the eye and ear. He is a member of the Albany County Medical Society and was made its secretary in 1896; he is a member of the Albany Camera Club, is assistant eye and ear surgeon to the Albany City Hospital and the Child's Hospital, and eye and ear surgeon to the Troy Hospital, also instructor in ophthalmology in the Albany Medical College. In 1892 he married Emma A.. daughter of Walter Gaige, of Albany; they had one son, Walter Gaige Moore, who died in August, 1896.

Moore, James C., son of William and Jane (Campbell) Moore, was born in Albany, N. Y., October 1, 1830. Mr. Moore's father was born in County Down, Ireland, and in 1822 came to America and settled in Albany. In 1844 he started in the manufacture of bricks on Morton street, where he was very successful. In 1860 he retired and was succeeded by his son, James C., the subject of this sketch, who was also very successful and in 1865 established another yard on Third avenue. Mr. Moore is a brother of Robert H. Moore, of the well known lumber firm of Moore & Zimmerman. In 1859 Mr. Moore married Sarah K. Smith, who died the same year, and in 1875 he married Anna Babcock, by whom he had one daughter, Jean C. and one son, William, who is dead. He is a member of the Third Reformed church, Wadsworth Lodge F. & A. M., Temple Chapter R. A. M., and De Witt Clinton Council R. & S. M. He is also a director of the Albany County Building and Loan Association.

Moore, William, was born in Ireland, March, 1827. He received a common school education and in 1846 came to America. He remained for a time in New York city and then went east and worked in the cloth mills in New Hampshire, Vermont and Rhode Lsland. In 1852 he went to Cohoes and worked three years for Egberts & Bailey, the first knit goods manufacturers in America. Then after learning the machinist's trade with the Harmony Company, he was for thirteen years machinist and foreman of the Mohawk River Knitting Mills company, which was an enlargement of the business of Egberts & Bailey. In 1859 Mr. Moore accepted the management of William Mansfield's knitting mills and in 1860 established a mill of his own on Erie street, known as the Erie Knitting Mill. In 1882 he built the Granite Mill, on the corner of Ontario and Saratoga streets, to which he gives most of his attention, but he still retains an interest in the Erie Mill, which is owned by the firm, Moore & Tierney. Mr. Moore has been a member of the Odd Fellows fraternity for forty years and was for one term alderman of the Third ward. In 1892 he married Sarah A., daughter of James Tierney of Waterford and they have one son, William J.

Moore, William J., son of Dr. John and Eleanor (Hagadon) Moore, born in Albany, N. Y., February 27, 1838, was educated in the public schools and the Albany Business College, after which he engaged in the gardening business on Van Rensselaer Island. His father died in 1863; he then took charge of the latter's business, settled up the estate, and continued the business until 1886, when he sold out his interest in the garden to William Glosser. He has leased the Van Rensselaer Island for the last thirty years. He then bought a farm at Castleton, N. Y., and conducted it as a horse farm, which he still owns. He then embarked in the livery business on Hudson avenue and conducted that about four years; then sold out the business to Mills & Sanborn. February, 1895, he bought the retail department of the Standard Wagon Co., located at 447 and 449 Broadway. May, 1896, he moved to his present location 26 and 28 State street, where he still carries on the business. May 2, 1888, he married Lillian L. Holmes, and has one son, William J., Jr.

Morrow, Samuel Roseburgh, M.D., was born in Albany, N. Y., May 6, 1849. He graduated from the Albany Academy in 1866 and from Yale with the degree of A. B. in 1870, and received the degree of A. M. from the same college in 1874. He was tutor at Yale in Greek and mathematics from 1873 to 1876. He then attended the College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York city, from which he received the degree of M.D. in 1878. He served on the house staff of Bellevue Hospital, New York, from October, 1877, to April, 1879. Doctor Morrow then studied further at the London Hospital, London; General Hospital, Vienna, and at Halle until 1880, when he commenced the practice of medicine and surgery in Albany, N. Y. In 1883 he received the honorary degree of M.D. from the Albany Medical College. He has been lecturer on minor surgery, Albany Medical College, spring term, 1881-82; adjunct lecturer to the chair of surgery, 1884-86; adjunct professor of surgery, 1886-88; lecturer on anatomy, 1887-89; professor of anatomy and orthopaedic surgery since 1890; visiting surgeon to St. Peter's Hospital since 1881; to the Hospital for Incurables since 1885; to the Albany Hospital since 1888; to the Child's Hospital since 1886; was vice-president Medical Society of the County of Albany, 1886-87. Doctor Morrow was examiner in anatomy in the State Board of Medical Examiners until 1891, when the board was abolished. He is a member of the State Medical Society and has contributed several articles to the leading medical journals.

Mors, Joshua, of E. Mors's Sons, wholesale dealers in timber, piling, etc , have their office at No. 106 Sixteenth street, West Troy. The late Elisha Mors, founder of the firm and father of the present members, was a large operator in timber and real estate, and was one of the most wealthy and prominent residents. Early in life he operated largely in the Black River region and later in Michigan and other producing points, having mills at Greenbush and elsewhere. He came to Troy in 1865, and died there thirty years later. Joshua Mors was educated in the Jamesville Academy, and associated with his father in the timber business, and upon the death of his father in 1895, succeeded with a younger brother to the business.

Mott, R. H., a prominent merchant of Cohoes, came here when thirteen years old with his father, B. D. Mott, a tinsmith, and began the tinsmithing business with him in 1883, as B. D. Mott & Son, store and shop at No. 173 Remsen street. At the death of the father in 1885 this firm was dissolved, then continued as R. H. Mott until 1888, when he bought out the furniture business at No. 73 Oneida street of T. P. Hildreth, late of Cohoes, whose daughter Mr. Mott married in 1884. This store was enlarged and remodeled, making it one of the most modern establishments in the city, carrying a fine stock of house furnishing goods, draperies, crockery, carpets and oil cloth, hardware, stoves and ranges. There are four floors, two of them 100 feet deep, filled with choice goods and operated with all modern methods. The two younger brothers associated with Mr. Mott are G. F. and Dudley B.; the firm is now R. H. Mott & Bros. Mr. Mott was born at Fort Edward, N. Y., in 1860.

Muhlfelder, Isidor, was born in Albany, December 24, 1858. His father, Louis Muhlfelder, who was a native of Bauerbach, Germany, came to Albany about 1850; engaged in mercantile pursuits and subsequently removed to Ballston Spa, N. Y., where he was a merchant and one of the proprietors of the Ballston Spa tannery. Later on he again removed to Albany and became a member of the wholesale millinery firm of S. Nusbaum & Co., and in February, 1884, was one of the founders of the present wholesale dry goods firm of Heiser, Muhlfelder & Co. He died February 23, 1893, leaving him surviving four children, namely: Joseph Muhlfelder, who is connected with the above firm; David Muhlfelder, a well known attorney of Albany; Bell Pareira, wife of Aaron Pareira; and Isidor Muhlfelder, the subject of this sketch. Isidor Muhlfelder was educated in the public schools of New York city and Albany, and was in 1874 engaged as a salesman with S. M. Valkenburgh & Co., of Albany, with which firm he remained for ten years and in 1884 he, together with Solomon A. Heiser and Louis Muhfelder, founded the present firm of Heiser, Muhlfelder & Co., of which he is one of the two surviving members. In March, 1889, he married Pina Fleischman, and they have two children, Leo and Elsa, and he resides with his family at 126 Lancaster street in Albany. He is a prominent member of several clubs, lodges and societies and is one of the leading business men of the city of Albany.

Mulcahy, Bartholomew, was born in the city of Cork, Ireland, in 1838. His father was a carpenter and died when he was but two years old, leaving him to pave his own way in the world. In 1852 he came to America and directly to Cohoes, where he learned the carriage-making trade, and he has ever since been a resident. He has been very successful manufacturing wheels for New York city trade, and during the war he made gun carriage wheels for the United States government. His first wheel factory, destroyed by fire in 1864, was located where the Victor Mills stand. He then removed to the corner of Congress and White. He has been a water commissioner for twelve years and was one of the first aldermen when Cohoes was made a city in 1869.

Mullenneaux, Marcus H., of French Huguenot and English stock, son of Tunis T. and Mary Wright, was born near Newburgh, N. Y., January 5, 1852; passed his boyhood on the the farm until fifteen years of age, then taught school several years; was graduated from the Albany Normal School in the spring of 1873. He taught natural science and mathematics in Claverack College and Hudson River Institute until 1877; was graduated with the degree of LL.B. from the Albany Law School in 1878, read law with Newkirk & Chase of Hudson, and was admitted to the bar in the fall of that year at the General Term of the Supreme Court in Brooklyn. He practiced law in Newburgh until 1885, when he accepted the general agency for Eastern New York of the National Life Insurance Company of Montpelier, Vt. , which position he has since held. He is a member of the executive committee of the Life Underwriters' Association of Eastern New York and a director of the Albany Musical Association. Mr. Mullenneaux has built up a large and satisfied constituency for his company in the Hudson River valley, notwithstanding the company had not before been represented by a general agency in this part of the State. In the spring of 1893 he moved his general office from Newburgh to Albany. In 1880 he married Ella, daughter of Elbert Verity of Brooklyn, and they have two sons: Elbert V. and Marcus H., Jr.

Munson, George S., M. D., son of Stephen and Eunice A. Munson, was born in Waterford, N. Y., April 4, 1856, and moved with his parents to Albany in 1858. His mother, a native of Westerfield, Mass., who died in March, 1886, was a descendant of Rev. Jonathan Edwards, the theologian and metaphysician of Northampton, Mass., and afterwards president of Princeton College. His father became an extensive shoe manufacturer in Albany. Dr. Munson was graduated from public school No. 3 in 1868 and from the Albany High School in 1872, and in 1874 entered Princeton College, where he took several prizes for oratory, study, etc., and where he was graduated with honor in 1878. He read medicine with Drs. Vanderveer and Snow, and was graduated from the Albany Medical College in 1880, took a special course in Dr. Knapp's ophthalmic and aural institute in New York, where he remained as first assistant for two years, and also pursued special courses under Drs. Noyes and Agnew of that city. In 1883 he began the active practice of his profession in Albany. He has served as ophthalmic surgeon to St. Peter's Hospital, Albany, ophthalmic and aural surgeon to the Schenectady Hospital and Dispensary, and Albany City Hospital, and is a thirty-second degree Mason and a member of the Fort Orange Club and Albany Medical Library and Journal Association. He has contributed many valuable papers to medical literature, especially on the treatment of diseases of eye the and ear. In 1884 he married May S., daughter of George S. Downing of Albany, and they have one son, born March 31, 1888, and a daughter.

Murphey, Elijah W. (son of Coolidge Bliss Murphey and Mary A. Atkins and grandson of Elijah and Elizabeth (Bliss) Murphey) was born at Sandy Hill, Washington county, N. Y., February 10, 1840. He was educated at Fort Edward Institute as a civil engineer. He joined the N. Y. State engineering corps, serving on the Champlain Canal enlargement seven years, becoming first assistant engineer; afterward he went to Philadelphia, where he was engaged in the oil business for two years. In 1866 he came to Albany and established himself as a manufacturer and dealer in lubricating oils, which business he still continues. In 1873 he formed with Orlando P. Liscomb, the present firm of Murphey & Liscomb, and they have branch stores in Hudson, N. Y., and Springfield, Mass. Mr. Murphey is a trustee and vice-president of the Albany Homeopathic Hospital, a director of the Albany Exchange Bank and treasurer of the First Congregational church. He is a member of the Fort Orange Club, Albany Unconditionals and a member of the Society of the Colonial Wars through Vice-Admiral Thomas Gilbert from whom he is seventh in descent; he is also a member of the Sons of the Revolution through his great-grandfather, Daniel Murphey, of Springfield, Mass., who served under Colonel afterward Gen. Rufus Putnam, at Bunker Hill and the siege of Boston, and who married Elizabeth Knowlton of Springfield, Mass., and of the Society of the War of 1812 through his grandfather, Elijah Murphey, who served at the battle of Plattsburgh. In 1865 he married Helen A., daughter of Chauncey Hulburt of Philadelphia, Pa., and they have four children: Harriet (Mrs. Henry Otis Chapman) of New York city, Martha, Virginia Hulburt and Chauncey Hulburt.

Murphy, Joseph A., son of James F. and grandson of Robert Murphy, a native of Ireland, was born in Albany, April 22, 1873. James F. Murphy, born in Philadelphia, Pa., August 8, 1845, came to Albany in 1856 and for about twenty-eight years has been a shipping clerk for the N. Y. C. & H. R. R. R. In 1861 he enlisted in Co. D, 91st N. Y. Vols., and served four years, being honorably discharged as first lieutenant. He married Margaret, daughter of Daniel Murphy of Troy and Albany, who died October 19, 1894, leaving four children; John S., Joseph A., Helen M. and Henry A. Joseph A. Murphy was graduated from St. Joseph's Academy in 1891, read law with Edward J. Meegan and was admitted to the bar December 6, 1894. Since then he has been associated with Delancy Potter in the practice of his profession.

Murphy Peter, recently elected overseer of the poor of the town of Watervliet, has spent his whole life in West Troy, his birthplace. He served three terms as village collector, proving a very popular and efficient official. He was born in 1841. His father, Michael Murphy, was employed in the Watervliet Arsenal during the Mexican war. Mr. Murphy was first employed as a boatman on the Hudson, and lost a limb while on a schooner. In 1801 he went into the Arsenal, where he has since been employed as a brass finisher, and is an expert workman.

Murray, Wilham H., M. D., son of Francis and Sarah (Lockwood) Murray, was born in Poundridge, Westchester county, N. Y., December 8, 1845. He attended Betts's Academy at Stamford, Conn., and graduated from that institution in 1863. In the fall of that year he entered Union College at Schenectady, N. Y., and graduated in 1877, receiving the degree of A. B. During the year 1867-68, he taught school at Bellefonte, Pa., with Governor Hastings, present governor of Pennsylvania. In the fall of 1868 Dr. Murray entered the Albany Medical College and received the degree of M. D. from that institution in 1869. In 1868 he married Martha W. Bouck, granddaughter of the late Governor Bouck; they have two children living, Frank and Bessie. In 1870 Dr. Murray began the practice of medicine in Albany and has since continued there, making a specialty of obstetrics. He has been prominently identified with the Democratic party and has sacrificed much time to further the interests of the city of Albany; there is no man better known or more highly respected in his ward, the Sixteenth. He can call everybody by name. His love for his profession and his devotion to his fellows have contributed to his holding the following offices; Supervisor of his ward for five terms, president of the Board of Aldermen one term, district physician, police surgeon, county physician, coroner's physician, penitentiary physician, and at present city physician. Dr. Murray has been president of the Board of Trustees of the Hospital for Incurables since its foundation. He has also been prominently identified with social and fraternal organizations; he has been through all the chairs in Odd Fellowship, and is a member of all Masonic bodies, and has the thirty-second degree; he has also been a member of the K. of P. and Red Men. He is now a member of the Albany and Acacia Clubs and the Albany County Medical Society.

Send comments or suggestions to:
Debby Masterson

Go Back to Albany County Biographies
Go Back to Home Page