US GenWeb

Family Sketches

Surnames Beginning with "W"

This page was last updated 26 Mar 2016

These family sketches are from Landmarks of Albany County, New York, edited by Amasa J. Parker of Albany, N. Y., Syracuse, N. Y.; D. Mason & Co. Publishers, 1897.

Wackerhagen, William B., is a grandson of Augustus Gunther George Wackerhagen, a Lutheran clergyman, who came to this country from Hanover, Germany, in the latter part of the last century. The latter's son Edward, born in Clermont, N. Y., in 1825, was a merchant and manufacturer in Greenville and later a manufacturer of agricultural implements in Albany and in Racine, Wis., and died in Albany in 1890. Of his seven children, six are living: Charles Edward of Canaan Four Corners, N. Y., Charlotte Antoinette of Chicago, William Burroughs of Albany, Philip Mayer of Racine, Wis., Henrietta Litell of Albany, Kate King of Elyria, Ohio; Susan Elizabeth, deceased. William B. came to Albany with his parents and with them removed to Racine, Wis., where he graduated from the high school in 1873, returning in the same year to Albany with the family. After a course in the Albany Business College he entered in 1874 the employ of Maurice E. Viele, a wholesale hardware dealer. Rising rapidly, he was promoted in 1878 to position of buyer, remaining with Mr. Viele till June, 1891, when with his present associates he helped organize and incorporate the Albany Hardware and Iron Company, who purchased the stock and fixtures and succeeded to a business which had been carried on without interruption for over one hundred years. Of this company Mr. Wackerhagen has since been secretary, the other officers being Charles H. Turner, president, and James K. Dunscomb, treasurer. He is a member of the Fort Orange Club, the Mohican Canoe, the Albany Whist & Chess, the Empire Curling and Albany County Wheelmen's Clubs, the Ridgefield Athletic and American Canoe Associations of which he was secretary and treasurer in 1893, and a member of the Board of Managers of the Young Men's Association.

Wadsworth, Paul, was born in Auburn, N. Y., June 13, 1854. His parents came from New England and he is descended from Christopher Wadsworth who landed at Duxbury, Mass., in 1630 and to whom was given by Miles Standish one of the first deeds executed by him, which now hangs in Plymouth Hall. The Wadsworth family is very prominent in New England history and Paul Wadsworth, the subject of this sketch, is a direct descendant of Captain Samuel Wadsworth, who with his company of one hundred men, was massacred by Indians at Sudbury, Mass. Mr. Wadsworth received an academic education at the Auburn Academy and Geneva High School and in 1868 he entered the telegraph service at Saratoga, N. Y. He held the positions of operator and manager at different places in the State until the fall of 1871, when he entered the service of the D. & H. C. Co., as operator at Cooperstown Junction, N. Y., from which point he was transferred to Binghamton, N. Y., as operator and ticket agent, and when the division superintendent's office was moved to Oneonta in 1873, Mr. Wadsworth was given the position of train dispatcher. He was made local freight agent at Albany, N. Y., in 1877 and remained at this post for thirteen years when be was appointed assistant general freight agent and a few years later general freight agent, which position he now holds. In point of service Mr. Wadsworth is one of the oldest employees in the railroad department of the company. He held the position of president of the General Freight Agents Association of New England for one year and was also secretary for the same term. He is a member of a number of traffic organizations and his name appears upon important committees of same. Mr. Wadsworth is also a member and trustee of the Fourth Presbyterian church of Albany and is actively identified in church and Sunday school work. He is a member of the Albany Club, the Transportation Club of New York, and Ancient City Lodge F. & A. M., of Albany. In 1876 he married Susie Walker of Pittsburgh, Pa., and they have one son and two daughters.

Waggoner, William S., was born in the town of Guilderland, November 16, 1855. The Waggoner name dates back to the early settling of Albany county. Michael Waggoner, the founder of the name in America, was a native of Germany; he settled in what is now Guilderland, where he took up a tract of some 700 acres of land. George, the next in line, was born in Guilderland on the homestead near Dunnsville. Peter, the great-grandfather, was born on the homestead about 1770; his wife was Hannah Walker, and their children were George, Israel, Nancy, Fulatta, Betsey, John and Susan. George, the grandfather, was born on the homestead in 1801, and devoted his life to farming; his wife was Elizabeth, daughter of John Winnie, and their children were Peter G., John W., Amanda, Susan M., William, Sarah, Louisa, Elizabeth and Mary Ann; he died in 1848 and his wife died in 1867. Peter G., the father, was also born on the Waggoner homestead in 1833; he attended district schools until sixteen years of age, when, his father becoming an invalid, he look charge of affairs; after some twelve years he gave the farm to his brother William, the latter to care for the mother and sisters; he then bought another farm, but later moved to the town of Bethlehem, where he resided for twelve years; in 1883 he removed to Guilderland and purchased his present farm of ninety-three acres, near Guilderland Center, on which he has erected fine and commodious buildings; he has served his town for several years as commissioner of highways, and was twice appointed to take the govornment census of his town; in 1853 he married Evaline, a native of Guilderland and a daughter of John P. Livingston. Their children are Magdalen V., William S., Rolin, Anna B., deceased, Elon M. and Grace. William S. received a common school education and when twenty-three years old began farming on his own account in the town of Guilderland. On this farm he lived for nine years, when in 1890 he removed to his father's farm which he has since had charge of. He is now serving his second four years' term as justice of the peace, and is president of the Guilderland Mutual Insurance Association. In 1878 he married Emma C, born in Guilderland and daughter of John F. and Ann Eliza (Crounse) Fryer.

Wagner, John, son of J. George and Nancy Wagner, was born in Rochester, N. Y., Jan. 31, 1858. He received a public school education and became a clerk in a hat store in his native city, and later was made manager of the hat and cap department of the Bronner Clothing Company, of Buffalo, where he remained five years. In January, 1884, he came to Albany and formed a partnership with Joseph Belser, Sr., as Belser & Wagner, and engaged in the retail dry goods business. Five years later he withdrew and bought out John M. Foil, furniture dealer at No. 308-310 South Pearl street, which he has since continued. In 1890 he started a branch furniture store under the style of the Albany Furniture Company; in 1895 he also opened a furniture store in Troy. He is president of the Commercial Co-operative Union Bank of Albany, of which he was one of the founders, and the first vice-president. He is a Republican and was alderman of the 5th ward one term. He is member of Guttenberg Lodge, F. & A. M. and Temple Chapter, R. & M. In 1883 he married Catherine, daughter of Joseph Belser, Sr., of Albany.

Wait, A. D., who has been reappointed a member of the National Racing Board of the L. A. W., is one of the most prominent citizens and business men of Cohoes. He has been a resident here for the past quarter of a century and for fifteen years has been in the employ of John Leggett & Son, paper box manufacturers, for the past five years having managed their large establishment. Mr. Wait is a veteran wheelman, having ridden since 1883. He is a member of the Cohoes Wheelmen, a most flourishing organization. He is well known as a successful race meet promoter and takes a lively interest in wheeling and everything pertaining thereto and enjoys well deserved popularity. He was last year a member of the State Racing Board of the L. A. W. and is now chairman of that body, having recently been appointed to that position by Chief Consul Potter. In politics Mr. Wait is an active worker and although he has never looked for political fame by seeking office he has nevertheless been a faithful worker for the party to which he adheres. Mr. Wait is also a member of the Cohoes Lodge F. & A. M., and an active member of the Hiram Chapter, R. A. M.

Wakefield, William H., & Son. W. H. Wakefield's father, John Wakefield, a native of the North of Ireland, settled in Albany about 1838 and died here in 1884. He was for many years a groceryman and coal dealer in the west end of the city and was long superintendent of the reservoir for the water department. William H. Wakefield, born October 26, 1843, in Albany, was for about twenty-five years a driver for the Delavan livery. In 1872 he also engaged in the livery business for himself and in 1890 took his only son, William J., into partnership, under the firm name of W. H. Wakefield & Son. They established their present livery business on State street and have brought it into prominence as one of the largest and best equipped in the city. William J. Wakefield was born March 31, 1866.

Waldron, Henry, was born in 1820 and is a son of Tobias and Cordelia (Van Derzee) Waldron, and grandson of James W. and Edith (Ten Eyck) Walron. James Waldron came from Greene county to where his father settled when he came from Holland in about 1637. Mr. Henry Waldron remained on the homestead until 1850, when he bought the adjoining farm, where he has since lived. Tobias Waldron was one of the prominent men of his day and was identified with the public affairs of his town, and was a member of the Legislature. He died on the Waldron homestead in 1876.

Walker, Charles Ashbel, son of Alphonso and Jeannette (Judd) Walker, both natives of Albany, was born in the capital city June 23, 1843. His father was a dry goods merchant there and died in 1854, aged thirty-five. His mother was a descendant of Thomas Judd, a colonial settler of Connecticut. Mr. Walker was educated in the public schools of Albany, and at the outbreak of the Rebellion was clerk to Speaker Littlejohn of the Assembly and also a member of Co. B, Washington Continentals. In the Spring of 1861 he enlisted in Co I, 5th N. Y. Vols., Duryee's Zouaves, was promoted corporal, and assisted his regiment in building Fort Federal Hill at Baltimore. In the spring of 1862 the regiment joined the 5th Army Corps, of McClellan's Army of the Potomac, at Fortress Monroe en route to Richmond, where it participated in the seven day's fight and where Mr. Walker was wounded at Gaines Mills, May 37, 1862. At the close of McClellann's campaign he was sent to New York city with a detachment under Major Hull to raise another regiment of Zouaves to form a brigade under Gen. G. K. Warren, his old regimental commander. This became the 165th N. Y. Vols., 2d Duryee's Zouaves, in which Mr. Walker was commissioned second lieutenant. The new regiment was ordered to the Department of the Gulf under General Banks and served through the Port Hudson, Louisiana and Texas campaigns. Mr. Walker was promoted first lieutenant and captain and brevetted for meritorious service with rank of major by Gov. R. E. Fenton in 1864. He was then detached and sent to Riker's and Hart's Islands in New York harbor for his regiment's quota of conscripts, and while there was assistant adjutant-general on Gen. H. W. Wessel's staff, commandant of post and provost-marshal in charge of 3,500 rebel prisoners, whose release he superintended on their taking the oath of allegiance. He was mustered out of service September 15, 1865, and on returning to Albany became successively second and first lieutenant of Co. B, Washington Continentals (now the 10th Regt. N. G. S. N. Y.), and was also brevetted captain in the National Guard. He remained with this regiment until January 1, 1876, when he removed to New York city, where he has since resided. On October 1, 1866, he became associated with the Albany and Susquehanna Railroad in the freight department at Albany. This road is now a part of the Delaware & Hudson Canal Co. system, and of the latter company Mr. Walker has been treasurer since 1890. He has been in the service of these roads thirty-one years, rising by gradation through every department. He is a trustee of the Franklin Savings Bank and a member of the Colonial Club, both of New York city; a member of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States, a member of the Albany Society of New York, member of Veteran Associations of the 5th N. Y. and 165th N. Y. Vols, in New York city, and a director in the Albany & Susquehanna, New York & Canada, Schenectady & Duauesburgh, Cherry Valley, Sharon & Albany, Adirondack, and Rutland Railroad Companies, and the Adirondack Stage Co. In politics he has always been a Republican.

Walker, Edward, is one of the leading manufacturers of the city of Cohoes, and has been a resident of this city since 1857, where he first held a position as overseer of the spinning department in Harmony Mills. In 1875 he engaged in the business with David Williams, under the firm name of Walker & Williams. As a manufacturer of cotton batting he has been located at the present factory, corner of Rensselaer and Courtland streets, since 1891. Mr. Walker in his busy life has little time to devote to political matters, yet he has served five terms as alderman and is now a member of the Board of Health. He is of New England ancestry, and his mother was a native of this State. He is a native of Delaware county, born in 1831, and is a son of Horace Walker, also a native of that county and a lumberman on the Delaware River in early life. Mr. Walker's early manhood was spent at his birthplace, New Berlin and Utica. He is the father of one son and five daughters. He is a member of Cohoes Lodge No. 116, F. & A. M., and of Cohoes Chapter R. A. M.

Walker, John M., descends from the Walker and Burt families, early settlers of New England, son of Samuel and Mary (Burt) Walker, born in Springfield, Mass., June 27, 1838. He was educated at the Springfield Academy and in April, 1861, enlisted on the first call for troops, in Co. F, 2d Conn. Vols., for three months. He continued in the service until the war closed as United States inspector of contract arms, under the War Department, and in 1865 became a traveling salesman for Milton, Bradley & Co., publishers, of Springfield, Mass., with whom he remained until January, 1874, when he came to Albany. In November, 1875, he founded the present business of the Hudson Valley Paper Company, and in 1876 Andrew B. Jones became his partner. They do an extensive wholesale business in paper, stationery and printers' supplies. Mr. Walker is a Republican and a member of George Dawson Post No. 63, G. A. R. In January, 1879, he married Lucy P., daughter of Charles C. Russ of Albany.

Walker, Peter, one of the leading and prominent men of Guilderland, was born in that town September 26, 1844. He is the son of the late Israel Walker, who was also a native of the same town, a man of sterling qualities and a wise counselor, whose opinion was often sought in matters where questions both difficult and important were involved. When but eleven years of age he began to learn the trade of shoemaking which he followed for many years, but later devoted his attention to farming. His wife was Maria Van Valkenburgh, a daughter of Johakim and Rebecca Van Valkenburgh, who were also residents of this town. Side by side and hand in hand, they went together through life, and their industry and perseverance were rewarded by the accumulation of a good property. He died in 1887, his wife in 1894. The grandfather, Peter Walker, was also born in this town, and for many years held the office of justice of the peace. He afterward removed to the town of Knox, where his last years were spent. Mr. Walker received his early education at the district schools and later at Knoxville Academy. He remained on the farm with his father until the death of the latter, except four years that he was manager of a general store at Altamont; since then he has remained on the farm. He was elected and filled the office of justice of the peace for twenty consecutive years (serving two years as justice of sessions), and resigning that office in 1893 to accept the office of supervisor. He was re-elected in 1894, and is now filling that office. He is a mem- ber of the Mascnic fraternity, St. George's Lodge of Schenectady, and a member of the Knights of Pythias. In December, 1870, he was married to Miss Eva Anna Keenholts, daughter of Andrew and Alida (Bloomingdale) Keenholts.

Walker, William J., is a son of John and Frances (Ginn) Walker, natives of the north of Ireland, who came to Albany about 1843. John was engaged in the cattle business and died in 1876, aged forty-nine. William J. Walker, born in Albany February 13, 1853, attended public school No. 11 and when fourteen entered the law office of S. W. Rosendale and in 1869 the store of A. McClure & Co., wholesale druggists. In 1882 he was admitted a partner in this firm, the name of which was changed in 1889 to McClure, Walker & Gibson, and in 1893 to Walker & Gibson, which it still bears. Theirs is strictly a wholesale drug business, covering the territory within a radius of about 200 miles of Albany. Mr. Walker has been police commissioner since 1894, was the Republican candidate for mayor in 1895, was a delegate to the Republican National Convention at St. Louis in June, 1896, and has frequently been a delegate to local and State political conventions. He is a member of the Fort Orange Club, one of the governers of the Albany City Hospital, a director in the National Commercial Bank and a trustee of the Mechanics' and Farmers' Savings Bank, the Madison Avenue Reformed church and the Albany College of Pharmacy. In 1882 he married Ada, daughter of John Craig of Fultonville, N. Y., and they have four children: William J., Jr., Esther, Francis and Helen.

Wallace, James, was born in Cohoes, Albany county, N, Y., July 9, 1856. He attended the public schools and later acted as correspondent in his native town and vicinity for several newspapers. He began the study of law with counselor Earl L. Stimson in 1880 and was admitted to the bar January 24, 1884. In July, 1883, the Cohoes Cataract, a weekly newspaper, the original publication of which was begun early in the history of Cohoes, was again started and Mr. Wallace became the editor. A year later the paper was superseded by the Cohoes Dispatch of which he was selected the editor, and William E. Seaport, the publisher of the Cataract, became the proprietor. About a year later Mr. Wallace purchased the paper and early in the year 1886 he formed a copartnership with his brother Michael, and the firm of J. & M. Wallace has since continued the publication of the paper. March, 1886, Mr. Wallace was elected justice of the peace of Cohoes. He assumed the duties of the office the first of the following year and served four years and refused a renomination. He has taken an active part in local political, social and business affairs and through the columns of his paper has aided in improving the local city government and has also aided in the material progress of the city.

Wallace, Major William A., son of Dr. James Jefferson and Eliza Thompson (Bond) Wallace, was born in New York city in the early forties. His father's ancestors came from Argyleshire, Scotland, and settled in the town of Londonderry, N. H., in 1719. John Wallace, the great-great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was one of the founders of Londonderry and he and Miss Annis Barnet were the first couple married there. His son William was married to Miss Hannah Thornton, a sister of Dr. Matthew Thornton, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence. His son, also William, moved to Canada where he acquired 96,000 acres of land, but the spirit of patriotism led him to relinquish all and at the time of the War of 1812 he moved to Rochester, N. Y., and was one of the founders of that flourishing city. He was married to Miss Ann Doudal, of Orange county, a granddaughter of General Wisner who was a member of Congress, a general in the Revolution and who died in 1777. Major Wallace's maternal great-grandfather was Joseph Bond who served three years in the Revolution as a member of a Massachusetts regiment; and his maternal grandfather was Abijah Thompson of Woburn, Mass., who was in the French and Indian war and in the Lexington alarm of 1775. Benjamin Thompson, a member of this family was knighted by the King of Belgium and took the title of Count Rumford; he was governor of Munich: he left $50,000 to be used to endow a chair at Harvard University, of which he was a graduate; this chair is now called the Rumford chair; he was appointed commanding officer of West Point but died while crossing the ocean to fulfill his commission. Major William A. Wallace attended the Brooklyn Grammar School. At the time of the completion of his education the Rebellion broke out, and he enlisted in the 13th Regt. of Brooklyn. After his return from the war he was made confidential clerk for Claflin & Co., dry goods merchants of New York. He remained there until 1873, when he removed to Albany, N. Y., where he has since been engaged in the fire insurance business. He is now first assistant clerk to the Board of Contract. Major Wallace joined George S. Dawson Post No. 63, G. A. R., in 1876 and has been once its commander, and its adjutant for eight years. He has been assistant adjutant general of the department of New York, G. A. R., under three commanders. For five years he was confidential clerk to Gen. James M. Warner, postmaster. He has been a Mason for thirty years and is now a member of Temple Lodge No. 14, F. & A. M., and Crescent Chapter No. 320, R. A. M., of New York city. Major Wallace is also a charter member of the Philip Livingston Chapter, Sons of the Revolution. September 23, 1878, he married Frances lone Abbe, of Huguenot ancestry. Major and Mrs. Wallace are members of St. Peter's church.

Wallen, William, is a son of Frederick J. Wallen, born in Birmingham, England, October 21, 1837, who came to America about 1849 and settled in Philadelphia, Pa., where he learned the trade of gas and steam fitting. In 1860 Frederick J. came to Albany and had charge of the steam and gas fitting department of Tucker & Crawford until 1873, when he established business for himself. He became one of the leading steam and gas fitters in Albany. Mr. Wallen was a prominent member of the Philadelphia and Albany Volunteer Fire Departments from the age of seventeen, being foreman in Albany of Steamer No. 4 several years. He was also connected with the present fire department of Albany and while discharging his duties July 13, 1885, was killed in the Boardman & Gray fire, being forty-seven years of age. He was an active Republican and a member of the I. O. O. F. He married Elizabeth Virden, who died July 30, 1878, and of their ten children eight are living. Mr. Wallen'smother died in Philadelphia in 1892, aged eighty-two and his father, William, in Albany, in 1893, aged eighty-three. William Wallen, son of F. J., was born April 5, 1863, associated himself with his father in 1876 and on the latter's death in 1885 succeeded, with his brother, George E., to the business, under the firm name of F. J. Wallen's Sons. George E. withdrew in February, 1895, and since then William Wallen has continued alone, having one of the largest plants between New York and Buffalo, and doing a large amount of steam, hot water heating and gas fitting. He is a member of the Royal Arcanum, the Elksand the Empire Curling and Albany Bicycle Clubs. April 15, 1884, he married Minnie E. Evans of Albany, and their children are Nathan Evans and Frederick William.

Walsh, Henry Haswell, is a descendant of Dudley Walsh, a native of the North of Ireland, who became a settler and one of the early mayors of Albany, where he died. He married Sarah Stevenson, September 24, 1793. Their son, John Stevenson Walsh, a member of the hardware firm of Godfrey & Walsh of Albany, died February 15, 1857, aged sixty-five. He married Laura (born April 16, 1811), daughter of John and Abbie (Spencer) Townsend. Dudley Walsh, their son, born in Bethlehem, Albany county, May 8, 1841, enlisted February 18, 1862, in Co. D. 90th N. Y. Vol. Inf., as second lieutenant; March 16, 1863, he was promoted captain of Co. K, 134th N. Y. Vols., and was discharged August 7, 1865. He was three years in the Albany post-office and some time a produce merchant. April 26, 1865, he married Josephine A., daughter of Col. Henry B. and Elizabeth (Trowbridge) Haswell of Albany, and they have had six children: John Stevenson (married April 20, 1896, Grace Shutter), Henry H., Laura Townsend, Dudley, Jr. (died in infancy), James (died in infancy), and Elizabeth Trowbridge. Henry Haswell Walsh, born November 30, 1867, was educated in the public schools and Albany Academy and spent several years in the hardware stores of M. E. Viele, Woodward & Hill and J. E. Taylor & Co. In 1892 he started his present harness manufacturing establishment. June 27, 1894, he married Addie, daughter of Henry Vine of Albany.

Walsh, John S., is the son of a longtime resident of Cohoes, John Walsh, an engineer. Starting with no capital he has made his own way in the world, first engaging in the tea business, later taking up the business for himself. He came to his present location, corner Mohawk and Ontario streets, three years ago, carrying a large stock which is unsurpassed in its line. Teas, coffees, spices and flour are specialties, besides a choice stock of general groceries. Mr. Walsh while taking a deep interest in politics and everything that contributes to the welfare of his native city, where he was born in 1856, never seeks or accepts political preferment. He is a member of the Business Men's Association. In 1893 he married Catherine Platz, daughter of N. B. Platz of Cohoes.

Walters, Charles, was born at the Watervliet Arsenal, Watervliet, Albany county, in 1845. He is a son of the late William Walters, captain and ordnance storekeeper, U. S. A., who died at New York Arsenal, Governor's Island, New York harbor, in 1864, whilst on duty at that station. Mr. Walters now occupies the position of chief clerk at the Arsenal; he is an unpretentious citizen, taking no active part in the affairs of the city of Watervliet, where he now resides. He entered the service of the government in 1861, and in 1870 came to Watervliet Arsenal to his present position, succeeding Isaac I. Fonda, deceased, late of Watervliet.

Wands, James M., was born on the farm he now owns in 1844. The first of the Wands to come to America were Ebeuzer and John; they were Scotch Highlanders, and were weavers by trade. They enlisted in the English army and came to Canada to take part in the French and English war, having enlisted as volunteers; they served their time and upon their discharge started as pioneers through the woods of New York to Albany, and finally located in New Scotland in 1763. Robert, the grandfather of the subject, was the son of John, the pioneer. He was a prosperous farmer in the town of New Scotland, owning the farm upon which James Wands now lives. He reared a large family and lived to be over eighty years of age. Ebenezer, the father of Mr. Wands, is now a resident of Chippewa Falls. Wis., and was born on his father's homestead farm in New Scotland in 1811, the third of six children; he is a farmer; in 1890 he removed to Wisconsin where he owned property, and has since resided there; he was twice married; his first wife was Nancy McBride, and their children were Robert, who died March, 1896; Sarah; Alex, died in 1888; Ralph; James M.; Albert and Alfred (twins); Jennie and Emma. Of these five of the sons were soldiers in the war of the Rebellion. Mrs. Wands died in 1854 and his second wife was Harriet, daughter of Everett Walley of New Scotland, by whom he has had five children: Solomon, who died when a young man; Burnside, who died when he was ten years old; Rufus P.; William and Kate L. His wife died in 1884. James M. Wands went to Voorheesville when eight years old to live with an uncle, James McElroy, who was a nursery man. When eighteen he enlisted as a volunteer in Co. D, 113th N. Y. Infantry, under Captain McCullough; the regiment was later changed to the 7th Heavy Artillery; he served until the close of the war. His regiment participated in the battles of Spottsylvania, Wilderness and Seven Days Before Richmond; the first year he was stationed near Washington in defense of that city. In the spring of 1864 he was promoted from non-commissioned officer to second lieutenant. He was also in the battle of Appomattox. He returned to Albany July 4, 1865, and was engaged for ten years as a foreman for Col. James Heudrick on his farm. In 1885 he purchased the homestead of his father, consisting of eighty-eight acres of farm land upon which he does general farming. He pays special attention to fruit culture, and also takes pride in breeding high class stock. In 1867 he married Miss Martha Decker of Columbia county, a daughter of Francis and Lucinda (Petri) Decker.

Wands, John B., was born in the town of New Scotland, N. Y., June 13, 1833. The first of the Wands to come to America were two cousins, James and John Wands; they were Scotch Highlanders, and were weavers by trade. They enlisted in the English army and came to Canada to take part in the French and English war (1754 to 1762), having enlisted as volunteers for three months; they served their time, and upon their discharge started as pioneers through the woods of New York State, toward Albany, and finally located in what is now New Scotland; their settlement dates about 1763. Ebenezer Wands, the grandfather of our subject, was another of these hardy Scotch pioneers; he was born in Glasgow, Scotland, and was also a weaver by trade; he was a cousin of James and John, who had preceded him a few years to America; he married Mary Ann Miller, and came to America immediately after, probably about 1780, and settled on a tract of land, about 400 acres, which he purchased for two dollars per acre, and began clearing him a home, and plied his trade winters. He reared eight sons and three daughters; the sons all became tradesmen, some blacksmiths, wagonmakers, carpenters, weavers, etc., and among them they grew and manufactured everything needed on the farm. He died when eighty eight years of age. Benjamin Wands, father of our subject and the fourth son of his father's children, was born in New Scotland in 1797. He learned the weaver's trade from his father; he afterward became a farmer, owning a farm of sixty acres, which he operated, and plied his trade winters. In politics he was first a Whig, later a Republican, and, though not an aspirant to public office, he manifested an active interest in the electing of his party ticket. His wife was Margaret Wands, who was born in New Scotland in 1797, daughter of James 2, who was the son of James 1, the pioneer; they reared five sons and five daughters. He died in 1865 and his wife in 1873. John B. Wands worked on his father's farm until he was seventeen years of age, when he went to Albany and engaged as cartman, which position he occupied for five years; he then accepted a position as porter in a wholesale grocery store, where he remained six years, and in 1864 engaged with Mather Bros., as shipper in their wholesale grocery; he remained with them over twenty-four years, when, on account of failing health, he was obliged to resign his position. In 1888 he moved to Voorheesville, where he engaged in the retail general mercantile business, and where he has since remained. Mr. Wands is a Republican in politics. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Wadsworth Lodge, Albany, in which he often officiated. He is also a member of the Odd Fellows fraternity, American Lodge, No. 33, of which he is past noble grand, and was also on the district grand committee for years. In addition to his other interests Mr. Wands has been for a number of years interested in the manufacture of soap in Kingston, N. Y. In 1855 he married Sarah J. Drew, of Albany, daughter of Robert and Sarah Drew, natives of London, England, by whom he had three children: Emma, wife of Slater Swift, of New Scotland; Grace, wife of Carey Martin; and Robert B. Wands.

Ward, John G., was born in the town of Westerlo in the year 1849 and is the product of Revolutionary stock, taking his name from Gen. John Ward who achieved signal military honors in the struggle of the American Colonies for independence. Mr. Ward also traces his ancestry back to Gov. Daniel Tompkins of this State. Mr. Ward's father is the Rev. Gilbert Ward, a retired and honored minister of the Methodist church. Mr. Ward's great-grandfather, Nathan Ward, came from Westchester county in 1797 and was one of the pioneer settlers of the town of Westerlo. The Hon. William L. Ward, congressman from the Westchester District, is a member of the same family. Mr. Ward's education was obtained at the local school and at Fort Edward Institute. His father owned large landed interests in Westerlo, and young Ward remained on the farm for several years, prosecuting his agricultural work along the most approved lines. He had erected a cider mill on his farm, where he also had a productive apple orchard. Mr. Ward's business ability could not be confined to his native town and with his clear and judicious insight into the future he saw that a splendid opportunity was presented for a cider and vinegar factory at Ravena, formerly Coeymans Junction, a growing and enterprising village on the West Shore Railroad in Albany county. He removed to Ravena, therefore, and erected an extensive plant; which, with its improvements in the shape of modern machinery, etc., is one of the largest institutions for the manufacture of pure cider vinegar in the United States, turning out 50,000 barrels each year. His eldest son, Gilbert E., who possesses the keen business instinct of his father, is also interested in the business. Several thousand carloads of produce also are shipped yearly by the firm. Mr. Ward married Cecilia, a most estimable woman, daughter of Dr. John Keefer, and their home has been blessed with five children: Gilbert E., John H., Grace L., Walter K., and Raymond; a happier family will not be found anywhere. Mr. Ward's second son, John H., who has not yet chosen his life profession, has recently graduated with high honors at Wesleyan University. Mr. Ward is one of the best known and popular men in Albany county and is well and favorably known throughout Eastern New York. He is what is called a big-hearted man, and many are the deeds of charity and kindness to those in need that he performs, always, however, without ostentation. From the time he cast his first vote Mr. Ward, as a staunch Republican, always has taken a lively interest in politics and in every contest of his party with its opponents he has ever been found doing faithful work for Republican success. In 1882 he was the nominee of his party for member of congress in a hopeless struggle against Democratic fraud at the polls. Mr. Ward is now a candidate for the appointment as collector of internal revenue for the Eastern New York District at the hands of President McKinley, and a look at the political horoscope indicates that he is to get the appointment, which will be a reward only in part for his party services. Mr. Ward possesses rare political sagacity, and with his ability to make and keep friends he is a political power in his county. His brother, the Hon. Walter E. Ward, who is an ex-member of the Assembly, owes a great deal of his political success to the unselfish efforts and splendid political judgment of his brother. Mr. Ward is a member of the M. E. church, to whose needs he subscribes liberally. Public spirited, amiable, and upright in his dealings with his fellows, he enjoys the esteem and respect of all who know him.

Ward, Hon. Walter E., was born December 5, 1853, in Westerlo, Albany county. His father, Rev. Gilbert Ward, formerly of Westerlo, whose long services in the ministry of the M. E. church have been signally blessed, is still living. His mother, Emeline Garrett, a native of New Baltimore, Greene county, died several years ago. His grandfather, Gilbert Ward, was a pioneer farmer of Westerlo, a justice of the peace in 1822 and a man of prominence. This branch of the Ward family in America is descended from the same ancestry as Gen. John Ward of Revolutionary fame. Walter E. Ward worked on his father's farm in Westerlo summers and attended the district school in winter. When seventeen he entered the Collegiate Institute at Claverack, N. Y., then under the principalship of Rev. Alonzo Flack, D. D. While there he taught school a part of the time, earning money enough to pay his educational expenses. On leaving Claverack in 1873 Mr. Ward entered Wesleyan University, where he was a member of the university football team and boat crew, and rowed in the intercollegiate regatta at Saratoga in 1876. He was graduated from Wesleyan with honor in 1877. He then took up his residence in Albany. Preparatory to entering the Albany Law School he read law in the office of Hungerford & Hotaling, and about the same time gave private instruction in Latin and Greek. Mr. Ward was graduated from the Albany Law School in 1879, and was at once admitted to the bar. In 1880 he opened an office in Albany and four years later associated with himself his present partner, Frederick W. Cameron, the firm name being Ward & Cameron. While carrying on his general legal practice, Mr. Ward's attention was turned to a careful investigation of the laws relating to patents, and he has made this subject a special department by bringing together all the important authorities, so that this collection of books in this line is the largest of any lawyer in this city. He has had charge of important infringement suits in which he has gained a wide reputation, and is a lecturer on patents, trade marks and copyrights, in the Albany Law School. As a Republican, Mr. Ward, in the fall of 1890, was nominated for member of assembly from the Second Assembly district and was elected over Dr. De Graft of Guilderland by a majority of 564, being the only Republican chosen to any office from the county in that election. He served with credit on the Committees on Cities, Revision of Laws, and Excise Matters. In 1891 he was re-elected by a majority of 1,072 over ex-County Clerk W. D. Strevell and was again the only successful Republican nominee on the ticket for Albany county. During his second legislative term Mr. Ward served on the Committee on General Laws and Revision. He is a member of the Unconditional Republican, and Albany Clubs and a member of Trinity M. E. church, and in 1891-92 was superintendent of its Sabbath school. In 1881 Mr. Ward married Miss Carrie, daughter of Luman Stanton of Westerlo, and they have three children: Maude E., Florence and Walter J.

Warner, Charles B., of Altamont, was born in Summit, Schoharie county, September 24, 1851, son of John Warner, Jr., and Josephine, daughter of Milo Bradley. The grandfather of Charles B. was John Warner, son of Capt. George, whose father was George. Charles B. was raised on a farm in Richmondville until be was eighteen years of age, when he began an apprenticeship as carriagemaker in Cobleskill, where he remained until 1875, when he removed to Altamont and worked for Jacob Van Benscotten until 1883; at that date he purchased an interest in his employer's business, forming the firm of Van Benscotten & Warner. Mr. Van Benscotten died in 1882 and two years later Mr. Warner bought the widow's share and continued the business to 1895, when he admitted the son of his former partner, forming the firm of Warner & Van Benscotten. Mr. Warner is a bimetalist in politics, a member of Noah Lodge F. & A. M., of Altamont, and of Noah Chapter U. D., of which he was a charter member and principal sojourner; also of St. George Commandery No. 37, Schenectady, Cyprus Lodge Temple of the Mystic Shrine, and Voorheesville Lodge I O. O. F. In 1872 he married Frances A. Cornell of Richmondville, Schoharie county, daughter of Dr. Valentine Cornell. They have had five children: Blanch, Harry C., Charles, Jr., and Francis (twins) (the latter deceased) and Stanley. Mr. and Mrs. Warner are members of the Lutheran church.

Warner, Jacob A., a well known citizen and landmark, was born in the town of Berne, March 16, 1828. Christopher Warner, his great grandfather, was a native of Germany, came to America with his two brothers, and settled in the town of Berne, taking up land around what is now known as Warner's Lake. Christopher Warner, the grandfather, was born in Berne and was a farmer. In 1765 he and his brother Johannes erected a saw and grist mill in East Berne, it being the second mill in the town. He reared three sons and four daughters. Henry C, the father of John A. Warner, was born in Berne on the homestead near Warner's Lake, November 14, 1793. In early life he was a farmer, but the greater part of his life was spent at coopering, residing all his life at Berne. His first wife was Lena, daughter of Andrew Batcher of Knox, and they had seven children: Rebecca, Samuel, Mary Ann, Elizabeth (who died when three years of age), Hannah, Christopher and Jacob A. His wife died in 1834 and he married Mrs. Lane Cole. He died in 1854. Jacob A. Warner received a limited common school education, and when a lad of twelve years of age began work on a farm for others; when fourteen he went to live with an uncle, with whom he remained until eighteen. He then learned the mason's trade and followed this for nine years, when he purchased a small farm in Berne and engaged in farming. After selling this farm he lived two years in Knox on a rented farm and in 1865 he purchased a farm in the town of New Scotland. He sold this farm and in 1867 purchased his present farm of 127 acres, where he has ever since resided. He has been the breeder of many fine horses and also a dealer in horses, and is an excellent judge of oxen, as he found it profitable for many years when ox teams were much in use to deal in those animals, buying and selling many yokes of cattle; later years he has devoted more attention to the breeding of Jersey cattle. In politics Mr. Warner is a Republican and has filled the office of assessor in his town for fifteen years, and is now filling that office. He has often been drawn as juryman, having sat on the Grand Jury and United States Grand Jury. In 1851 he married Sarah, daughter of Lawrence Clyckman, and their children were Henrietta (who died when twenty-one), Lawrence and Mary (wife of Charles Fares of Guilderland). Mr. and Mrs. Warner are members of the Lutheran church in Knox, where Mr. Warner is elder. Lawrence, his son, now has the management of the farm and is interested in the breeding of Jersey cattle and fine draft horses. His first wife was Mary Kipp, second wife, Minnie, daughter of Calvin Beebe of Knox, and they have one child, Earl. He is a Republican and a member of the Patrons of Husbandry.

Warren, Henry P., is one of the leading educators of the State and comes from the East. He spent most of his boyhood in Gorham, Me., where his father, the late Rev. Dr. William Warren resided. Mr. Warren attended the Gorham Academy, Gorham, Me., until 1855 when he entered Phillips Academy at Andover, Mass., then under the administration of Dr. Samuel L. Taylor. Mr. Warren spent a year teaching in Merrimac, Mass., and was graduated from Yale in 1870. That same year he became principal of the Fifth Street Grammar School at New Bedford, Mass., where he remained a year and a half and then went to Dover, N. H., where he was principal of the Dover High School. He was obliged to go South for his health in 1875, and remained three years, when he returned to Dover. He took charge of the N. H. State Normal School in 1879 for four years, then went to Lawrenceville, N. J., and with six others established the Lawrenceville School, a preparatory boarding school. He remained there until January, 1887. In August, 1886, he was elected principal of the Albany Academy.

Washburn, Hiram L., son of Hiram L. and Magdalen T. (Clark) Washburn, was born in Westford, Otsego county, N. Y., June 14, 1840. He is of English descent, being descended from one of three brothers who came from England to America prior to the Revolution; and of Holland-Dutch descent, his maternal ancestors having been among the first to settle the town of Schenectady, N. Y. Mr. Washburn attended the Albany public schools and the Ballston Spa Institute, after which he studied law in the office of Hungerford & Hotaling of Albany and was admitted to practice in 1861. Since his admission to the bar he has practiced law in Albany. Mr. Washburn was the attorney for four or five German banking and loan associations that were organized between 1866 and 1875, and was for several years searching clerk in the Albany county clerk's office. He also tried the case which brought about the suspension of the writ of habeas corpus in New York State for several months after the war of the Rebellion, the question involved being in relation to the mustering out of men who had enlisted to fill unexpired terms. He was the inspector of rifle practice on the staflf of the Third, Fifth and Ninth Brigades, N. G. N. Y., for ten years and was on duty at the West Albany riots. Mr. Washburn is at present the attorney for the Permanent Savings & Loan Association of Albany and has a very large real estate practice. He is a Royal Arch Mason, being a member of Capital City Chapter, De Witt Clinton Council and Masters Lodge No. 6. April 1, 1866, he married Phebe Neemes of Albany, and they have three children: Mrs. William J. McKown, Mrs. R. J. LeBoef, and Lucius H. Washburn.

Waters, M. B., was born in Duxbury, Plymouth county, Mass., in October, 1831, and is a descendant of good old Puritan stock. He had none of the advantages of education so liberal in this day, but he was a great reader and seeker after knowledge and always had a book with him, to which he applied himself during leisure moments. His mind therefore became stored with very useful information, for he read only those books from which he could derive practical knowledge and which tended to strengthen his mind. He began railroading in 1851 on what was then the Hudson River Road, now the N. Y. C. & H. R. R. R., and leaving there he went to the Troy & Boston Railroad, now the Fitchburg Railroad, where he filled such positions as baggagemaster, ticket agent and freight and passenger train conductor. He was also the first passenger agent and during the war was stationed in New York with an office on Broadway. That office was abolished after the war and he became connected with the N. Y. C. & H. R. R. R. as passenger train conductor. The genial disposition and courteous manners which he showed in that capacity, eminently qualified him for advancement and to-day he holds the position of general passenger agent of the People's Line Steamers on the Hudson River. He has traveled extensively throughout the United States, Mexico and the West Indies. Mr. Waters is also a very interesting correspondent and has many times favored the general public with letters to newspapers describing his travels. He was formerly president of the Railroad Conductors' Insurance Company of the United States and Canada and is now an active member of that body. He is also a life member of the various Masonic bodies, from the Blue Lodge to the Mystic Shrine, and is also a member of the International Association of Ticket Agents, also a member of the American Association of General Passenger Agents. He is a very public spirited citizen and nothing which will improve his home city, Troy, escapes his notice; and he has written many articles setting forth his views on public matters which have always carried great weight. Mr. Waters was married October l5, 1866, at North Dorset, Vt., to a daughter of the Hon. Welcome Allen.

Watson, Frank, was born in Starkville, Herkimer county, N Y., December 13, 1829, a son of William H. and Margaret (Schmidt) Watson. His grandfather, Jude Watson, and the near relatives of his grandmother, the Jenkses, took active part in the Revolution in Herkimer county. When four years old Mr. Watson moved with his parents to Cobleskill, N.Y., where his father preached in the First Lutheran church for about ten years. March 7, 1846, Mr. Watson removed to Albany, and subsequently worked as clerk in the stores of William Reese and Hiram W. Allen. For three years thereafter he conducted a clothing business in Niagara Falls, and in 1857, while at Niagara Frontier, he was made a Free Mason and was intimate and often sat in lodge with Colonel Whitney, who was incarcerated in the Canandaigua jail suspected of being an accessory to the disappearance of Morgan. In 1859 Mr. Watson returned to Albany and for twenty-three years was a salesman and partner in the store of A. B. Van Gaasbeck & Co.'s carpet house. Since then he has been engaged in the carpet cleaning and storage business at Nos. 254-260 Washington avenue. At the age of twenty one he became an Odd Fellow and is now a demitted Mason to Mt. Vernon Lodge No. 5 of Albany. He has been twice married first in 1852, and again in 1873 to Fannie H., daughter of Capt. Richard T. Hoag of Albany. Mr. and Mrs. Watson have three children; Mrs. M. E. Northrup, Grace A. and Mabel E.

Weaver, George B., was born in New York city in 1848, and was a son of Hamilton Weaver, a merchant of that city and a native of Oneida county. His boyhood was passed on a farm near Deerfield, Oneida county. His education was completed at a private school in Utica; so rapid was his progress and so complete his grasp of knowledge in detail, that immediately upon attaining legal majority he received an appointment in the State Department of Public Instruction and continued for twenty-five years in that line of work. His duties were largely classical in connection with the department, and he has become very prominent and efficient in educational matters in the town of Colonie where his home is situated. He has been very active in public life and recently served as assessor and upon the town Board of Education.

Weaver, William J., was born in the town of Coeymans, January 27, 1835, and in the following year his parents removed to Albany. His parents came from Oneida to Coeymans and were also natives of this State. Mr. Weaver received his early education in the public schools and at the age of sixteen, following the example of his brothers, he went to sea on a whaler for a three years' cruise. This, however, did not satisfy his longing for the sea, and after a brief visit to his home he again embarked on a two years' cruise. Returning again in 1854, he went into partnership with his father and established a steam packing-box manufactory on the corner of Cherry street and Broadway, continuing in it from that date down to 1871. ln 1863 he was elected Democratic supervisor of the old First ward, and in 1869-70 and 1871 he was chosen to represent the Third ward in the Board of Supervisors and during the last two years served as president of the board. In 1871 Mr. Weaver was appointed city assessor by Mayor Thacher and has held the position continuously down to the present time. He was once nominated for the Assembly in the First district, but withdrew in favor of a rival Democratic candidate on the evening before election. In the year 1869 he brought to the notice of the Board of Supervisors the great inequality then existing in the State equalization as it affected Albany county, and was at that time appointed chairman of a committee on State equalization, which position he held continuously until 1895. Mr. Weaver was married in 1856 to Mary A. Allen, by whom he has had six children, four of whom are living.

Weeber, Christian, one of the self-made men of property at Loudonville, is of German birth, having been born at Wuertemburgh in 1839. He was about twenty-five years of age when he turned his face toward this land of promise, and having a predilection for the butchering trade, soon found employment in that line in Albany. A business venture in New York resulted in illness and financial disaster, and he returned to Albany, January 1, 1865, and established himself in business in a small way. During the succeeding fifteen years he steadily enlarged his trade and in 1879 was enabled to purchase the handsome place at Loudonville, where he is now so eligibly situated, with forty-five acres of garden land adjacent. Mr. Weeber is a citizen of much natural ability and has taught himself to read and write English. He has one son in Denver, Col., and one at Schenectady, both in the market business, and another son in the bicycle trade at Albany; also two sons and one daughter at home.

Weidman, Malachi, though a native of Berne, N. Y., has been a resident of Cohoes for over sixty years. He was born in 1828, and was the son of Abram Weidman, who was for years associated with the Silliman's Axe Works. Here he was first employed after the acquisition of a good business education. Later he conducted a retail meat market and was for some years engaged in the lime and cement trade. In 1861 he enlisted in Co. A, 22d Regiment, N. Y. Vols., as a private and after two years in service came home an adjutant. He participated in thirteen battles and engagements without a wound, though a horse was once wounded under him. After the war he was for eight years engaged in the wool trade, and for the same length of time served as chief of police. In 1885 he entered his present business, wholesale and retail dealer in lime, cement and sewer pipe. In December, 1863, he married Sarah MacWha.

Weidman, Reuben L., is a descendant of Jacob Weidman of Switzerland, who was one of the first settlers in Berne, Albany county, N. Y. , where he built the first house, the town being named after his native city, Berne, Switzerland. He also built a saw and flouring mill at what was long known as Weidman's Mills. Jacob Weidman was the father of one son Felix, who was the father of Daniel, Jacob, Paul and Felix. All these four generations lived in Berne. Daniel Weidman when fifteen became clerk in a general store in West Berne, and when sixteen came to Albany as clerk for Peter Van Wormer, and later for F. W. Ford & Son. Afterwards he attended the Knoxville and Gallupville Academies, was clerk in a dry goods store in New York city, joined his uncle in mercantile business in Gallupville for six years and thence came to Albany in 1845, and was the founder of the present house of Weidman & Co. He remained in the wholesale grocery business until his death, May 13, 1886. His son George D. was born June 29, 1842, entered the army in 1801 as orderly sergeant, became brevet major of volunteers and captain of Co. F, 10th Regt., N. G. S. N. Y. He died March 17, 1883. Reuben L. Weidman is a son of Felix Weidman, a physician and surgeon whose practice extended over a period covering about forty-five years. He was one of the best known and most successful practitioners in his section of the county. The subject of this sketch was born at Central Bridge, N. Y., October 1, 1848. For a number of years he was engaged in the grocery business in Gallupville, N. Y., and was also for a time in the employ of D. Weidman, Sons & Co., as traveling salesman. A short time previous to the death of his uncle, Daniel Weidman, he became a member of the firm. October 5, 1888, Mrs. E. Eugenia Daw, a daughter of Daniel Weidman, was admitted under the present firm name of Weidman & Co. Thomas R. Ward, Jr., was admitted March 1, 1894. Mr. Weidman enlisted August 17, 1864, in Co. I, 15th N. Y. Cav., and did special duty until discharged May 8, 1865. He is a member of George Dawson Post No. 63, G. A. R., and also of Mt. Vernon Lodge No. 3, F. & A. M. He was married October 4, 1870, to Miss Helena Hunting. They have one daughter, Miss Caroline Weidman.

Wells, Anton, born in Germany, August 34, 1835, came to America in 1837 and settled in Albany, where he has since resided. He learned the trade of grate and fender maker, and in 1849 purchased the retail stove and heating establishment of James Goadby, which he has since successfully conducted, being one of the oldest and best known stove dealers in the city. He is an extensive dealer in grates, fireplaces, hot air furnaces, stoves, ranges, etc. In 1850 he married Caroline Oberist, a native of Germany, and they have had seven children: Polly (Mrs. Prieser), Louis, Amelia, Edward, Theodore (deceased), Reinhart and Caroline.

Wertime, Walter H., was born in Ilion, N. Y., in 1871. His father was Herman Wertime, born in Cologne, Germany. He was educated at the University of Bonn, and came to this country in 1862. He enlisted in the Union army immedialely after his arrival and served until April, 1865. He was honorably discharged at that time; he then settled in Herkimer county. Although a college graduate and a man of unusual attainments, he practiced no profession, but conducted a grocery store in Cohoes, to which place be came in 1874 and died in 1879. Walter H. Wertime was ed- ucated in the public schools and graduated from the Egberts High School in 1888; he taught school for one year and then began legal studies with D. C. McElwain of this city. He entered the Albany Law School in 1891, graduating in 1892 and was admitted to the bar that same year, after which he began practice in Cohoes. In January, 1893, he formed a copartnership with George H. Fitts (now surrogate of Albany county), and is actively engaged in the practice of the law. He was a member and secretary of the Republican County Committee at the age of twenty-one. He is probably the youngest official as city attorney, yet the Common Council of Cohoes appoirited him to this important position in 1895. The able manner in which he discharged the onerous duties devolved upon him proved the wise, selection of that body as he was by heredity, education, and character pecularly fitted for the responsible work. On October 8, 1896, he was appointed assistant district attorney of Albany county by Eugene Burlingame. On the 6th day of August, 1896, Mr. Wertime was married to Estella Farrelly, of Cohoes.

Wetmore, Edward Willard, was born in Detroit, Mich., September 5, 1846. He is a son of Frederick Wetmore and Cornelia Platt Willard, who was the granddaughter of Dr. Elias Willard of Albany, N. Y., who was a surgeon in the Revolution and a direct descendant of Simon Willard, the founder of Concord, Mass. The Wetmores came from Middletown, Conn., where Amos Wetmore was a captain in the Connecticut Line in the Revolution. He was the great-grandfather of E. W. Wet- more. Mr. Wetmore's mother was the fourth in descent from Robert Livingstone, Jr., mayor of Albany and Indian commissioner; and the fifth in descent from Peter Schuyler, first mayor of Albany. Edward W. Wetmore, the subject of this sketch, was educated in the public schools of Detroit and the University of Michigan, from which he was graduated in 1867 with the degree of A. B. In 1870 he received the honorary degree of M. A. from the same institution. In 1869 Mr. Wetmore took a course in metallurgy at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, N.Y. He also took a two years course in Auburn (N. Y.) Theological Seminary, after which he received the appointment of instructor in natural sciences in Robert College, Constantinople, where he remained three years. Since then Mr. Wetmore has been a teacher of natural sciences with the exception of ten years of business life spent in Detroit and Connecticut. Since 1891 he has been the professor of natural sciences at the State Normal College at Albany, N. Y. He is a member of the Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity, Sons of the Revolution, Society of the Colonial Wars, Fortnightly and Crescendo Clubs and the Albany Institute. He has always been actively identified with church, Sunday school and Y. M. C. A. work, was for four years the president of the association in Detroit, Mich., and is now chairman of the educational committee of the Albany Y. M. C. A. In 1883 he was married to Martha, daughter of William H. Cox of Brooklyn, N. Y., and they have two children: William Cox and Edward Van Dyke.

Wheeler, Frederick F., son of John C. and Adaline (Freeman) Wheeler, was born in Oshkosh, Wis.. February 25, 1859, and was educated at the Vineland, N. J., Academy, where the family settled in 1864. In 1882 he came to Albany and the same year established his present furniture business. He was one of the organizers of the Albany Chamber of Commerce in 1890, and has since been a director and the secretary. He organized the South End Bank, was continuously one of its directors and during the first five years was its first vice-president. He is an associate director of the National Life Association of Hartford, Conn., was one of the founders and is vice-president and director of the West End Savings and Loan Association of Albany and was an originator and officer of the West End Association, designed to effect improvements in the western part of the city. In politics he has been from youth up a Prohibitionist, casting his first vote (the only Prohibition vote cast in Cumberland county, N. J.) for Neal Dow for president in 1880. He has never voted any other ticket. In 1884 he was elected chairman of the State General and State Executive Prohibition Committees and served five years, declining further service in this capacity. During that period the Prohibition ticket received the highest vote ever given it in this State. He is still a member of the Prohibition State Executive Committee and in 1896 was elected a member of the National Prohibition Committee. December 24, 1879, he married Alice Amsden of North Walden, Vt., who died July 22, 1891, leaving four children : Herbert A., Fannie A., Alice A., and Effie A. June 6. 1893, he married, second, Hattie Hall of Leslie, Mich.

Whipple, Walter, was born in the village of Berne in 1846. Malachi Whipple, his grandfather, was a representative man who came from Stonington, Conn., in 1793, settling in what is now the town of Knox, and purchased what has ever since been known as the Whipple farm. His farm in 1820 took the premium as the model farm in Albany county; the premium consisted of two solid silver pitchers, silver teaspoons, and five silver cups, which are still in possession of different members of the family; he afterwards received premiums on his sheep and wool and on cloth of his own manufacture. In 1835 he removed to the village of Berne, purchased a mill privilege and erected a grist mill. While residing in the town of Knox he represented that town in the board of supervisors and subsequently represented Berne in the same capacity. He was also one of the founders of the Reformed (Dutch) church of Berne. His wife was Percilla Brown and they had thirteen children; Amos, Polly, William, Diana, Lois, Ann, Ethan, Abel, Sarah, Lucy, Parmelia, Allen and Esli. Esli, the father of Walter Whipple, was born in Knox in 1820. He learned the harnessmaker's trade and followed it throughout his enter life. He was five years old when his father moved to the village of Berne and he spent his life there, with the exception of five years spent in Cohoes. In politics he was a Republican and was often proffered nominations for public offices, but always declined the honor. His wife was Angelica Rosekrans, daughter of Dr. Holmes Rosekrans, of Berne, and they had one child, Walter. Esli Whipple died in February, 1892, and his wife in October, 1887. They were both members of the Reformed church, in which Mr. Whipple had been an officer for many years, and was an elder in the church at the time of his death. Walter Whipple attended the common schools of the village and finished his education by attending select schools for several terms. When sixteen he entered a store at Rensselaerville as clerk, where he remained three years; the next two years were spent in Albany as a clerk. He then returned home and engaged in harness-making with his father, with whom he remained until the latter's death; since the death of his father he has continued the business alone. Mr. Whipple is a Republican and like his father always refused all public offices. In 1871 he married Miss Josephine Ball of Berne, daughter of Paul and Maria (Moore) Ball. Mr. and Mrs. Whipple are both members of the Reformed church, of which Mr. Whipple is at the present time an officer.

Whitbeck, Dr. Ansel McK., was born in Columbia county, N. Y., February 16, 1836. His father was Dr. Volkert Whitbeck, for sixty-two years a physician in Hudson, N. Y., and his mother, Caroline Rockfeller. Dr. Whitbeck's ancestors were Holland-Dutch, who came to America during the early colonization and who played an important part in the American Revolution. Dr. Whitbeck attended the Hudson Academy, from which he was graduated in 1854 and then went to Rochester, N. Y., where he studied medicine for a year. Upon returning to Hudson he engaged in the drug business continuing the study of medicine with his father, and subsequently after attending a course of lectures at Bellevue Hospital, New York city, he received in 1859 a practitioner's certificate from the Board of Censors of Columbia county. He practiced in Hudson until 1881 when he removed to Albany, where he has since practiced most of the time, still, however, retaining an office in Hudson. He was examining surgeon during the war and has been city physician and jail pliysician at Hudson. In 1855 he married Sarah Edmonds Frary, daughter of Jonathan Frary and niece of Dr. Frary of Hudson. She died in 1860, and in 1863 he married Emeline Ellis of Coxsackie, N. Y., by whom he had two children: Ansel R. and Emma Louise.

Whitbeck, Henry T., born in Coeymans, December 9, 1847, was a son of William A. Whitbeck, son of Thomas, who spent most of his days in Coeymans, where he died. The father of Henry T. Whitbeck now lives at Coeymans a retired life. His wife was Annie Tompkins, daughter of John Tompkins, son of Daniel Tompkins, mentioned in this work. To William A. Whitbeck and his wife were born ten children, and six are now living. Mrs. Whitbeck died in 1886. Henry T. Whitbeck was reared on a farm and was educated in the common schools. He has 147 acres of land on which he has lived since April 1, 1873. In politics he is a Democrat, being assessor nine years and was elected justice in 1891, which he held four years and re-elected again in 1895. September 13, 1873, he married Rosalie Gifford, daughter of John H. and Caroline Gififord of Rensselaerville, N. Y. They have one child, John H. Mr. Whitbeck is a member of Cascade Lodge No. 427, F. & A. M.

Whitbeck, Joseph M., is the son of John T., and the grandson of Thomas Whitbeck, who was a farmer and died in 1873. Joseph M. is also a farmer. He married Harriet, daughter of Spencer Stearns of Greene county, by whom he has had one son, John S., who is a farmer with his father, and also has one son, William J.

Whitbeck, Theodore H., D. D. S., of Holland Dutch descent, is a member of an early Coeymans, Albany county, family, the first of whom was Thomas Whitbeck and his son John T. Thomas, son of John T., married Rachel A. Garrett and they were the parents of Dr. Whitbeck, who was born near Coeymans, March 31, 1869. The latter was educated in the public schools and under private tutelage, studied dentistry with his brother, Dr. Henry L. of Albany, and received the degree of D. D. S, from the dental department of the University of Pennsylvania in 1891. Since then he has been engaged in the active practice of his profession in Albany. He is a member of the Third District Dental Society and of the Albany Press Club. He is also a knight of the Essenic order.

Whitbeck, William J., was born in 1838. He is a son of John T., and a grandson of Thomas, who had four sons: William, Stephen, Daniel and John T., who had four sons: Thomas, John A., Jasper and William J. He is a farmer and lives on a part of the old homestead. He married Hannah J. Smith.

White, David, is as well known for his zealous labors in the temperance cause as for the extensive roofing business, with which his name has been associated since his settlement in Cohoes in 1866. He was at that time twenty-two years of age and had acquired his superior knowledge of the trade in Scotland, his native country. Mr. White is the oldest and most experienced roofer in the county, equally skillful in every branch of the work. His father is Robert White, a linen cloth manufacturer, still living at the advanced age of eighty-four. The maternal grandmother lived to be 103 years of age. Mr. White inherits the sterling qualities characteristic of his ancestors. In him the Temple of Honor has a useful and influential member, and the Reform church an able supporter.

White, Isaac, was born in the town of Berne, September 30, 1837. His great-grandfather, Leonard Berkeman, was an Orangeman, living in the North of Ireland. Mary, his daughter, while a young girl in her native place, was playing one day on the dock, at a time when a ship was about to sail for America. Owing to the jealousy which existed between the Catholics and the Protestants, she was kidnapped. She was allowed to come on board the ship where she was seized and cast into the hold and not permitted to come above until the ship was far out to sea. She was brought to America and sold for her passage. She married James White, an Englishman, and they settled in town of New Scotland. Frederick White, his grandfather, was born on his father's homestead in New Scotland. David, the father of Isaac White, was also a native of New Scotland and was a farmer and speculator in live stock. He settled in town of Berne, where he owned a large farm. Some years later he exchanged this farm for another in town of New Scotland and there lived to time of his death in 1847. His wife was Hannah Schermerhorn of Berne, and their children were: Abram, Isaac, Jacob, Elias, Frederick, Margaret, Harriet and Jeremiah. His wife survives him and now resides in New Salem. Isaac White grew to manhood in New Scotland and attended the common district schools. In 1858 he returned to the town of Berne with his mother, where she bought a farm; he later purchased half of this farm and subsequently the other half, to which he has added several farms, now owning over 500 acres, the most of which he superintends himself. He was one of the organizers of the Berne Cheese Company, of which he is now president and stockholder in the factory. Mr. White has represented his town on the Board of Supervisors two terms and filled other minor offices. He has provided all of his children with liberal educational advantages, all of whom are teachers except the youngest. In 1865 he married Miss Melvina E. Flansburg, and their children are Elsie, Frank, Elias, Emma and Floyd.

White, John J., son of Isaac and Ann Eliza (Cramer) White, was born in Fultonville, N.Y., September 4, 1848. His paternal grandfather, Isaac White, moved from Nine Partners, Dutchess county, to near Duanesburg, N. Y., later to Otsego county, and in 1828 to Palmyra, N. Y., but finally returned to Duanesburg. Hon. Isaac White, son of Isaac, was born in Maryland, Otsego county, February 10, 1820, was educated at Gallupville Academy, taught school, became a merchant in Gloversville and afterward a farmer in Duanesburg and in 1866 came to Albany and entered the employ of George A. Wolverton & Co. On October 3, 1843, he married Ann Eliza Cramer, and in March, 1871, he formed with his son, John J., the firm of Isaac White & Son and purchased the notion and fancy goods business of George H. Knowlton. In 1874 another son, Edgar M., was admitted under the style of Isaac White & Sons. January 1, 1883, Mr. White withdrew, Edgar M. gave place to his brother, Frank, and the firm became Isaac White's Sons & Co. In January, 1885, Edgar M. White again became a member of the firm and m 1887 Addison B. Wells was admitted, Frank White retiring at this time on account of ill health. In 1890 the business was closed out and the firm dissolved, and in 1892 John J. White, Addison B. Wells and Frank J. Wilkins, organized the present firm of White, Wells & Wilkins, from which Mr. Wilkins withdrew in December, 1894, the other two partners continuing under the same name. The business is exclusively wholesale dry goods, notions and fancy goods, and has been conducted in the present block on Broadway since 1871 and is the only one of the kind in the city. John J. White was educated at the Gloversville Academy, came to Albany in 1867 and was a clerk for Mr. Knowlton until 1871. He is a director in the Albany County Bank and a trustee of the Albany County Savings Bank. In 1873 he married Anna E., daughter of Jacob Miller of Albany; she died in March, 1875, leaving one son, Frederick J., who is associated in business with his father. In 1870 Mr. White married, second, Charlotte E., daughter of Launcelot Bew, of Albany, and they have five children: Launcelot Bew (deceased), Mary Bew, John J., Jr., William Bew, and Ruth.

Whitehead, Samuel. The Moulding Sand Business known as Whitehead Bros. Co. was established in the year 1850 by Samuel Whitehead, Sr., his sons succeeding to the business in 1860 and continued the business as a copartnership until 1891, when it was incorporated in a stock company under the New Jersey laws, with Lydell Whitehead as president, Alfred J. Miller, vice-president, Van Loan Whitehead, secretary and William H. Smith, general manager. It is the largest Moulding Sand Company in America, dealing in all kinds of moulding sand, fire sand, foundry clay, kaolin, cupola and foundry supplies, stove plate moulding sand a specialty. This company does business in New Jersey and different points on the Hudson River and on the Erie Canal. Mr. Samuel Whitehead, Sr., is one of the members of the firm having charge of the work at Coeymans, Selkirk and Cedar Hill, N. Y., with his son Samuel G. Whitehead as asssistant. Samuel G. Whitehead married the charming Miss Eliza H. Clapper, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Clapper of Cedar Hill, N. Y. Mr. Samuel Whitehead, Sr., resides with his son and daughter in their beautiful villa on the banks of the Hudson.

Whitney, W. M , & Co. The extensive dry goods business of W. M. Whitney & Co. was established in a two-story building, 25 by 40 feet, on the site of the present store, by Ubsdull & Pearson in 1859. In 1864 James T. Lenox succeeded them. He died about 1866 and in that year William M. Whitney and John C. Myers, under the firm name of Whitney & Myers, purchased the establishment and continued it until 1870, when Mr. Myers retired. Mr. Whitney became sole owner and has successfully conducted the business under the name of W. M. Whitney & Co. to the present time. He replaced the old building with a new structure, which has a frontage of 127 feet, a depth of 370 feet and a floor area of 90,860 square feet, the whole comprising fifty-six distinct departments, employing from 450 to 600 people. The firm also has a large warehouse and stables on Hudson avenue, a buying office in New York city and an importing branch in Paris. A wholesale trade was also carried on until 1894, but since then the business has been exclusively retail. It is the largest, most complete and best equipped dry goods establishment in this section of the State and its development and success are mainly due to the energy, enterprise and ability of Mr. Whitney, whose two sons, William M., Jr., and Charles S. A., are now active members of the firm.

Wickham, Richard, Jr., was born in Albany. N. Y., on October 7, 1874, and was educated in the public schools of his native town and St. Izeier College, near St. John, B. C. At the age of nineteen he learned his father's trade, that of carpenter and builder, and has ever since continued in that business. He has made a special study of architecture, and at the present time draws all the plans for the buildings that he erects. In 1895, Mr. Wickham, Sr., practically retired from the business, and since that time Richard has successfully carried it on alone. He is a member of Mt. Hermann Lodge No. 38, I. O. O. F., of Albany, and as a business man he commands the respect of all with whom he comes in contact.

Wight, Edward, was born in Belfast, Me., in 1835, and is a son of Samuel Wight, a captain of merchant ships, who died at sea. Mr. Wight was twenty-one years of age when he became a resident of West Troy. He has been one of the leading grocery dealers of West Troy for nearly half a century. His first grocery and market was located on Canal street, and is now at Twenty-third street, dealing in hay, grain and cordage, besides the grocery business, and is very successful.

Wilcox, George W., a prominent resident of Green Island, was born at Troy, November 20, 1854, and is a son of the well known Alanson Wilcox, who was born at Amsterdam, N. Y., in 1814, and has been a resident of this place for over thirty years. He was a carpenter by trade, but is now retired from active business. George Wilcox began life for himself when sixteen years of age by engaging in the news business and after five years went into the grocery business and conducted it for seventeen years, and is at present not engaged in active business life. He maintains a deep interest in the local affairs and ranks high among the prosperous and prominent business men of the town. He has been tax collector and trustee of the village, and ranks high among the Masonic and benevolent and social fraternities.

Wilcox, Rodney, is a personal "landmark" of Cohoes, where he came in 1856, when the village had about 6,000 population. He was born in Victory Mills, N. Y., in 1833, and is a son of John Wilcox of English birth. His early manhood was spent on a farm, but he first engaged in the mercantile business at his native place. On coming here he resumed the business, under the firm name of Stiles & Wilcox, until wiped out by the panic of 1857. He then traveled in the West, returned one year later and began business again under the firm name of Marshall & Wilcox. Since 1867 the establishment has been under his own name, and contains a general line of dry goods, draperies, etc. He is a Republican in politics and is interested in the success of the party. He is an attendant of the M. E. church. In 1872 he married Miss Adeline Coon. They have an adopted daughter, Mary Elizabeth.

Willerton, Edmund Ronslow, son of Thomas and Helen (Metcalf) Willerton, was born in the city of York, England, in 1845 and when an infant came with his parents to America and soon after settled in Albany, N. Y. He received his early education in Albany in schools Nos. 5 and 13. He began his work as a messenger boy for the Western Union Telegraph Company, in Albany, March, 1864, advancing to various positions, including assistant bookkeeper, and when he left in 1870, he was cashier. He then went into the employ of the Albany & Susquehanna Railroad (afterwards the Delaware & Hudson Railroad), in the general passenger department, where he has remained ever since, and is now chief clerk in that department. Mr. Willerton is a member of Ancient City Lodge, No. 452, F. & A. M., and was elected master of the lodge for the years 1895-96. He is a member of Temple Chapter No. 5 R. A. M., and was high priest during 1895-96. He is a member of De Witt Clinton Council No. 23, R. & S. M., and was elected master for 1897; is a member of Temple Commandery, No. 2, K. T., and of Cyrus Temple Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and is also a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason. Mr. Willerton is also a member of St. George's Society, the Albany Club, the Acacia Club, and of the Dutch Reformed church. January 13, 1869, he married Frances Amelia Dole of Albany, and they have three children: Florence M., Edna G. and Fred D.

Williams, C. Franlc, son of Isaac A. and Sarah M. (Carpenter) Williams, was born in Brattleboro, Vt., October 17, 1859, and attended the public schools of Brattleboro, and Worcester, Mass., after which he learned the printer's trade in Brattleboro. In 1878 Mr. Williams removed to Albany, N. Y., where he followed his trade until 1880, when he opened a printing office in S. R. Gray's building in partnership with J. H. Prouty. This partnership lasted for four years, when Mr. Williams organized the C. F. Williams Printing Company, which existed until 1892, when it was completely burned out at No. 36 Beaver street. Immediately after this fire the company was dissolved and Mr. Williams resumed alone at his present location, No. 9-11 Green street. Mr. Williams is a member of Ancient City Lodge No. 453, F. & A. M., Albany Lodge No. 641, K. A. E. O. , Unconditional and Capital City Clubs and Albany Republican League. June 13, 1884, he married Frances E. A. Pangburn of Albany, and they have three children.

Williams, Chauncey P., son of Josiah and Charity (Shaler) Williams, was born in Upper Middletown (now Cromwell), Conn., March 5, 1817. He spent his boyhood days on his father's farm, attending school only in the winters, and showed a decided liking for mathematics and astronomy. At the age of sixteen he went as a clerk in the employ of his brothers, T. S. Williams & Bros., who were engaged in commercial business at Ithaca, N. Y. In 1835 he was transferred to the Albany house of the firm, then under the direction of Josiah B. Williams. In 1839, with Henry W. Sage as his partner, he succeeded to the business of the Albany house, also conducting the business at Ithaca and elsewhere. This partnership continued through a long term of years. Mr. Williams was a student along lines of finance and practical economics and wrote much on our banking systems and coinage. In 1861, at the commencement of the Civil war, he was asked to take charge of the Albany Exchange Bank, and he met with such success that when the bank closed its corporate existence as a State institution to become a National bank in 1865, the entire capital was returned to the shareholders with fifty-four per cent, of the surplus earnings. During the Civil war his bank was made the agent of the Treasury in distributing the loans of the government to the people. He continued as the financial officer of the National Albany Exchange Bank, first as cashier and later as president, during its entire corporate existence of twenty years, from 1865 to 1885. When the bank closed after having declared regular semi-annual dividends, its whole capital, with ninety-seven per cent, of surplus earnings was restored to its shareholders. In 1885 the bank was reorganized as the National Exchange Bank of Albany and Mr. Williams was elected its president. In 1887 he withdrew from the bank and up to the time of his death had charge of the business of the Albany Exchange Savings Bank. Mr. Williams was elected alderman of his ward in 1849. The winter of 1875-76 he spent in England, France and Italy, studying the banking system of those countries. From 1842 to 1857 he was the repeated candidate of the old Liberal party for Congress from the Albany district. In 1868 he published a "Review of the Financial Situation of Our Country." In 1875 he read a paper before the Albany Institute on "Money, True or False," and in 1886 another paper on "Gold, Silver and the Coinage of the Silver Dollar." In 1878 he contributed to the Albany Journal a series of papers on "The Greenback Question." October 13, 1887, he delivered before the American Bankers' Association at Pittsburgh, Pa., an address on the National Bank and State Taxation. In 1842 he married Martha A. Hough of Whitestown, N. Y., and they had two sons: Frederick S., who died September 9, 1870, and Chauncey P., Jr., who married Emma McClure, daughter of the late Archibald McClure of Albany, and three daughters, one of whom died in March, 1877, one the wife of Robert C. Pruyn, president of the National Commercial Bank, the other the wife of Timothy S. Williams, formerly private secretary to ex-Governor Flower. Mr. C. P. Williams died May 30, 1894, while on a pleasure excursion in the North Woods.

Williams, David, was born in Troy and removed to Cohoes at a very early age. He was a blacksmith by trade and conducted a blacksmith shop from 1872 until 1874. He then sold out and went into the bat and shoddy business with Edward Walker, the firm name being Walker & Williams Mfg. Co. He was appointed fire commissioner in 1893 and served until June, 1896. He is a member of Cohoes Lodge No. 116, F. & A. M., Cohoes Chapter No. 168, R. A. M., and resides at 108 Mohawk street.

Williams, E. P., was born in Pierrepont Manor, Jefferson county, N. Y., June 3, 1860. He attended the village school and later learned telegraphy. In 1880 he moved to Minneapolis, Minn., and for three years was a telegraph operator in the employ of the Minneapolis & St. Louis Railroad; he then moved to Albany, N. Y., where he started in his present business, that of produce commission merchant. Mr. Williams is a thirty-second degree Mason, a member of the Acacia Club and president of the Capital City Cold Storage Warehouse Company. He is also a director of the United States Building, Mutual Loan and Accumulating Fund Association. In 1886 he married Ida G. Buchland of Whitehall, N. Y.

Williams, Elam, was born in the town of Knox, March 12, 1844. Prentice Williams, his grandfather, was a native of Connecticut, settled in Knox when a young man cleared himself a farm in the forest, where he became prosperous. His children were Lucy, Mary, Eliza, Eunice, Prentice, Jr., and Dennison. He and his wife were members of the Methodist church, in which he was an active worker. He died in 1850, and his wife died some years before. Hon. Prentice Williams, Jr., the father of Elam, was born in the town of Knox on the homestead in 1794. In early life he followed farming, but later learned the cabinetmaker's trade, which he followed in connection with undertaking for a number of years in the village of Knox. He subsequently engaged in mercantile business in Albany, remained there but a short time and returned to Knox and resumed his old business of furniture and undertaking. He was prominently identified with the Democratic party and his influence was extensive; he had the honor of serving his district in the State Legislature one term, and was postmaster many years. He was twice married; his first wife, Harriet Jane Clark, died a year after their marriage; his second wife was Mrs. Jane (Knight) Armstrong, widow of Patten Armstrong, and they had one child, Elam. Mr. and Mrs. Williams were members of the Methodist church, in which he took a leading part. He died in 1864 and his wife September, 1882. Elam Williams received his education in the Knox Academy and when twenty years old began teaching which he followed for a number of years. Early in life he manifested a keen and active interest in the political affairs of his town and county, and while yet a young man was elected to the office of justice of the peace on the Democratic ticket. He filled the office with such credit that he was elected and re-elected for nineteen successive years; the years of 1882-83 he was justice of sessions and in 1870 was appointed State census enumerator for his district. He has filled the office of postmaster of Knox during both of President Cleveland's administrations. In 1886 he engaged in the general mercantile business in the village of Knox and with careful and strict attention to business, he has met with merited success. In the spring of 1896 he purchased a farm of 112 acres near the village, of which he has taken personal management, being assisted in the store by his son, Stanley. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Berne Lodge, No. 684. In 1871 he married Catherine, daughter of Sylvester and Sarah (Bunzy) Allen of Knox, and they have five children, Effie, Stanley, Jennie, Marx and Emma.

Williams, George A., M. D., was born in the town of Columbia, Conn., March 13, 1851. His parents were George and Jerusha (Cohn) Williams, and both were the youngest of seven children, respectively. Dr. Williams is descended from a long line of ancestors, among whom was Roger Williams. Dr. Williams spent many years in preparation for his profession and studied at Yale University, New Haven, and Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons. He also received instruction under Dr. Kingsley, the founder of the New York Dental College, and he has two dental diplomas, one from the New York Dental College, conferring upon him the decree of D. D. S., and the other of Master of Dental Surgery, from the New York State Censors. In 1890 Dr. Williams was graduated from the Albany Medical College, receiving the degree of M. D., and since then he has practiced in Albany. He is a thirty-second degree Mason and has all of both the York and Scottish Rite degrees. He is also a member of the A. A. O. N. M. S. and is a member of all the Odd Fellow orders, having passed all the chairs. For two years he was instructor on the heart and lungs at the Albany Medical College and also instructor in materia medica in that institution. Dr. Williams is also a member of the Phi Sigma Kappa Society and the Albany County Medical Society.

Willis, Mrs. Alexander, was the widow of A. E. Willis, who died in 1895. Mrs. Willis was the sister of Fletcher Blaisdell and Dr. Wesley Blaisdell, and a daughter of Levi Blaisdell who died in 1833; he was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and afterwards came and settled in Coeymans; he was a ship builder, and had two sons and one daughter: Dr. Wesley Blaisdell, and Fletcher Blaisdell, the daughter being Mrs. Willis, who was married in 1841 and had the following children: David B., of New York; Alexander B., who died in 1890; Henrietta and Henry, who died in infancy; Charles, who died in 1891; Wilbor, who is a bachelor of Castleton; Sarell, who is a bachelor and lived with Mrs. Willis, and two daughters, Harriet and Minnie. Mr. Willis was a merchant and speculator of Coeymans. Mrs. Willis died November 27, 1896.

Wilson, Oren E., born in Boston, Mass., October 10, 1844, is the descendant of a sturdy line of New England ancestry, both his father and grandfather being natives of Kittery, Maine. James Wilson, of Pennsylvania, a signer of the Declaration of Independence, was one of the original members of this branch of the Wilson family in America. Mr. Wilson was educated at the district school at Portsmouth, and later on his removal to New York with his father, in 1852, became a pupil in, and was graduated from one of the public schools at the age of fourteen. He attended for one year the Clinton Liberal Institute, at Fort Plain, N. Y., after which he entered Mount Washington Collegiate Institute, where he pursued a course of Latin and Greek and where he was graduated in 1861. In 1862 he entered Columbia College, where he spent one year, and in the fall of 1863 entered Columbia Law School, and would have graduated in 1865 had not an incident occurred which changed the whole tenor of his plans. While a student there he became acquainted with W. H. Whitney, senior member of the firm of Whitney & Myers, who prevailed upon him to become his confidential clerk. When the partnership of Whitney & Myers was dissolved in the spring of 1870, Mr. Wilson removed with Mr. Whitney to Albany, where a new firm was established under the name of W. H. Whitney & Co., with which Mr. Wilson has since been connected, holding the position of financial and confidential manager. In 1884, on the day of his retirement from the presidency of the Young Men's Association after a most successful administration, he was nominated and elected by the Republicans a member of the Board of Public Instruction. In the spring of 1894 he was nominated for mayor of the city of Albany by the Republicans and Honest Election parties and was elected. He served efficiently until the expiration of his term, January 1, 1896. In 1890 Mr. Wilson was elected life trustee of the Young Men's Association, to succeed the late Henry R. Pierson. He was superintendent of the Sunday school of the State Street Universalist church from 1870 to 1879, and is now a trustee of All Souls Universalist parish, and was instrumental in erecting, in 1888, a new edifice for the latter church. In 1867 he married M. Emma, daughter of the Rev. Dr. E. G. Brooks, a prominent member of the Universalist denomination. Mrs. Wilson died in December, 1893. Mr. Wilson has one daughter living.

Wiltse, James Wesley, M. D., son of James and Elizabeth (Maginnis) Wiltse, was born in Delaware county, N. Y., November 10, 1864. The Wiltse family has been in America for several generations. The first, three brothers, came from Holland and settled in Columbia county; later one moved to New York and another to Delaware county. Dr. Wiltse's paternal grandfather was a soldier in the Revolution. Dr. Wiltse received his preliminary education in the public schools of Greene and Delaware counties. In 1891 he was graduated from the Albany Medical College, receiving the degree of M. D., and immediately began practice at No. 1203 Broadway. In May, 1896, he moved to No. 135 North Pearl street, formerly occupied by Dr. Samuel B. Ward. He was fourth district physician from 1891 to 1896. Dr. Wiltse is a member of the Albany County Medical Society and Temple Lodge, F. & A. M. In 1893 he was married to Lizzie Bailie of Albany, and they have one son, Stanley Bailie.

Wing, Albert J., was born in Albany, N. Y., September 18, 1859. He was graduated from Cornell University in 1880, and subsequently entered business life as a member of the firm of Albert Wing, Sons & Co., wholesale grocers. He was for several years actively connected with the N. G. S. N.Y., being a captain in the 10th Battalion, when he received his honorable discharge in 1889. He is a member of the Fort Orange Club, of which he has been a trustee, and is a trustee of the Albany City Homeopathic Hospital. Albert Wing, his father, born in Dutchess county in 1815, came to Albany about 1836 and in 1841 founded on Quay street the present wholesale grocery business of Wing Brothers & Hartt. His first partner was William Cook, the firm being Cook & Wing. They were followed successively by Cook, Wing & Wooster, Cook & Wing again and Wing & Wooster. On Mr. Wooster's death in 1871, Mr. Wing became sole owner. In 1873 his son, James C., was admitted under the firm name of Albert Wing & Son, which in 1876 became Albert Wing, Son & Co., and in 1881 Albert Wing, Sons & Co., by admitting Albert J. into the firm. Mr. Wing died in May, 1887, and the present firm name of Wing Brothers & Hartt was adopted. Albert Wing was a director in the First National Bank and one of the leading business men of Albany. He mar- ried Maria Carle of Charleston, Montgomery county, N. Y., who died November 16, 1895. They had three children: Kate A., James C. (who died in March, 1893) and Albert J.

Winne, Barent S., son of Barent S. and Ann A. (Staats) Winne, was born in Cedar Hill, July 20, 1858. The Winne family are of Dutch descent and date their ancestry back in Albany county to 1684, the line of descent being Barent S., son of Barent S., son of Peter W., son of William, son of Daniel, son of Peter, son of Daniel, son of Peter. Mr. Winne is the seventh generation living on the homestead settled by Daniel Winne in 1715. Mr. Winne is now engaged in the extensive freighting commission and coal business established by his father in 1860.

Winne, Charles Visscher, is descended from Pieter Winne, born in Ghent, Flanders, and Tannatje Adams, his wife, born in Leeuwaerden, Vrieslandt, who came to America and settled in what is now Bethlehem, Albany county, July 6, 1684. The line of descent is (1) Pieter Winne; (2) Livinus, 1647-1706, of Albany, married first Teuntje Martense and second Mrs. Williamje Viele Schermerhorn; (3) Benjamin (by second wife), 1705-1797, married Rachel Van Arnam; (4) Livinus, 1745-1825, mar- ried Marytje Lansing; (5) Livinus Lansing, 1783-1816, married Ann Visscher, attorney, graduated from Union College in 1804, captain U. S. Army 1812, and served in that war; and (6) Nanning Visscher, 1807-1858, a physician, graduated from Union College in 1824 and from Yale in 1826, commissioned surgeon with rank of lieutenant-colonel on Maj.-Gen. Stephen Van Rensselaer's staff, and married Rachel, daughter of Garrett Van Zandt Bleecker. All these spent their active careers in Albany. Charles V. Winne, son of Dr. N. V., was born January 27, 1848, was edu- cated at the Albany Boys' Academy and in 1871 entered the employ of the D. & H. C. Co., where he has since remained. He was first attached to the engineering corps and since 1873 has been in the paymaster's office, becoming paymaster in June, 1891. He is a member of Temple Lodge No. 14, F. & A. M., Temple Chapter No. 5, R. A. M., the Fort Orange Club, the Old Guard Albany Zouave Cadets, and the Ridgefield Athletic and Albany Camera Clubs; has been president of the Young Men's Association since 1894; was commodore of the American Canoe Association in 1892; was for six years captain of the Mohican Canoe Club; and is secretary of the Albany Country Club; a trustee and treasurer of the Albany City Homoeopathic Hospital, member of the Holland Society of New York and recorder of the Board of Governors of the American Canoe Association, in which he is very prominent.

Winne, John E., son of Matthew and Gertrude (Witbeck) Winne, was born in the town of Niskayuna, Schenectady county, N. Y., July 30, 1850. John E. Winne is a lineal descendant of Jan Thomase Van Witbeck, a native of Witbeck, Holstein, Holland, who married Andriese Dochter, who was born in New Amsterdam (now New York). From 1653, when Beverwyck was first laid out, Jan Thomase Van Witbeck was the most considerable dealer in house lots in the village. In 1664, in company with Volkert Janse Douw, he purchased from the Indians the whole of Apje Islands, or Schotack, and the mainland opposite on the east side of the Hudson River. Of his six children, Thomase Janse Witbeck married, September 5, 1702, Jannetje Van Deusen, and was buried at Papsknee. Thomas Janse Witbeck also had six children, of whom Lucas, the youngest, was born February 26, 1724, and married Geertruy, daughter of Johannes Lansing and his wife Geertruy, daughter of Pieter S. Schuyler, the first mayor of Albany. They too had six children, of whom Thomas and Gerrit (twins) were born March 18, 1750. Gerrit Witbeck married, May 29, 1774, Immeteje Perry, and had four children, of whom Thomas Gerrit Witbeck, born January 25, 1785, married December 11, 1803, Leah, youngest daughter of Francis and Gertrude (Van Dusen) Marshall, who was born March 17, 1782. Of their six children, Gertrude was born April 17, 1811; she was married to Mathew Winne on May 1, 1841. They had four children: Charles W., Thomas W., John Eldert and Mary J. John E. Winne attended the classical department of the Union School at Schenectady and graduated from the Albany Business College in 1860. He thereupon entered the hardware store of B. L. Conde at Schenectady, where he held a clerkship for one year, leaving to accept a more responsible position in the iron establishment of Hannibal Green & Son, at Troy, N. Y., where he remained six years. In 1874, in connection with A. T. Burdick and Phineas Jones & Co., Mr. Winne formed the firm of Winne, Burdick & Co., for carrying on the saddlery hardware business at Troy, N. Y. In 1883 this firm became that of Winne & Drake, and in 1889 Mr. Winne sold his interest to Charles F. Drake and moved to Albany, where he conducted the business of the Albany Saddlery Company, manufacturers of harness. In 1895 Mr. Winne was appointed to a position in the Department of the Superintendent of Public Works at Albany, where he is now employed. He is an active member of the Madison Avenue Reformed church of Albany, and has served as an officer and superintendent of the Sabbath School. In 1874 he married Henrietta L. Filkins of Albany, and they have one daughter, Gertrude.

Winne, Lansing B., M. D., was born in Albany, N. Y., October 2, 1856, a son of Charles Henry and Mary D. (Passenger) Winne. The following are the names of his ancestors in this country; Benjamin, born in Holland, December 19, 1705, married Rachel Van Arnam December 14, 1728, and died in Albany, N. Y., January 8, 1797; Levinus, born June 8, 1745, married Maria Lansing May 10, 1768, and died December 6, 1825; Jacob L., born January 12, 1788, married Julia Ann Fry, August 11, 1813, and died May 7, 1860; and Charles Henry, his father, born April 26, 1833. Dr. Winne was graduated from the Albany Free Academy in 1874, and from the medical department of Columbia College, New York, in 1878, receiving the degree of M. D. After graduation he was an interne at the Demilt Dispensary in New York; he returned to Albany in 1880 and associated himself with Dr. H. R. Haskins, with whom he remained two years, after which he began his practice in Albany. In 1885 he was appointed coroner's physician and held the office of city physician from May 20, 1894, to January 20, 1897. Dr. Winne is clinical instructor in the Albany Medical College, a member of the dispensary staff of the Albany City Hospital and physician at the Albany City Mission Dispensary. He is vice-president of the Albany County Medical Society and was its secretary in 1895; he is also a member of Temple Lodge F. & A. M., Temple Chapter R. A. M., Temple Commandery, A A. O. N. M. S., and the Unconditional Republican Club; he has also been vestryman in Holy Innocents church for several years, civil service examiner New York State for health officers, medical examiner Northwestern Life Insurance Company.

Wirth, Jacob, Jr., son of Jacob and Mary Wirth, was born in Albany, N. Y., February 2, 1869. He was educated in the public schools and at the Albany Business College. Subsequently he learned the tailor's trade with his father, who for many years was in business in Albany. Jacob Wirth, Jr., was in the employ of William Illch, as a cutter from 1886 to 1891, when he went to Europe with the Knight Templars. Upon his return he commenced business at No. 41 Beaver street, where he is now located. He is a member of Guttenberg Lodge No. 737, F. & A. M., Temple Chapter No. 5, R. A. M., De Witt Clinton Council No. 23, R. & S. M., Temple Commandery No. 2, K. T., Cyprus Temple A. A. O. N. M. S., and the Acacia and Unconditioual Clubs. He is at present representing the First ward in the Board of Aldermen. In June, 1894, he married Katharine Deiseroth.

Wiswall. Among the old families of the town of Colonie, few have been longer or more favorably known, or more associated with the business and social life of the locality than Ebenezer Wiswall, Sr., and his sons Ebenezer Wiswall, Jr., and John Parker Wiswall. Of puritan stock Ebenezer Wiswall, Sr., came from Boston about 1810 and became a member of the Farm Companies of South Troy, West Troy, and Cohoes; his connection with which for nearly fifty years gave him the wide acquaintance with the business men of his time which his descendants still enjoy. John Parker Wiswall, who died in 1875, the father of Edward H. Wiswall of the present time, married Sarah Mark, a member of another old English family in Watervliet. His widow is still living with a married daughter at the old homestead.

Wiswall, Charles E., was born in West Troy, N. Y., December 13, 1884, and has always lived here, except when his business affairs necessitate his extended absence. He is engaged in steam dredging, and is now operating in the Hudson toward Albany. Elsewhere in the work may be found details, not only concerning his ancestors on the Wiswall side, but also of his mother's family, that of Edward Learned Hoth were very early identified with West Troy and its growth and settlement, and perhaps of equal prominence in the early annals of the locality.

Wiswall, Eben S. This is one of the oldest families in the vicinity. Mr. Wiswall's paternal grandfather came from Newton, Mass., about the first of the present century, and settled in Troy, engaging in general store business; in this connection it is remembered he put in the first soda fountain known here. He afterward owned a share of the ferry to West Troy, at a period when the boats were operated by horse power, subsequently purchasing an interest in the other two ferries. The lower ferries were at that time propelled by means of long poles. Mr. Wiswall was born in the house which he now occupies, August 19, 1846. The old mansion occupies a commanding eminence overlooking Troy, and is called "Hillside." It was also the home of his father, Ebenezer Wiswall, who was born at Newtown, Mass., in 1818. Most of the land surrounding the old home and comprising the original Wiswall farm lies within the present corporate limits of West Troy. Mr. Wiswall was liberally educated at various Massachusetts institutions, and subsequently engaged in farming. In 1885 he took up the manufacture of brick on a large scale, and now employs thirty men in that industry.

Witbeck, Andrew H., was born in 1824, and is the son of John W. Witbeck and grandson of Walter Witbeck, who was one of the early settlers in the northern part of Coeymans, in Manhattan Hook. John W. Witbeck was born April 10, 1773, at Manhattan Hook, a little valley in the northern part of Coeymans, about four miles from where Andrew H. now lives. On the 20th of May, 1795, in company with his father (grandfather of Andrew H.) he purchased the farm, now the homestead of his son, Andrew H. The latter lives on the farm where he was born, and where his father settled, when married, and lived until his death in 1853. He left five sons: Walter, John, Jasper, Peter and Andrew H., as above, who married Lidia E., daughter of Frederick and granddaughter of John E. Powell. They have one son, John W., and three daughters, Hannah E., (Mrs. Clifton Bedell) Sarah E. and Jennie, (Mrs. A. C. Koonz.)

Witbeck, C. E., M. D., is of Dutch ancestry, the family name being originally Van Witbeck. The first American ancestor, John Thomas Witbeck, settled at New Amsterdam, now New York. Mr. Witbeck is the son of Abram Witbeck, formerly superintendent in the painting department in the Watervliet Arsenal, and was born at West Troy in 1844, and began his medical study at the Albany Medical College, receiving his diploma in 1866. He located in Cohoes in 1867 where he still practices his profession. He is a member of the Albany county and of the New York State Medical Societies, and American Medical Association, and was president of the Cohoes Medical Association, and was vice-president of the Albany County Medical Society. He has served eight terms as health officer in Cohoes, been police surgeon, and also city physician.

Witbeck, Charles G., is a lineal descendant of Jan Thomase Van Witbeck, a native of Witbeck, Holstein, Holland, who married Andriese Dochter, who was born in New Amsterdam (now New York). From 1652, when Beverwyck was first laid out, Jan Thomase Van Witbeck was the most considerable dealer in house lots in the village. In 1664, in company with Volkert Janse Douw, he purchased from the Indians the whole of Apje Island, or Schotack, and the mainland opposite on the east side of the Hudson River. Of his six children Thomase Janse Witbeck married, September 5, 1702, Jannetje Van Deusen, and was buried at Papsknee. Thomase Janse Witbeck also had six children, of whom Lucas, the youngest, was born February 26, 1724, and married Geertruy, daughter of Johannes Lansing and his wife Geertruy, daughter of Pieter S. Schuyler, the first mayor of Albany. They too had six children, of whom Thomas and Gerrit (twins) were born March 18, 1750. Gerrit Witbeck married, May 29, 1774, Immetje Perry, and had four children, of whom Thomas Gerrit Witbeck, born January 25, 1785, married, December 11, 1803, Leah, youngest daughter of Francis and Gertrude (Van Dusen) Marshall, who was born March 17, 1782. Of their six children, Gerrit Thomas Witbeck, the eldest, was born January 25, 1805, and died in September, 1882. He was a civil engineer and surveyor for the Van Rensselaer estate, for seven years deputy collector of canal tolls at West Troy and Albany and for about four years teller of the old Watervliet Bank at West Troy. When young he taught school, and in 1851-53 served as superintendent of schools of Watervliet. He married Cornelia Ann, daughter of Ephraim and Fanny (Sage) Baldwin, and they had six children, all of whom are deceased except Charles G. Gerrit Witbeck, son of Lucas and grandfather of Gerrit T., purchased 500 acres of land just west of the city of Watervliet, and here Talleyrand and Prince La Toure sought refuge from political troubles during the French Revolution. Soon after the American Revolution he bought a farm on the banks of the Mohawk River, near Watervliet Center, on which the Indians had their last council fire and which is still owned by the Witbeck family. Charles G. Witbeck was born October 20, 1851, received a common school education, studied civil engineering and surveying with his father, and for several years followed his profession for the town of Watervliet and the Van Rensselaer estate. In 1879 he was appointed assistant engineer of the New York State Canals under Horatio Seymour, Jr., and continued under State Engineers Sweet, Bogart and Schenck, until August, 1894. January 1, 1895, he formed his present partnership under the firm name of Thomas & Witbeck and opened an office in Troy. He was village engineer of West Troy from 1880 to 1886 and 1895 to 1896, and became city engineer of Watervliet on the organization of that city, August 1, 1896. He is a member of Evening Star Lodge No. 75, F. & A. M., of West Troy. January 16, 1873, he married Ella Louisa Hastings of Cohoes, and their children are Gerrit, Ephraim and Nellie.

Wolfe, Andrew J., was born in Coeymans in 1841. He is the son of Anthony and the grandson of John T., who came from Greene county with his father, Tennis, to Coeymans about 1790. Mr. Wolfe has been actively engaged, most of his life, on Hudson River, being both owner and captain of steamers until 1885, when he retired. Mr. Wolfe's mother was Henrietta, daughter of James Selkirk, one of the prominent early families of Albany and Bethlehem. Mr. Wolfe has two sons: Calvin, who is a mechanical engineer, and Walter S., who is a graduate of River View Military College, and also the Albany Business College.

Wolff, John, son of John A. and J. J. (Mayen) Wolff, was born in Arnhem, Holland, July 22, 1836. He received his education in the public schools, and Almkerk University from which he graduated in 1855. Immediately after his graduation he was appointed assistant teacher of the Holland and French languages and filled that chair until 1857, when he came with his parents to America and settled in Albany, N. Y. Mr. Wolff obtained the position of shipping clerk with Wheeler & Melick and held that place until 1888, when he associated himself with the Wheeler & Melick Manufacturing Company. While shipping clerk, Mr. Wolff was abroad seven times in the capacity of salesman. The firm went out of existence in 1890, and Mr. Wolff assumed control of the business and continued in that capacity until January, 1896; since then he has been engaged in a general repair and commission business. In 1863 he married Miss D. G. Fortanier of Rotterdam, Holland, and they have one son and four daughters.

Wood, Levi, was born in New Scotland in 1842. Gideon Wood, his grandfather, was a native of Cape Cod, Mass., born in 1778, a wheelwright by trade, and a manufacturer of spinning-wheels. He came to the town of Westerlo, Albany county, about 1806, and devoted his time to farming and the manufacture of spinning wheels. His wife was Jerusha Atkins, by whom he had four children: Uriah, Arnold, Anna and Elizabeth. He died in 1861, aged eighty-three years. Arnold Wood, the father, was born in the town of Westerlo in 1806. He devoted his early life to teaching and later followed farming; he removed to the town of New Scotland in 1836, where he became fairly well-to-do. His wife was Mary Spencer, born in Rhode Island in 1806, and a daughter of Anthony, and a cousin of Senator Anthony Spencer. Their children were William, Levi, Amelia, Charles and Ann Eliza; the latter died when three years old. Arnold Wood died in 1891, and his wife resides in New Scotland on the homestead with her son Charles. Levi Wood received a very fair education, attending the common schools and the Albany Normal. He remained on the farm until he was twenty-one. His first enterprise was the grocery business, which he established on the corner of Bear and William streets, Albany, in partnership with Mr. Underhill, under the firm name of Underhill & Wood. Here he remained for seven years; the four following years were spent in Connecticut, engaged in the manufacture of paper, when he returned to Albany and again engaged in the grocery business at the same location, but this time for himself. He remained here for eight years when he again embarked in the paper manufacturing business in New Baltimore, Greene county, N.Y. In 1892 he came to the village of Voorheesville and engaged in the mercantile business, which he conducts at the present time. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Temple Lodge No. 14 of Albany, and of the Odd Fellows, Voorheesville Lodge. In 1863 he married Harriet A. Martin, born in New Scotland, and a daughter of William and Mary A. (Moak) Martin, and their children are Mary Ella, wife of Dr. W. F. Shaw of Voorheesville, and Frank W., with the National Express.

Woodward, Major James Otis, was born in the city of Albany, N. Y., October 1, 1863. He is a son of Royal Woodward, of the well-known medical family of Mansfield, Conn., and is a descendant of some of the foremost Americans whose names adorn the pages of the history of this country. Cotton Mather, Miles Standish, Colonel Knowlton, a member of George Washington's staff, and James Otis, a signer of the Declaration of Independence, are among those alluded to. He attended the academies at Albany, N. Y., and East Hampton, Mass., and was in the class of 1882 at Hamilton College, from which institution he received the degree of M. A. Although educated for journalism, his chosen profession, he studied law in the office of the late Judge Samuel Hand, but later went upon the staff of the Troy (N. Y.) Daily Times. Subsequently he became business manager of the Troy News. Major Woodward also acted as correspondent for the New York Mail and Express and other Metropolitan papers and became widely associated in newspaper work. Leaving the work of the press. Major Woodward turned his attention to the cotton business in the South, in which he is now somewhat engaged. Recently he became interested in theatrical matters and is associated with a number of metropolitan attractions. He is also interested in a number of theaters. He has always taken an active part in politics. In 1885 he was elected alderman from the old Fifth ward by the narrow majority of five, overcoming an adverse Democratic majority of several hundred, and being the first Republican to carry that Democratic stronghold. Twice he was tendered the nomination for mayor of Albany, but declined both times. He was secretary of the Special State Prison Commission appointed by Governor Hill. In fraternal organizations he is very auspicious; he was at the head of the Odd Fellows of the State and was grand commandant of Patriarchs Militant, I. O. O. F., division of the Atlantic, for four years. He is not only prominent in Odd Fellowship, but holds distinguished honors among the Masons and Knights of Pythias. He was president of the Chi Psi Alumni Association of New York State two years; is a life member of the American Numismatic and Archaeological Society; a member of Mecca Shrine of New York; the Elks; Thirteen Club of New York, and the Fort Orange Club of Albany. In military circles Major Woodward is very prominent; he was for five years commander of the Albany Burgesses Corps, the oldest military organization in the State, and was in command of the corps upon the occasion of its celebrated trip to New Orleans and the Mardi Gras in 1895. He is also an active member of the Old Guard of New York. He attained the rank of major in the N.G.S.N.Y. He served on the stafts of Colonel Brooks, General Oliver and General Carr. Major Woodward also attained the rank of general in the militant branch of Odd Fellows. He was a member of the Bicentennial Committee of the city of Albany and was grand marshal of the great Bi-Centennial parade, one of the largest ever held in the city, and of the great Odd Fellows' parade upon the occasion of the laying of the corner stone of the New Temple at Albany. He represented New York State upon the staff of General Schofield upon the occasion of the great centennial parade at New York. Canton Woodward of Newburgh was named in his honor.

Woodward, Walter M., son of John and Caroline A. (Mills) Woodward, was born in Albany, N. Y., June 25, 1860. The first member of this family who settled in Albany, was John Woodward, the grandfather of the subject of this sketch, who came from Montreal about 1838, and engaged in the carpentry business. His son, John, became prominent in the business circles of Albany because of his connection with the saddlery and harness business of Woodward & Hill. This business was founded by Nathaniel Wright in 1819 and consequently is the third oldest established business in the city. In 1860 John Woodward together with Mr. W. W. Hill bought the business from Mr. Wright and carried it on under the firm name of Woodward & Hill. Walter M. Woodward, the subject of this sketch, received his education at the Albany Boys' Academy, from which he was graduated in 1879 and immediately went into business with his father. In 1888 Mr. Hill died and John and Walter M. Woodward succeeded to the ownership of the business. In 1895, after his father's death, Walter M. Woodward succeeded to the business and now conducts it under the original name of Woodward & Hill. Mr. Woodward is a member of Masters Lodge F. & A. M. and a trustee of the National Savings Bank. In 1891 he married May, daughter of Alonzo Blossom of Chicago, Ill. They have two sons, John B. and Walter M., Jr.

Woolverton, Andrew W., son of Charles B. and Harriet F. (White) Woolverton, was born in Albany, N. Y., October 29, 1857. He was educated in the Albany Academy and in 1872 entered the employ of his grandfather, William White. In 1876 he went into the employ of the National Commercial Bank and left there as bookkeeper in 1883 and formed a partnership with Thomas Austin for conducting a general fire insurance agency, in which business he is now engaged. Mr. Woolverton is a trustee of St. Margaret's church at Menands, Albany county, and is the treasurer of the Albany Board of Trade. In 1884 he was married to Annie, daughter of Dr. William H. Bailey, and they have two children, Edward B. and Harriette.

Wormer, Eliakim F., was born in the town of Guilderland, November 15, 1847. Peter and Mooney (Brougham) Wormer, his great-grandparents, were natives of Holland, and migrated to America and settled on Black Creek, in the town of Guilderland. He lived to an old age and his wife, Mooney, lived to the age of 104 years, and retained remarkable physical and mental strength to the last. Cornelius, the next in line, was born in Guilderland about 1778, and became an active and successful farmer. He was prominent and influential in public affairs, and gave each of his sons a good start in life by placing them on farms of their own. His wife was Sarah Relyea; he lived to be nearly ninety-two and his wife lived to be ninety-five. They reared five sons and two daughters. Frederick, the father of Eliakim, was born in Guilderland in October, 1814. He has spent all his active life successfully as a farmer in his native town. For a number of years he lived in Guilderland Center, where he owns property. He passes his time by attending to his garden and small fruit growing. He and his wife are well preserved and spry old people and enioying the comforts of Hfe. His wife was Marie Blessing, who was born in the town of Guilderland, June 5, 1816. Their children are Eliakim F., Francis, Rufus, Daniel, Frederick, William, David, Sarah and Hannah. Eliakim spent his early life on his father's farm, and attended the common district schools. When about twenty-one he engaged in business for himself as a dealer in apples, potatoes and other farm produce which he followed a few years with fair success; he then engaged in farming, which vocation he has followed successfully to the present date. He is the most extensive apple grower in this section of the country. For some years past he has been a breeder of registered Holstein cattle and Shropshire sheep, he is also the owner of a fine thoroughbred French coach stallion. He was road commissioner of Guilderland for a number of years. In 1872 he married Eliza, daughter of James and Marie (Hallenbeck) Fryer; she was born in the town of Guilderland in 1851.

Wright, Charles W., was born in the town of Berne, January 21, 1844. Samuel Wright, his great-grandfather, was the first of the family to settle in Berne; he was born in 1758 and died January 9, 1831. Richard Wright, the grandfather, was born in Berne, January 28, 1793, where he was a lifelong farmer. His wife was Lydia Vincent. Joshua B., the father of Charles Wright, was born March 28, 1816, where he also was a farmer, coming into possession of his father's homestead of 100 acres. He filled the office for some years of commissioner of highways, etc. His wife, Lucretia Wright, was born in Berne in 1820, and was a daughter of James Wright. Their children were Wesley, Charles W. and Richard (who died when five years of age). Joshua R. died in 1878 and his wife in 1894. Charles W. Wright grew to manhood on his father's farm and attended the common schools of his district and a term at the Knox Academy, and made such progress in his studies that before he was seventeen years of age he was himself a teacher of a school, which he followed winters until August 25, 1864, when he enlisted in Co. L, 3d N. Y. Cavalry, and served until the close of the war. He was in several skirmishes and raids in Virginia and North Carolina, and the winter of 1864-65 he was detailed as orderly at the provost marshal's quarters. Soon after his return home he purchased a farm and followed farming summers and teaching winters, until he had taught in all twenty-two terms. During those years he dealt to a considerable extent in clover seed and since then his farming has occupied most of his attention, his farm consisting of seventy acres. Mr. Wright has from time to time filled the office of inspector of elections, tax collector two terms, town auditor, and is now filling the office of deputy sheriff. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Berne Lodge, the Grand Army of the Republic, Post Charles McCullough No. 645 of West Berne, of which he was one of the charter members and of which he is senior vice-commander; he has also filled the office of adjutant and junior vice. In 1865 he married Elmira Powell, a native of Greene county, N. Y., and daughter of Peter H. and Lucinda (Crandall) Powell. They have one child, Helen, who married Melville C. Crocker, and has two children: Minnie and Stanley.

Wright, Fred, was born in the town of Berne, January 26, 1861. John S., the great-grandfather, was a resident of the town of Berne, and was a farmer by occu- pation and also burned charcoal in large quantities. He reared a large family and died in 1850 at the age of seventy years. Silas, the grandfather, was a resident of Clarksville, was born in the town of Berne in 1812, and spent many years of his life as a miller in different places. He served the town of Berne as supervisor and held other offices for several terms. Since 1856 he has resided in Clarksville, where he conducted a mill for many years and later engaged in the mercantile business, which he continued until he retired from active business life. He was postmaster for sixteen years and was also justice of the peace. He is alive and enjoys good health. Jacob M., the father, was born in Berne in 1836, and spent his early life on the farm and attended the common schools. His first enterprise was that of a hotel- keeper in his native town, and during the late war was employed by the Remington Firearms Company in their factory at Ilion; later he was janitor at the Normal School in Albany, where he remained for five years, and then conducted a livery for some time. In 1878 he removed to Clarksville and erected buildings and put in a baking furnace and has been interested in the baking business since. He served as tax collector while in the town of Berne. His wife is Celinda E., born in Berne and a daughter of John and Charity Bell. To them were born three children: Silas J., deceased; Fred, and Charles J., deceased. Fred spent his early life on his father's farm and attended the common schools and the Albany public schools. He delivered bread for his father until he was twenty-one years of age, when he engaged in the cigar business as jobber, doing his own selling. In 1884 he returned to Clarksville, where he has ever since been engaged in the bakery business. He has also been interested in various enterprises, and officiated as town clerk in 1886. He is a member of the Knights of Pythias, of the National Union of Albany, and Schuyler Council No. 705. In 1886 he married Emma, daughter of Martin S. Van Derzee, and have one child, Maud.

Wrightson, George W., was born in England and came to America when four years of age, and settled in Utica and in 1859 engaged with the N. Y. C. & H. R. R. R. Co. as fireman, and acted as such on the engine that took President Lincoln to the White House, also taking his body west when killed. From fireman he was promoted to engineer, and ran the first passenger engine from Ravena on the West Shore R. R., and settled there. He also ran an engine on the Mohawk division. He married Miss Rachel Lang of Utica, and built a fine residence at Ravana, where he reared a family of three daughters; Ada L. (Mrs. G. C. Boyl), Eva M. and Grace M. He was and is yet the principal mover in the organization of the Christian church at Ravena, which was built in 1889, and of which he is a leading member and supporter.

Wygant, Elmer E., son of Thomas H. and Mary J. (Hoes) Wygant, was born in Albany, N. Y., August 3, 1861. His ancestors were Holland Dutch, and the first one who came to this country settled in what is now Ulster county in the sixteenth century. Mr. Wygant's father organized the Wygant Express Company in 1858 and conducted the affairs of said company until 1889, when he sold out to the Consolidated Transfer Company. Elmer E. Wygant was educated in the public schools of Albany and afterwards worked for his father. In 1884 he was made superintendent of the Wygant Express Company and retained the position until 1889, when he bought out the Albany Cork Works. After two years the business was burned out and Mr. Wygant was, in 1892, appointed recording clerk in the office of the county clerk, James D. Walsh; he still retains the position. He is a member of Wadsworth Lodge No. 417, F. & A. M., the Royal Arcanum, several Republican clubs and is the leader of the Eighteenth ward of Albany. In the fall of 1891 he was a deputy United States marshal. In 1892 he was married to Ethel, daughter of Norman Burdick of Albany.

Send comments or suggestions to:
Debby Masterson

Go Back to Albany County Biographies
Go Back to Home Page